Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,457 Members 52,119 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Official bootloader unlock procedure from LG AND the one that works for everyone ;)

Tip us?
 
laufersteppenwolf
Old
(Last edited by laufersteppenwolf; 7th July 2013 at 07:03 PM.) Reason: updated with new unlock script
#1  
laufersteppenwolf's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5035
Posts: 2,426
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baden-Württemberg

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Official bootloader unlock procedure from LG AND the one that works for everyone ;)

I just checked my emails and saw a reply from LG, containing the official unlocking procedure

alright, so here you go:

Requirements
- Linux: no drivers, only adb and fastboot (Linux is preferable, because drivers can't mess something up I've used Xubuntu 12.10 BTW)
- Windows: all drivers (including fastboot drivers) installed and functioning
- a working and updated ADB (for installing ADB, search for tuts here on xda )
- a unlockable firmware which is flashed several hours before trying to unlock the bootloader (and also being connected to the network)
- be willing to recycle all your warranty papers
- and most important: a brain with the ability to read


The Steps

1) charge your phone to 100% (not mentioned by LG, but it helped for me)
2) connect your phone in LG software mode (every mode with an activated adb should work, too)
3) if you have the path to your adb defined, then goto 3a). if not, then goto 3b)
3a) open a terminal and type
Code:
adb reboot oem-unlock
Click image for larger version

Name:	input_adb.jpg
Views:	10459
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	1893619

3b) open a terminal and type
Code:
cd ~/android-sdk/platform-tools
in Linux or
Code:
cd C:\...
on windows (if you've installed the android-sdk in your home directory under "android-sdk". if not, change it to the directory you've installed it)

then type
Code:
adb reboot oem-unlock
Click image for larger version

Name:	input_adb_cd_2.jpg
Views:	7811
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	1893621

Click image for larger version

Name:	result_adb.jpg
Views:	6384
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	1893622

4) now you should see this on your phone:

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF3116.jpg
Views:	15140
Size:	253.7 KB
ID:	1893627

do i wanna unlock it? of course i do so press the vol + button ATTENTION: there is no further warning, your whole /data/ partition will be formatted!!!

5) now you should see this, and your BL is unlocked and your /data/ partition is wiped

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF3120.jpg
Views:	14504
Size:	255.6 KB
ID:	1893628

6) now pull out your usb cable and your battery, too
7) put your battery back in and boot
8) set up your system
9) now go to the hidden menu and check your BL status (dialer: 3845#*880# --> Bootloader Unlock Check --> Bootloader Unlock Check --> Unlock)

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF3122.jpg
Views:	8094
Size:	257.9 KB
ID:	1893629


Some people still think that
Code:
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot oem unlock
is the right command, but guess what: it isn't so please don't use it

 

Quote:
Please follow below directions to unlock bootloader.

1. Turn on the phone with SIM card, and wait for connection to the real network.

2. Wait for couple of hours.

3. Connect your handset to local PC with USB cable.

4. Enter "adb reboot oem-unlock" in DOS command window.

5. Reboot handset and you can see the bootloader unlock guide on your phone.

6-1. If you press volume up key, handset is bootloader unlock status.

You can download custom image using fastboot command.

6-2 If you press power on key, user doesnot accept unlock bootlaoder and handset normally power on.



so this was the official way now we're gonna take a look into the way, that can unlock every bootloader (at least we've heard nothing opposite )

download this attatched BL_unlock file and extract it
execute the BL-unlock.bat
your bootloader is now unlocked

so what it does:
 
it copys the calue of the fuse "odm_reserved" to a temporary folder in /data/local
changes the value to an "unlocked" one
and it pushes the changed value back to the fuse


Be aware, that whatever you do, you do it on your own responsibility. I am not responsible for any damage that might occur.
Also keep in mind, that there is no way to relock it. So think before doing anything.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	input_adb_cd.jpg
Views:	5834
Size:	18.1 KB
ID:	1893620   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF3126.jpg
Views:	6726
Size:	260.0 KB
ID:	1893630  
Attached Files
File Type: rar BL-unlock_new.rar - [Click for QR Code] (473.6 KB, 18206 views)
Sony Ericsson Xperia X8: GingerDX v31b ; alfs CM7 v09c
LG Optimus 4x HD: my own version of CM 10.1 , CWM recovery, UNlocked BL

Crying that it's an application bug is like crying over the speed of light: you should deal with reality, not what you wish reality was. - Linus Torvalds
The Following 89 Users Say Thank You to laufersteppenwolf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Aeternus Eternus
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 36
Join Date: Feb 2012
No matter which version?
 
laufersteppenwolf
Old
#3  
laufersteppenwolf's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5035
Posts: 2,426
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baden-Württemberg

 
DONATE TO ME
I asked for the official unlock method, and lg said that only euro-open would be unlockable. But i guess it will work on some other firmwares too.

Sent from my LG-P880 using xda premium
Sony Ericsson Xperia X8: GingerDX v31b ; alfs CM7 v09c
LG Optimus 4x HD: my own version of CM 10.1 , CWM recovery, UNlocked BL

Crying that it's an application bug is like crying over the speed of light: you should deal with reality, not what you wish reality was. - Linus Torvalds
The Following User Says Thank You to laufersteppenwolf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
@non4
Old
#4  
@non4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 745
Posts: 3,308
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gothicus
Ask about uk too? Since you got a response and I didn't. Or make a modded kdz that always flashes to eur-xxx since you have mad skills lol

Sent from my rooted P880
If you don't want it ROOTED then DONT LEAVE IT WITH ME!
 
nedooo
Old
#5  
nedooo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 274
Posts: 1,189
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by @non4 View Post
Ask about uk too? Since you got a response and I didn't. Or make a modded kdz that always flashes to eur-xxx since you have mad skills lol

Sent from my rooted P880
It is not kdz that should be moded it is the kdz flash program...
The Following User Says Thank You to nedooo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mastershefis
Old
#6  
mastershefis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 897
Posts: 716
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno

 
DONATE TO ME
There must be something which controls the device ID or IMEI, because it is no longer possible to unlock. Allways stack on [LGE_SECURITY] Unlock permission denied. I did tried already all possibility including drivers, differen adb versions, downgrading, updating e.g.

[THEME][CM9-AOKP][MDPI-HDPI] -MasterUIv4- [RELEASED ALPHA][08.06.2012]
 
nedooo
Old
#7  
nedooo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 274
Posts: 1,189
Join Date: Dec 2010
It is done on Optimus G...maybe someone could contact developer of that app.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....freegee&hl=hr

Also XDA dev.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2094696
 
pierg75
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 77
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fleet
Doesn't work on 234. Security error.
The Following User Says Thank You to pierg75 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Erazor84
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 57
Join Date: Apr 2011
On 232.14 - Unlock Permission Denied.

So with a branding you cannot unlock your boot loader. Maybe someone can find a workaround.

i have tried it on kubuntu with ADB.
 
@non4
Old
#10  
@non4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 745
Posts: 3,308
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gothicus
Quote:
Originally Posted by nedooo View Post
It is not kdz that should be moded it is the kdz flash program...
Yeah I'm thinking that, maybe we can spoof the region to lg flashtool or something, if its just flags in the kdz that are read by the flashtool it shouldn't be too hard to patch. Hopefully someone can :thumbup:

Sent from my rooted P880
If you don't want it ROOTED then DONT LEAVE IT WITH ME!

Tags
4x hd, official bootloader unlock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes