Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,461 Members 47,183 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Need help upgrading hboot

Tip us?
 
Havoc2510
Old
#1  
Havoc2510's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2012
Question [Q] Need help upgrading hboot

Hello all,

Just before anyone says, I have looked for a few hours for the answer to this question, but all of the answers are either ambiguous or too complicated for a novice like me to understand .

The question I have is how do you upgrade the hboot of a rooted international HTC One X (step by step). I really want to flash CM 10.1 custom ROM, and it requires a newer hboot than the one I have. I have found a tool called JBFWFlasher, which can upgrade an hboot, but it says when you go through the steps: AFTER UPGRADE YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO INSTALL A FULLY FUNCTIONAL NON-SENSE BASED ROM.

Obviously CM 10.1 is non-sense based, so I think this is a dead end.

Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance .

Details:

Hboot: 1.12.0000
Clockworkmod: v5.8.4.0
Cyanogenmod: 10
HTC > Samsung
The Following User Says Thank You to Havoc2510 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mr Hofs
Old
(Last edited by Mr Hofs; 4th April 2013 at 10:59 PM.)
#2  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8306
Posts: 13,611
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Get your CID

CID getter from the playstore will do, for the easy/lazy people or do the fastboot command

Fastboot oem readcid

Once you have ypur cid you go here and get your matching firmware

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1957376

And then you do this :

Rename the .zip to firmware.zip and place it in the fastboot folder

- Boot the phone to the bootloader and relock the bootloader :

Fastboot oem lock

- then put the phone in ruu mode with this command

Fastboot oem rebootRUU

(watch the capitals, this command will put the phone into a black screen with a silver HTC logo)

- then flash the firmware

Fastboot flash zip firmware.zip

- you see the text on the pc screen, when it says OKE you are good. If it failed you reflash the zip right away again.

Then reboot the bootloader, unlock it, flash the custom recovery, make a full wipe and install the new JB of ypur choice and don't forget to flash its boot.img too
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Havoc2510
Old
#3  
Havoc2510's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks, you couldn't have made that explanation simpler . So, because I am an idiot and I somehow have no fastboot folder, what are all the components I need for it?

At the moment I have:

The latest CM 10.1 zip folder
^^^ The boot.img copied from this folder
The latest gapps zip folder for CM 10.1 & Android 4.2.2
The CID when I get it

Anything else? Thanks for the help .
HTC > Samsung
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#4  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8306
Posts: 13,611
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
You need the ANDROID SDK BUNDLE ..... Unpack it and inside the platform tools you find the fastboot files. That is your fastboot folder.

Or use a JB firmware flasher.
 
Havoc2510
Old
#5  
Havoc2510's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2012
Also, one other thing, when I just went and got the zip from the link you posted, the download was off of Android Revolution HD. Just thought that I'd check, this won't mean I can only use this ROM will it? CM 10.1 will work fine?

Not trying to be awkward, I just don't want to get this wrong .
HTC > Samsung
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#6  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8306
Posts: 13,611
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
First you need your cid otherwise you don't know what you need to download !
 
Havoc2510
Old
#7  
Havoc2510's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
You need the ANDROID SDK BUNDLE ..... Unpack it and inside the platform tools you find the fastboot files. That is your fastboot folder.

Or use a JB firmware flasher.
Is it this? http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

I have it downloading now . When I have the fastboot folder and the other parts I mentioned, is that all I need to be able to change the hboot, re-unlock bootloader, re flash CWM (oh yeah I need that as well ) and install CM 10.1.

Thanks for the help so far, I really appreciate it .
HTC > Samsung
 
Havoc2510
Old
#8  
Havoc2510's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
First you need your cid otherwise you don't know what you need to download !
Yeah, I did the CID and found it was HTC__001, I then went on to download that zip for hboot 1.39 and that is when the android revolution page popped up. Just thought I should check with the guru first .
HTC > Samsung
 
Mr Hofs
Old
(Last edited by Mr Hofs; 4th April 2013 at 11:36 PM.)
#9  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8306
Posts: 13,611
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Oke yes that's correct .....

Yep then you have it all. Also put the unlock code.bin file (the one you got in the mail from htc the first time you unlocked the bootloader) into the fastboot folder.

Follow all the steps i wrote earlier and it will be fine

How to flash ?

Open a command window from inside the fastboot folder . Hold shift and point in the folder then right click the mouse and select : open command window here

From that dos command window you type all the FASTBOOT commands.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Havoc2510
Old
#10  
Havoc2510's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
Oke yes that's correct .....
Ok, so it won't mean that I can only install Android Revolution HD? Better to be safe .

Also, the ADT Bundle just finished downloading, and I'm extracting fastboot to C: drive at the moment. Thanks for the help, is that all I need to do? (seems too easy...)
HTC > Samsung

The Following User Says Thank You to Havoc2510 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
1.39.0000, change, hboot, htc, upgrade
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes