Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

Always on line for xda 1??

OP chris_khho

17th December 2003, 07:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
Any body knows for xda 1, you can keep checking new mail arrival through GPRS?
I heard people using xda 2 can do that. But is there any chance xda 1 can do the same thing?
Actually, when u do the setting for POP account, it ask u to set how many minutes to check for new messages. But it never work because the GPRS will close automatically.
Thanks very much. :?
17th December 2003, 09:06 AM   |  #2  
Qman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas, NV
Thanks Meter: 10
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2003
Donate to Me
More
Sure it can be done!
Take a look at:
http://www.o2.co.uk/productsservices...0,,170,00.html

BTW the above is one of many!
also where are you located?


HTH
17th December 2003, 09:15 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
I am using the most updated PPC2002 version already. (3.20.06 ROM and 4.21 Radio)

Do u mean I have to upgrade to PPC2003?

I doubt that because they are not very stable for me to use in Hong Kong so far from other guy's comments in this website.

Thanks very much.
17th December 2003, 01:09 PM   |  #4  
Qman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas, NV
Thanks Meter: 10
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2003
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_khho

I am using the most updated PPC2002 version already. (3.20.06 ROM and 4.21 Radio)

Do u mean I have to upgrade to PPC2003?

I doubt that because they are not very stable for me to use in Hong Kong so far from other guy's comments in this website.

Thanks very much.

Since you're already running the latest upgrade its suppose to work but since it doesn't I would have to say that your always-on settings are at fault. So go to Start, Settings, Connections and make sure that its set to not disconnect.



HTH
17th December 2003, 01:26 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
Are you sure that it is also for xda1 ?
I can't locate that "not disconnect" setting.
Please clarify.
Thanks so much.
17th December 2003, 01:40 PM   |  #6  
Qman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas, NV
Thanks Meter: 10
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2003
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_khho

Are you sure that it is also for xda1 ?
I can't locate that "not disconnect" setting.
Please clarify.
Thanks so much.

It should say some thing like this:
GPRS connection to remain active once the device enters power save mode.

At least it does on the PPC 2002 latest AT&T ROM and the XDA developers Special Edition ROM v1.2. (which is bases on the O2 3.17.03 ROM).


HTH
17th December 2003, 01:47 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
That's really strange for my O2 xda!
I only found a setting called GPRS Suspend Mode setting.
It said,
When you are in power-saving mode, do you want to:
- Keep GPRS connection
- End GPRS connection
I clicked on the first one.
Then I close it, and connect to GPRS.
Just for a while, the connection ends by itself.

Any thought?

Thanks a lot again.
17th December 2003, 02:06 PM   |  #8  
Qman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas, NV
Thanks Meter: 10
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2003
Donate to Me
More
Yeap thats the correct setting and the same one I'm speaking of!
I read a lot of bad reports about the 4.21 radio stack so it might be at fault.

Maybe you should think about upgrading to the Qtec radio stack, heard nothing but good reports on that one.

The Qtek 1010 Radio Stack Upgrade can be found at:
http://www.carrierdevices.com.au/dow...Asia%20Pacific
Download Radio Upgrade File : RSUv1.15_(GPRS_T32500_ENG).exe
BTW read the WARNING.


BTW do you have a URL for that newer o2 ROM, I'd like to install it and see if it does the same for me/


HTH
17th December 2003, 02:28 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
Here it is.

http://www.myxda.com/web/template/So...ntroduction.vm

BTW, I am a bit nervous to install the radio file cause I have bad experience that almost kill my phone.

Is it really okay just to install the radio file?
17th December 2003, 03:20 PM   |  #10  
Qman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas, NV
Thanks Meter: 10
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2003
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_khho

Here it is.

http://www.myxda.com/web/template/So...ntroduction.vm

BTW, I am a bit nervous to install the radio file cause I have bad experience that almost kill my phone.

Is it really okay just to install the radio file?

Like I said I've heard nothing but good reports on upgrading to this radio
stack (no failed upgrades have been reported but as with any upgrade there is always a possibility). :wink:

BTW thanks for the link!


HTH

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes