Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,798 Members 48,524 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To][Root Most Qualcomm phones without pc]

Tip us?
 
stormtrooper_mx
Old
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2012
Ran in NEC Medias 101T (Qualcomm based) and i got this:

2012 giantpune
[+] opened device
[+] Set logging mode
[+] Resolved symbols
[+] Mapped 0x100000000
[+] Hooked 0xc039bf84
[+] Ran some code as the kernel
[+] I think root, therefore I am root
WriteSUBinary()
[-] remount rw failed Invalid argument
[+] Removed hook
[-] current && current != last +1 : 0000ffff 0000ffff
[-] Haxx has run its coarse. Reboot the device to play again

A demon materialized while pting. Error code: 80
su binary was not written
You need to restart your device
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Got no black screen, no reboot, no nothing.

Restarted my phone to try again, and got exactly the same log as above.

But thanx for your efforts.
 
physcodelic
Old
#22  
physcodelic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 201
Join Date: Apr 2012
Try with different version. My galaxy mini 2 worked using huawei ascend Y version.
 
NiceIceDice96
Old
#23  
NiceIceDice96's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 472
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: IRBID

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks worked in my mini 2 s6500 rooted successfully

Sent from my GT-S6500 using Tapatalk 2
Current Device : Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini VE GT-I8200

Previous Devices : Samsung Galaxy Young Duos S6312 / Samsung Galaxy Mini 2 S6500-XXLK2(nfc) |||| Samsung Galaxy Mini 2 S6500D / Nokia Asha 302 / Lg Optimus Pro c660 / Samsung SGH-m620 / Nokia 1100
Rom : Stock Rom 4.2.2
Recovery : stock recovery
Windows 7 and Ubuntu 14.04 (64bit)
The Following User Says Thank You to NiceIceDice96 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dhinesh77
Old
#24  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 226
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Namakkal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiceIceDice96 View Post
Thanks worked in my mini 2 s6500 rooted successfully

Sent from my GT-S6500 using Tapatalk 2
welcome
 
viiron
Old
#25  
viiron's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 86
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Otego, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Talking Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura - SCH-S738C

This method worked perfectly on my Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura - SCH-S738C. Followed all the steps except when I got to the last one #10, I have to do it twice to make it work. After a quick reboot I was rooted. I did however find out that SuperSU would not install complaining that su was outdated, so I had to use Superuser which worked just as well.

Thank you very much for the post.

For those of you that have that phone, there are more help tips (after getting root) at the following:

http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-centura/
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to viiron For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dhinesh77
Old
#26  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 226
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Namakkal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by viiron View Post
This method worked perfectly on my Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura - SCH-S738C. Followed all the steps except when I got to the last one #10, I have to do it twice to make it work. After a quick reboot I was rooted. I did however find out that SuperSU would not install complaining that su was outdated, so I had to use Superuser which worked just as well.

Thank you very much for the post.

For those of you that have that phone, there are more help tips (after getting root) at the following:

http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-centura/
Finally you got it ..congrats....Thanks for reporting here, I have updated in devices list...Btween you are welcome...
 
sakurahime
Old
(Last edited by sakurahime; 10th June 2013 at 10:10 AM.) Reason: Update
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by viiron View Post
This method worked perfectly on my Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura - SCH-S738C. Followed all the steps except when I got to the last one #10, I have to do it twice to make it work. After a quick reboot I was rooted. I did however find out that SuperSU would not install complaining that su was outdated, so I had to use Superuser which worked just as well.

Thank you very much for the post.

For those of you that have that phone, there are more help tips (after getting root) at the following:
I have been trying for a while to root this phone, but every iteration of poot I tried came up with invalid qt version. how did you do it?

Update: Oh NOW it starts working >.<
I will update if mine goes well now that it is downloading everything.
Final update: The phone is rooted. YAY ^^. the only thing I did different from my other tries was to install minstrel as well as the minstrel control panel and place it on testing. Hopefully that saves someone else time if the get invalid qt version.
 
SlimMan
Old
(Last edited by SlimMan; 12th June 2013 at 12:12 AM.)
#28  
SlimMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 696
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Abingdon

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi,

I have a centura and I am having some issues trying to root it. I know that it's been done via this method. I think my problem is I can't seem to do step one.

Code:
Select Code
 1) Go to settings > application > preferred install location > Internal device storage.
If someone could help me out with where to actually change this setting on this phone I would appreciate it.

*UPDATE*
Resolved - See Here
Slim!

I don't ask for much, but if I have helped you in any way then please at least hit the Thanks button
 
dhinesh77
Old
#29  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 226
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Namakkal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimMan View Post
Hi,

I have a centura and I am having some issues trying to root it. I know that it's been done via this method. I think my problem is I can't seem to do step one.

Code:
Select Code
 1) Go to settings > application > preferred install location > Internal device storage.
If someone could help me out with where to actually change this setting on this phone I would appreciate it.

*UPDATE*
Resolved - See Here
Atlast rooted ?
 
inferno17x
Old
#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 367
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default NEC Medias n-05e

Hi,

I tried your method to root NEC Medias n-05e however after pressing "press here to poot" I get the below message:

"can't get a handle on it: -1 Permission denied"

A demon materialized while pooting. Error code: 18 su binary was not written.

I do not get any black screen or reboot after that.

Tags
how to root htc, how to root micromax, how to root sony, what is rooting
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes