Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,116 Members 44,721 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How do I use ADB Sideload?

Tip us?
 
sevenpioverthree
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 341
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default How do I use ADB Sideload?

A couple of days ago, I nearly bricked my phone to no return. In the process of this I remembered reading about ADB sideload. So I went ahead and tried to use the function to re-flash my ROM in TWRP. However, when I connected my phone my computer didn't recognize it and the "adb sideload 'filename'" command wasn't working it just kept telling me "device not connected". Is there a way I can set up my computer/phone for ADB sideload in case this ever happens to me again?
Galaxy S III (Sprint)
ROM: M.O.A.R v9.0
Kernel: Optimized Stock
Recovery: TWRP 2.5.0.0
Baseband: MK5
The Following User Says Thank You to sevenpioverthree For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CNexus
Old
#2  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 13,560
Posts: 9,035
Join Date: May 2012
Location: /home/cnexus/android

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?

Did you have the drivers installed? Go to Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Devices and Printers and make sure your phone shows up

You can also run this:
Code:
adb devices
To see connected devices
Sign up for the new Copy file storage service with this link and get both of us an extra 5 GB!
Or sign up for Dropbox with this link and we can both grab some extra storage!

The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
musclehead84
Old
#3  
musclehead84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 970
Posts: 4,337
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Falling Waters, WV
Default Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?

Reinstall the drivers and make sure that your adb is updated so u have the side load function.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda premium
"If you cant live large look big in the coffin"
Competitive powerlifter and member of Metal Militia Virginia Chapter! Currently ranked in the top 10!
Goals: Squat- 1,000-1,050 Bench 715-800 Deadlift- 650-715.


When my ass leaves the breaking floor,
Lifting weight of such amount
That no mortal eye can count,
All of sudden on top I soar
And Realize:
To happiness there's no such bind
As a PR that's left behind!
Squat! Squat! Squat!
 
sevenpioverthree
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 341
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus View Post
Did you have the drivers installed? Go to Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Devices and Printers and make sure your phone shows up

You can also run this:
Code:
adb devices
To see connected devices
Yeah I have the drivers installed and I've always been able to use ADB just fine when my phone is up and booted but when I entered ADB sideload in TWRP it couldn't detect my device, adb devices showed no devices.
Galaxy S III (Sprint)
ROM: M.O.A.R v9.0
Kernel: Optimized Stock
Recovery: TWRP 2.5.0.0
Baseband: MK5
 
CNexus
Old
#5  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 13,560
Posts: 9,035
Join Date: May 2012
Location: /home/cnexus/android

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?

Adb won't detect devices that are in recovery, it has to be booted up because it checks whether debugging is enabled too
Sign up for the new Copy file storage service with this link and get both of us an extra 5 GB!
Or sign up for Dropbox with this link and we can both grab some extra storage!

The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sevenpioverthree
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 341
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus View Post
Adb won't detect devices that are in recovery, it has to be booted up because it checks whether debugging is enabled too
I'm not saying you're wrong, and I thought the same was true too. But if that's the case why does a function like "ADB sideload" exist on TWRP at all? I just don't get it. I followed the instructions on their website to no avail. There must be some way to get my phone recognized in recovery
Galaxy S III (Sprint)
ROM: M.O.A.R v9.0
Kernel: Optimized Stock
Recovery: TWRP 2.5.0.0
Baseband: MK5
 
CNexus
Old
(Last edited by CNexus; 2nd April 2013 at 03:49 AM.)
#7  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 13,560
Posts: 9,035
Join Date: May 2012
Location: /home/cnexus/android

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?

WAIT, no ignore that post lol
The evo lte can be rebooted into recovery through adb even when it's dead.....

So if the hardware supports it then it does work.....

To your question....that's strange, maybe your phone just isn't compatible with it for some reason
I know some peoples phones won't mount the sdcard through recovery, ever
Sign up for the new Copy file storage service with this link and get both of us an extra 5 GB!
Or sign up for Dropbox with this link and we can both grab some extra storage!

The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sevenpioverthree
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 341
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus View Post
WAIT, no ignore that post lol
The evo lte can be rebooted into recovery through adb even when it's dead.....

So if the hardware supports it then it does work.....

To your question....that's strange, maybe your phone just isn't compatible with it for some reason
I know some peoples phones won't mount the sdcard through recovery, ever
Forgive me if this is a dumb question but what if I reinstall my drivers and connect my phone while it's in recovery?
Galaxy S III (Sprint)
ROM: M.O.A.R v9.0
Kernel: Optimized Stock
Recovery: TWRP 2.5.0.0
Baseband: MK5
 
CNexus
Old
#9  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 13,560
Posts: 9,035
Join Date: May 2012
Location: /home/cnexus/android

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: How do I use ADB Sideload?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevenpioverthree View Post
Forgive me if this is a dumb question but what if I reinstall my drivers and connect my phone while it's in recovery?
If your computer detects the device, it'll start installing the drivers
Sign up for the new Copy file storage service with this link and get both of us an extra 5 GB!
Or sign up for Dropbox with this link and we can both grab some extra storage!

 
sevenpioverthree
Old
(Last edited by sevenpioverthree; 2nd April 2013 at 11:09 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 341
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by musclehead84 View Post
Reinstall the drivers and make sure that your adb is updated so u have the side load function.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda premium
My ADB is completely up to date and has a sideload function. I have figured it out though.

Basically I edited the "android_winusb.inf" file under "C:\android-sdk-windows\extras\google\usb_driver". I put my device into recovery and then went into device manager on my computer. I right clicked my phone which had a yellow exclamation mark and was named "Samsung_SPH_L710" (or something close to that) and went into properties, then the details tab and then chose "hardware ID". There were 2 lines there. The lines were:

Code:
USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&MI_01
USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&REV_0228&MI_01
I took those lines and pasted them under:

[Google.NTx86]
xxxxxx
;Google Nexus (generic)
xxxx

I put the lines after the last line under the "Google Nexus (generic)". If you have a 64-bit computer then instead of [Google.NTx86] you put them under [Google.NTamd64]. The lines still go after the last line of "Google Nexus (generic)". The lines then looked like this:

Code:
;Google Nexus (generic)
%SingleBootLoaderInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE0
%SingleAdbInterface%        = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE1
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE2
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE2&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface%        = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE3
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE4&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface%        = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE5
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_4EE6&MI_01
%SingleAdbInterface% 	    = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&MI_01
%CompositeAdbInterface%     = USB_Install, USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&REV_0228&MI_01
The red lines are the new ones I inputted. I saved the file, uninstalled my phone under device manager, disconnected it, and while it was still in recovery, reconnected it and installed the driver. I had to point the installer to the "C:\android-sdk-windows\extras\google\usb_driver" folder. My computer then prompted me to reboot and upon rebooting it asked me to install the driver but this time I did not need to point it to any folder, and voila! I can now use adb in recovery. If you are using this method, then after you are done type in:

Code:
adb devices
If your device shows up, then you have successfully completed this!

I probably explained this is a really god awful way. This might be common knowledge among you guys but if it isn't then maybe one of you can re-write this in a more comprehensive way since ADB sideload could come in handy.

EDIT: I want to add that I did not figure this out on my own. I got it from this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7&postcount=22. The only thing is I couldn't copy those values directly I had to find them myself under "hardware id"
Galaxy S III (Sprint)
ROM: M.O.A.R v9.0
Kernel: Optimized Stock
Recovery: TWRP 2.5.0.0
Baseband: MK5

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to sevenpioverthree For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes