Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,165 Members 37,859 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[*gps fix] alternate gps fix]

Tip us?
 
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz
Old
(Last edited by BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz; 4th April 2013 at 11:26 PM.)
#1  
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 288
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]

**MUST BE ON STOCK TOUCHWIZ TO ACCESS DIALER MENU**


Thought I post this method on a different way to get GPS back from flashing from different ROMs. When I lost it, a fresh Odin install did not fix GPS. Basically nothing worked; clear maps data, Google. Servicesframework, tightening all my screws, gps fix it apps, etc.. Tried them all.
Then I came across a post that was in a att s3 thread started by "egyptshun"
So shout outs to him.

[QUOTE/]if you dont see your gps icon on status bar. there is problem on your gps chip.
becouse that was happend to me my I747. im more confused about it.
i try more things like rom change,, firmware upgrade,, orginal samsung updates,, etc,, no more fix

after i go to the samsung service mode *#197328640#

then go to mainmenu>UMTS>Common>NV REBUILD>NV REBUILD>finish and dont exit menu
wait 30 sec

long press power button and select restart..

thats all

now check your GPS from gps software...

if this is fix your problem dont forget to thanks....[/QUOTE]

so yeah there it is. This method worked lovely for me. I was about to do a warranty exchange till I seen this.. Saved me the hassle

Hope this helps someone. And remember PLZ THANKS
SHARDAEDVERN



Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 138 Users Say Thank You to BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chupektong
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Temple City, CA
Thanks for the info
 
qdoba
Old
#3  
qdoba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 198
Join Date: Aug 2010
This worked great, my gps issues started when I flashed to a 4.2.2 rom and went back to stock 4.1.1. After searching endlessly this is the easiest fix there is out there.
The Following User Says Thank You to qdoba For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
galaxy_man
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Default Fast and easy

WOW. This worked so fast and easy! GPS Signal locked on instantly after the reboot and turning on GPS. I lost my GPS going from Cyanogenmod 10.1 to Darthstalker S3 edition Version XI.
The Following User Says Thank You to galaxy_man For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz
Old
#5  
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 288
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]

Yeah I was so relieved when I did this.. It was such a head ache. Been seeing a lot of people going thru the same thing.
So maybe this could get stickied or something

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
qdoba
Old
#6  
qdoba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 198
Join Date: Aug 2010
This should definitely be stickied
 
chupektong
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Temple City, CA
I am on LiquidSmooth RC2, when I entered *#197328640# on phone dial pad, nothing happen.
 
Aerowinder
Old
#8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1207
Posts: 3,069
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]

Only works on TouchWiz.
 

Google Firmware: Google
USB Drivers: Google | Mirror
ADB+ADB Drivers: 19.0.2 (4.4.4) + Koush Universal ADB Drivers

TWRP Official: hammerhead | flo
TWRP Holofied: hammerhead | flo

Gapps: BaNkS

Superuser: Chainfire | Mirror
 
Ningcube89
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 134
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Default Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]

This worked amazingly well! This does need to be stickied like someone mentioned earlier.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
 
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz
Old
#10  
BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 288
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: [*gps fix] alternate gps fix]

Quote:
Originally Posted by chupektong View Post
I am on LiquidSmooth RC2, when I entered *#197328640# on phone dial pad, nothing happen.
Restore a touch wiz nandroid, if u have one. Then use the dialer code. It'll be faster that way, you won't have to Odin, and use a pc

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BuLLeT_PrOOf_wAlleTz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes