Post Reply

How do I use ADB Sideload?

OP sevenpioverthree

1st April 2013, 04:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 123
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
A couple of days ago, I nearly bricked my phone to no return. In the process of this I remembered reading about ADB sideload. So I went ahead and tried to use the function to re-flash my ROM in TWRP. However, when I connected my phone my computer didn't recognize it and the "adb sideload 'filename'" command wasn't working it just kept telling me "device not connected". Is there a way I can set up my computer/phone for ADB sideload in case this ever happens to me again?
The Following User Says Thank You to sevenpioverthree For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2013, 06:17 PM   |  #2  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag /home/cnexus/android
Thanks Meter: 13,630
 
9,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?
Did you have the drivers installed? Go to Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Devices and Printers and make sure your phone shows up

You can also run this:
Code:
adb devices
To see connected devices
The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2013, 07:19 PM   |  #3  
musclehead84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Falling Waters, WV
Thanks Meter: 970
 
4,337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?
Reinstall the drivers and make sure that your adb is updated so u have the side load function.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda premium
1st April 2013, 07:19 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 123
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus

Did you have the drivers installed? Go to Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Devices and Printers and make sure your phone shows up

You can also run this:

Code:
adb devices
To see connected devices

Yeah I have the drivers installed and I've always been able to use ADB just fine when my phone is up and booted but when I entered ADB sideload in TWRP it couldn't detect my device, adb devices showed no devices.
1st April 2013, 11:00 PM   |  #5  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag /home/cnexus/android
Thanks Meter: 13,630
 
9,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?
Adb won't detect devices that are in recovery, it has to be booted up because it checks whether debugging is enabled too
The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2013, 12:40 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 123
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus

Adb won't detect devices that are in recovery, it has to be booted up because it checks whether debugging is enabled too

I'm not saying you're wrong, and I thought the same was true too. But if that's the case why does a function like "ADB sideload" exist on TWRP at all? I just don't get it. I followed the instructions on their website to no avail. There must be some way to get my phone recognized in recovery
2nd April 2013, 03:47 AM   |  #7  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag /home/cnexus/android
Thanks Meter: 13,630
 
9,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?
WAIT, no ignore that post lol
The evo lte can be rebooted into recovery through adb even when it's dead.....

So if the hardware supports it then it does work.....

To your question....that's strange, maybe your phone just isn't compatible with it for some reason
I know some peoples phones won't mount the sdcard through recovery, ever
Last edited by CNexus; 2nd April 2013 at 03:49 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2013, 05:55 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 123
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus

WAIT, no ignore that post lol
The evo lte can be rebooted into recovery through adb even when it's dead.....

So if the hardware supports it then it does work.....

To your question....that's strange, maybe your phone just isn't compatible with it for some reason
I know some peoples phones won't mount the sdcard through recovery, ever

Forgive me if this is a dumb question but what if I reinstall my drivers and connect my phone while it's in recovery?
2nd April 2013, 06:44 AM   |  #9  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag /home/cnexus/android
Thanks Meter: 13,630
 
9,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevenpioverthree

Forgive me if this is a dumb question but what if I reinstall my drivers and connect my phone while it's in recovery?

If your computer detects the device, it'll start installing the drivers
2nd April 2013, 04:40 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 123
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by musclehead84

Reinstall the drivers and make sure that your adb is updated so u have the side load function.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda premium

My ADB is completely up to date and has a sideload function. I have figured it out though.

Basically I edited the "android_winusb.inf" file under "C:\android-sdk-windows\extras\google\usb_driver". I put my device into recovery and then went into device manager on my computer. I right clicked my phone which had a yellow exclamation mark and was named "Samsung_SPH_L710" (or something close to that) and went into properties, then the details tab and then chose "hardware ID". There were 2 lines there. The lines were:

Code:
USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&MI_01
USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&REV_0228&MI_01
I took those lines and pasted them under:

[Google.NTx86]
xxxxxx
;Google Nexus (generic)
xxxx

I put the lines after the last line under the "Google Nexus (generic)". If you have a 64-bit computer then instead of [Google.NTx86] you put them under [Google.NTamd64]. The lines still go after the last line of "Google Nexus (generic)". The lines then looked like this:

Code:
;Google Nexus (generic)
%SingleBootLoaderInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE0
%SingleAdbInterface%        = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE1
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE2
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE2&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface%        = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE3
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE4&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface%        = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE5
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE6&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface% 	    = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&MI_01
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&REV_0228&MI_01
The red lines are the new ones I inputted. I saved the file, uninstalled my phone under device manager, disconnected it, and while it was still in recovery, reconnected it and installed the driver. I had to point the installer to the "C:\android-sdk-windows\extras\google\usb_driver" folder. My computer then prompted me to reboot and upon rebooting it asked me to install the driver but this time I did not need to point it to any folder, and voila! I can now use adb in recovery. If you are using this method, then after you are done type in:

Code:
adb devices
If your device shows up, then you have successfully completed this!

I probably explained this is a really god awful way. This might be common knowledge among you guys but if it isn't then maybe one of you can re-write this in a more comprehensive way since ADB sideload could come in handy.

EDIT: I want to add that I did not figure this out on my own. I got it from this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7&postcount=22. The only thing is I couldn't copy those values directly I had to find them myself under "hardware id"
Last edited by sevenpioverthree; 2nd April 2013 at 11:09 PM.

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to sevenpioverthree For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes