Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

[Q] Root Kindle Fire 6.3.2

OP mllane

22nd March 2013, 08:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I am trying to Root my Kindle Fire version 6.3.2, and am looking for the correct Kindle Fire Utility. I do not want to download the wrong one as the ones I have seen were for version 6.3.1 or 6.3. Anyone have suggestions?
22nd March 2013, 11:18 PM   |  #2  
Gohan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nowhere
Thanks Meter: 960
 
10,017 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Re: [Q] Root Kindle Fire 6.3.2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2192818
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gohan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2013, 11:29 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag cedar falls
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ichigo

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2192818

Hi...

Thanks for the linky, i grabbed it today and for some reason, it's not detecting my device. I've installed/reinstalled the drivers that came down with v0.9.8, still same results. Shows the driver Android ADB Device

When I run the option 2 to install root & superuser error encountered. We are unable to locate your kindle fire. Fastboot uses a different device than ADB. ck device mgr for Kindle or Amazon (when looking, neither are listed.)

So tried to just boot it to FastBoot and same results, device not found.

So being dummy me, i ran the Run script as admin, now i get the Tools\wget cannot be found. Thought maybe it was a long file name issue, so copied folder to c:\temp\ - still same results.

What am I doing wrong here guys?

Thanks in advance and thank you for the work you do for us idiots.

Mark
29th March 2013, 03:01 AM   |  #4  
jma9454's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 107
 
615 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Re: [Q] Root Kindle Fire 6.3.2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlee1999

When I run the option 2 to install root & superuser error encountered. We are unable to locate your kindle fire. Fastboot uses a different device than ADB. ck device mgr for Kindle or Amazon (when looking, neither are listed.)
So being dummy me, i ran the Run script as admin, now i get the Tools\wget cannot be found. Thought maybe it was a long file name issue, so copied folder to c:\temp\ - still same results.

Put everything back where it belongs first. Also, your computer recognizes the kindle as an Android adb device in device manager? You are on 6.3.2 also?

Sent from my Kindle Fire with Tapatalk HD.
Just because I am a Senior Member doesn't mean anything.
I do not count myself any higher than anybody else.
29th March 2013, 03:22 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag cedar falls
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Re: [Q] Root Kindle Fire 6.3.2
Thanks for replying

I'm on 6.3.2.

It was seeing it as android adb.

I do have it on 1.4.a as well.

I did remove all of the drivers to the point win7 was showing kindle with an !. Reinstalled and rec'd same results. Got pissed at it and removed drivers again rebooted and removed the files under .android. When I get a chance, i'll try reinstall. Maybe by manually deleting the inf file will do some good???. I'll update the post when I have a chance to work on it.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2
29th March 2013, 07:58 AM   |  #6  
gadgetroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mysore
Thanks Meter: 511
 
1,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Re: [Q] Root Kindle Fire 6.3.2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlee1999

Thanks for replying

I'm on 6.3.2.

It was seeing it as android adb.

I do have it on 1.4.a as well.

I did remove all of the drivers to the point win7 was showing kindle with an !. Reinstalled and rec'd same results. Got pissed at it and removed drivers again rebooted and removed the files under .android. When I get a chance, i'll try reinstall. Maybe by manually deleting the inf file will do some good???. I'll update the post when I have a chance to work on it.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2

Have you tried running KFU under compatibility for Windows XP SP3? Once you do that, it'll automatically ask for admin privileges.

Also, does your device show when you run the command

Quote:

adb devices

on a terminal (or command prompt, on Windows) window?

Sent from my Muffin masquerading as a phone in the coffin.
29th March 2013, 06:46 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag cedar falls
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Talking Thanks
Removing the driver and deleting the files in the .android folder did the trick.

Thanks Everyone!!!!!

Mark
30th March 2013, 04:21 PM   |  #8  
Vlasp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plano, Texas
Thanks Meter: 107
 
551 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
The one that ichigo said is good.
31st March 2013, 07:14 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
So I was using the new KFU 9.8+ on my first gen kindle (6.3.2)
and during the procedure while I think it was attempting to install FFF bootloader it was on <waiting for device>, my laptop lost batter life and shut down. Upon booting up my computer and trying KFU again

ADB Status: Offline
Boot Status: Unknown

My kindle now displays the logo. I assume it's bricked right now.

Are there any remedies to fix this?
31st March 2013, 09:06 AM   |  #10  
jma9454's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 107
 
615 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Re: [Q] Root Kindle Fire 6.3.2
Quote:
Originally Posted by HypothermicInferno

My kindle now displays the logo. I assume it's bricked right now.

Are there any remedies to fix this?

It is on the orange logo? And it won't boot properly? So the kindle just stays on that screen without getting dim or anything, right?

Sent from my muffin-ated Kindle Fire with Tapatalk HD.
Just because I am a Senior Member doesn't mean anything.
I do not count myself any higher than anybody else.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Kindle Fire Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank