Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[*gps fix] alternate gps fix]

OP BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz

29th March 2013, 03:31 AM   |  #1  
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 172
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
**MUST BE ON STOCK TOUCHWIZ TO ACCESS DIALER MENU**


Thought I post this method on a different way to get GPS back from flashing from different ROMs. When I lost it, a fresh Odin install did not fix GPS. Basically nothing worked; clear maps data, Google. Servicesframework, tightening all my screws, gps fix it apps, etc.. Tried them all.
Then I came across a post that was in a att s3 thread started by "egyptshun"
So shout outs to him.

[QUOTE/]if you dont see your gps icon on status bar. there is problem on your gps chip.
becouse that was happend to me my I747. im more confused about it.
i try more things like rom change,, firmware upgrade,, orginal samsung updates,, etc,, no more fix

after i go to the samsung service mode *#197328640#

then go to mainmenu>UMTS>Common>NV REBUILD>NV REBUILD>finish and dont exit menu
wait 30 sec

long press power button and select restart..

thats all

now check your GPS from gps software...

if this is fix your problem dont forget to thanks....[/QUOTE]

so yeah there it is. This method worked lovely for me. I was about to do a warranty exchange till I seen this.. Saved me the hassle

Hope this helps someone. And remember PLZ THANKS
SHARDAEDVERN



Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz; 5th April 2013 at 12:26 AM.
The Following 145 Users Say Thank You to BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2013, 04:37 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Temple City, CA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Thanks for the info
29th March 2013, 05:26 AM   |  #3  
qdoba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
This worked great, my gps issues started when I flashed to a 4.2.2 rom and went back to stock 4.1.1. After searching endlessly this is the easiest fix there is out there.
The Following User Says Thank You to qdoba For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2013, 08:35 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 4
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Fast and easy
WOW. This worked so fast and easy! GPS Signal locked on instantly after the reboot and turning on GPS. I lost my GPS going from Cyanogenmod 10.1 to Darthstalker S3 edition Version XI.
The Following User Says Thank You to galaxy_man For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2013, 06:41 PM   |  #5  
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 172
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]
Yeah I was so relieved when I did this.. It was such a head ache. Been seeing a lot of people going thru the same thing.
So maybe this could get stickied or something

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2013, 07:01 PM   |  #6  
qdoba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
This should definitely be stickied
29th March 2013, 07:04 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Temple City, CA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
I am on LiquidSmooth RC2, when I entered *#197328640# on phone dial pad, nothing happen.
29th March 2013, 07:27 PM   |  #8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,288
 
3,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]
Only works on TouchWiz.
29th March 2013, 08:03 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas, TX
Thanks Meter: 13
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]
This worked amazingly well! This does need to be stickied like someone mentioned earlier.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
29th March 2013, 10:16 PM   |  #10  
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 172
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]
Quote:
Originally Posted by chupektong

I am on LiquidSmooth RC2, when I entered *#197328640# on phone dial pad, nothing happen.

Restore a touch wiz nandroid, if u have one. Then use the dialer code. It'll be faster that way, you won't have to Odin, and use a pc

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes