5,814,797 Members 52,480 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Confirmed!! T-Mobile Concord (V768) ROOT and BOOT-LOOP fix!!

Tip us?
 
fathertomany
Old
(Last edited by fathertomany; 27th August 2013 at 12:16 AM.)
#1  
fathertomany's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southwest corner, Missouri

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Confirmed!! T-Mobile Concord (V768) ROOT and BOOT-LOOP fix!!

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING NEGATIVE THAT HAPPENS TO YOUR PHONE!!

ALSO WORKS FOR T-MOBILE DART!!

Never Hurts to Thank or GIFT to all that help you!


NO PC NEEDED!!!!!!!!

Necessary downloads from the Play Store


SuperUser or SuperSU -- One will work, the other won't -- [/COLOR][/SIZE] --A MUST HAVE for any rooted phone! Superuser/SuperSU is the app that manages what apps on your rooted device have access to su. Apps that are granted su have elevated permissions and can modify just about any part of the system. The app consists of two parts, Superuser.apk and the su binary.

Superuser.apk runs as any other app and gives you, the user, a place to see what apps you have allowed or denied, as well as view a log of what apps have used su when.


Link2SD-- DO NOT USE until rooted.--Link2SD is an application that makes it easy for Android 1.6+ users with root privileges on their phone to move applications to the SD card.

The idea behind is same with apps2sd scripts, linking applications to SD card's second partition but differs in two ways.

One, instead of linking /data/app folder (that means moving all applications), you can select applications that you want to move.
Two, it's an application which means has a user interface. You can manage your applications with few clicks.

It also provides native apps2sd features on Android 2.2 and higher. It can move any non-protected user apps to SD card (force move), with batch moving capability.
That feature uses Android's standard SD-card installation feature and does not require a second partition. It can break some apps if they are not meant to be moved to the SD card (Such as Widgets).

BusyBox--DO NOT USE until rooted. --A MUST HAVE for any rooted phone! Almost EVERY rooted applications needs BusyBox to perform their magic, if you have a rooted phone then you NEED BusyBox.

Pro version contains Backup feature (for safer installs), uninstall feature, Advance Smart install feature, the ability to hand pick the applets you want, safety check for missing applets on start, and better overall support. The pro version will receive more frequent updates than the free version will.


Root Checker (optional)--Checks for ROOT -- Use AFTER Installing a Superuser app.


BOOT-LOOP FIX

1.) Power off the phone by removing the battery.

2.) Replace battery.

3.) Boot into recovery by holding Volume DOWN and power button until the android with the triangle appears. This will appear AFTER the android that is by himself!! (about 30 seconds)

4.) Press the home button

5.) Navigate to the 3rd choice - " wipe data/factory reset". Select by pressing the menu button

6.) Navigate to YES and select by pressing the menu button.

7.) When the wipe is complete, navigate to and select - "reboot system", again with the menu button.


ROOTING

2.3.7 BUILD V768V1.0.0B08 = NO FACTORY RESET NEEDED???Maybe

2.3.7 BUILD V768V1.0.0B19 = FACTORY RESET NEEDED???Maybe.

2.3.7 BUILD V768V1.0.0B20 = FACTORY RESET NEEDED

1.)Using your PHONE or computer - Download attached update.zip file.

2.) copy/move update.zip to root of sdcard

3.) Power off the phone

4.) reboot into recovery by holding Volume DOWN and power button until the android with the triangle appears . This will appear AFTER the android that is by himself!!(about 30 seconds)

If for some reason, you CANNOT boot into recovery try to FACTORY RESET.

5.) At this screen, Press the HOME button.

6.) scroll to your second option, navigating with the volume buttons - "Apply update from sdcard" and press the Menu key

7.) select UPDATE.ZIP to install

8.) Navigate to YES, if asked, and press the menu key.

9.) Navigate to - "reboot system now" and select by pressing the menu key.

10.) Install SuperUser. I installed SuperUser and Root Checker before installing the update.

11.) Install Busybox - Using the SMART INSTALL feature. Get it from the play store.

12.) Follow this guide - if you are going to partition an SD Card - It will show you how to partition the SD Card and install Link2SD :

Partition you SD Card To Acquire more "Internal Memory"



Congratulations!! You are now ROOTED and have more "Internal Memory"!!

Special THANKS to JCASE for his CREATION of the ZTE MERIT UPDATE.ZIP
Attached Files
File Type: zip update.zip - [Click for QR Code] (220.2 KB, 11109 views)
Click THANKS!!!!
The Following 44 Users Say Thank You to fathertomany For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fathertomany
Old
#2  
fathertomany's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southwest corner, Missouri

 
DONATE TO ME
I did the boot-loop process and then the root process. I had no errors and was rooted on the first try. You should not need to factory reset. This is only the boot- loop fix and root. No new recovery or roms.
 
fathertomany
Old
#3  
fathertomany's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southwest corner, Missouri

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Confirmed!! T-Mobile Concord (V768) ROOT and BOOT-LOOP fix!!

Anyone else try this?


Liquidsmooth GSII
Click THANKS!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to fathertomany For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brut7
Old
(Last edited by brut7; 4th April 2013 at 03:13 AM.) Reason: better nfo
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 37
Join Date: Mar 2013
Hi fathertomany,

Thank You, it worked, root granted and superuser installed.
Wow, I may be only the second person in the world after you to get one rooted

So to confirm and Thank, Yes, this rooted it easy and quick, can't believe it but awesome!

Thanks!

b7
 
fathertomany
Old
(Last edited by fathertomany; 5th April 2013 at 02:01 PM.) Reason: spelling
#5  
fathertomany's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southwest corner, Missouri

 
DONATE TO ME
Wow 230 views and only 1 other person telling me it worked for them? I would like to keep up with this and maybe figure out some way to get roms and such, like twrp, themes, etc... But I need to know if there are any bugs or not by following these instructions. I am not a DEV but am willing to try to accomplish things people want. Currently trying to get twrp ported by someone for this phone. Whoever is willing to work on the port should pm me.
 
bkool96
Old
(Last edited by bkool96; 5th April 2013 at 04:55 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 27
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hey I'm new to posting but I've been on android for a few years. I'm having troubles with booting into recovery mode. Whenever I try it shows some yellow text at the bottom. Something about the data directory. Think u can help me fix this please? Thank u

[Edit] My phone has been doing that since way before I downloaded the zip file. So just to clarify it has nothing to do with the file

Sent from my ZTE V768 using xda app-developers app
 
iamhdr
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default need help booting into recovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by fathertomany View Post
I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING NEGATIVE THAT HAPPENS TO YOUR PHONE!!

Never Hurts to Thank or Donate to all that help you!

I have boldly went where no one has gone before. After much soul searching about bricking my son's phone because I have only followed guides, I decided that this phone was so similar to the AVAIL/MERIT that I would use that method to root his Concord. I did this because his phone ran out of memory and subsequently got stuck on boot-loop. Because this worked, I wrote this tutorial.

NO PC NEEDED!!!!!!!!

This quick tutorial will help you get into recovery and root.
What files are needed are not my work! I only decided to use the ZTE MERIT GUIDE AND ZIP for my son's T-mobile Concord(V768).

To get out of the BOOT-LOOP

1.) Power off the phone by removing the battery.

2.) Replace battery.

3.) Boot into recovery by holding Volume- and power button until the android with the triangle appears. this will appear AFTER the android that is by himself!!

4.) Press the home button

5.) Navigate to the 3rd choice - " wipe data/factory reset"

6.) Select by pressing the menu button

7.) When the wipe is complete, navigate to and select - "reboot system"

To Root

1.) Download attached update.zip file

2.) copy/move update.zip to root of sdcard

3.) Power off the phone

4.) reboot into recovery by holding Volume- and power button until the android with the triangle appears.

5.) At this screen, Press the HOME button.

6.) scroll to your second option, navigating with the volume buttons - "Apply update from sdcard" and press the Menu key

7.) Navigate to YES and press the menu key (no data will be wiped but the update will be installed and you will be rooted)

8.) Navigate to - "reboot system now" and select by pressing the menu key.

9.) Install superuser or equivalent. I installed Superuser and root checker before installing the update.

If for some reason, you get an error, try to factory reset first.

Congratulations!!! You are now Rooted!!

Special THANKS to JCASE for his work on the ZTE MERIT UPDATE.ZIP mentioned above. The UPDATE.ZIP file was downloaded from Stayboogy's tutorial.
What carrier and version and build number are you on? You can find that under settings--> about phone. My carrier is Family Mobile (which runs on T-Mobile) and I'm running Android 2.3.7 and Build number V768V1.0.0B20.

I am having trouble getting the Concord to boot into recovery. I can't seem to get to a screen with a triangle. Can you walk through the steps to get it into recovery again or possibly post a video?

The video stayboogy supplied in the link you posted for the Avail/Merit said to put the phone into recovery mode by holding the volume up key and the menu key while pressing the power button. When I do that the concord freezes at the green android logo and does not go into recovery mode and does not boot normally. I have to pull the battery. Same thing if I hold both of the volume buttons and the menu key.

If I hold the volume down and the menu key (or just the volume down key or just the menu key) and turn on the power button I get the green android startup screen followed by a screen with a white box and an orange arrow coming out of the box pointing to a small green android. When I get to this screen pressing home or the volume up or down buttons just cause it to reboot.
 
fathertomany
Old
#8  
fathertomany's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southwest corner, Missouri

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkool96 View Post
Hey I'm new to posting but I've been on android for a few years. I'm having troubles with booting into recovery mode. Whenever I try it shows some yellow text at the bottom. Something about the data directory. Think u can help me fix this please? Thank u

Sent from my ZTE V768 using xda app-developers app
I personally have not noticed this. make sure your phone is off. make sure you press the volume down button first. while still holding the volume down button press and hold the power button. DO NOT let go of either button until the android with the triangle appears. you will see the android by himself first, CONTINUE HOLDING THE BUTTONS FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS. When the android with the triangle appears, you can let go of both buttons. Then press your home button. this should bring up your recovery menu.
USE THE VOLUME BUTTONS TO NAVIGATE UP AND DOWN.
USE THE MENU BUTTON TO SELECT YOUR CHOICES. I
BELIEVE, THE POWER BUTTON ACTS AS THE BACK BUTTON? (MAYBE JUST USE THE BACK BUTTON.) I will check this when my son gets home from school. he is the one with the phone.

remember there is NO factory wipe necessary, unless you are trying to get out of the boot-loop.
 
fathertomany
Old
(Last edited by fathertomany; 5th April 2013 at 05:04 PM.) Reason: ADDED INFO
#9  
fathertomany's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 376
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southwest corner, Missouri

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamhdr View Post
What carrier and version and build number are you on? You can find that under settings--> about phone. My carrier is Family Mobile (which runs on T-Mobile) and I'm running Android 2.3.7 and Build number V768V1.0.0B20.

I am having trouble getting the Concord to boot into recovery. I can't seem to get to a screen with a triangle. Can you walk through the steps to get it into recovery again or possibly post a video?

The video stayboogy supplied in the link you posted for the Avail/Merit said to put the phone into recovery mode by holding the volume up key and the menu key while pressing the power button. When I do that the concord freezes at the green android logo and does not go into recovery mode and does not boot normally. I have to pull the battery. Same thing if I hold both of the volume buttons and the menu key.

If I hold the volume down and the menu key (or just the volume down key or just the menu key) and turn on the power button I get the green android startup screen followed by a screen with a white box and an orange arrow coming out of the box pointing to a small green android. When I get to this screen pressing home or the volume up or down buttons just cause it to reboot.
You can find most of that in the title "Confirmed!! T-Mobile Concord (V768) ROOT and BOOT-LOOP fix!!"
My Android BUILD will be posted when my son gets home. he has the phone. It should be the same. I am using the same carrier with the same version of android. Android 2.3.7
I am also on the family mobile plan.
 
iamhdr
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fathertomany View Post
I personally have not noticed this. make sure your phone is off. make sure you press the volume down button first. while still holding the volume down button press and hold the power button. DO NOT let go of either button until the android with the triangle appears. you will see the android by himself first, CONTINUE HOLDING THE BUTTONS FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS. When the android with the triangle appears, you can let go of both buttons. Then press your home button. this should bring up your recovery menu.
USE THE VOLUME BUTTONS TO NAVIGATE UP AND DOWN.
USE THE MENU BUTTON TO SELECT YOUR CHOICES. I
BELIEVE, THE POWER BUTTON ACTS AS THE BACK BUTTON? (MAYBE JUST USE THE BACK BUTTON.) I will check this when my son gets home from school. he is the one with the phone.

remember there is NO factory wipe necessary, unless you are trying to get out of the boot-loop.
I tried again with no luck. In the Root ZTE Concord thread a few of us tried and were never able to get into recovery mode.

I just tried the steps you listed but I get the same screen with the white box and arrow and if I continue to hold the power and volume down button it causes the phone to reboot. If I keep holding down the power and volume down even after it reboots it just repeats, green android screen, white box screen, reboot, green android screen, white box, reboot, etc. I can record a video of the screen later today if you are interested.

Did you ever install an over the air update? I did months ago and I wonder if that update changes or removes how to get into recovery mode.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes