Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[2013.04.12][4.0.3+] Hotspot Control v1.1

OP Chainfire

11th April 2013, 08:35 PM   |  #1  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 55,603
 
9,475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Hotspot Control is a tiny app that enables or disables Portable Hotspot functionality of Android. Usually you could just do this in Android settings, but on some devices this option is hidden, or only works if you have a SIM inserted.

Hotspot Control does away with those requirements, assuming that the hotspot functionality itself is actually still present and operational on the device. Rooting is *usually* not required.

THIS IS NOT DESIGNED TO BEAT YOUR CARRIER'S TETHERING PROTECTION - For some people it does (it depends on how that protection is implemented) but this is not what the app was made for. It's no use complaining that it doesn't do this for you. This app is designed to circumvent some issues when setting up a local hotspot so your devices can communicate with eachother, not with the internet (though that also works on several devices).

You can configure the access point (hotspot) name and password, encryption used is alway WPA2 AES + TKIP, to keep it simple.

On some devices that do not have a cellular data connection capability (like the Nexus 10) the hotspot will not give out IP addresses - the app will auto-detect this situation and fix it, but root is required for that option. Note that without root on these devices, the connected devices can still communicate if you configure their IP addresses manually, but that is something for the advanced user.

I personally need this to create a private network (even without a SIM, and thus without an actual internet connection) in the field between a number of my devices. Some genius at Samsung decided that my Note II shouldn't create an access point if no SIM is present - I beg to differ! Maybe someone else has use for this as well.

This is probably not useful for more than a handful of people, but still ... I had to build it for myself anyway, might as well share it !

Download from Google Play

REDISTRIBUTION IS *NOT* ALLOWED
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-2-small.png
Views:	4166
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	1876327  
Attached Files
File Type: apk HotspotControl-v1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (80.1 KB, 5782 views)
Last edited by Chainfire; 13th April 2013 at 02:05 PM.
The Following 48 Users Say Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2013, 08:35 PM   |  #2  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 55,603
 
9,475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Changelogs
2013.04.12 - v1.1
- Added (automatically detected) feature to fix the issue with some devices that do not have cellular data capability (like the Nexus 10) that they do not give out IP addresses. Unfortunately this does require root to fix.
Last edited by Chainfire; 12th April 2013 at 02:58 PM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2013, 08:35 PM   |  #3  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 55,603
 
9,475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
--- another reserved post ---
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2013, 10:26 PM   |  #4  
Forum Moderator
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 666
 
1,091 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Thanks a lot! It will come in handy sometime for sure!
11th April 2013, 10:39 PM   |  #5  
Svid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,013 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Works well for now
Edit: when i type hotspot name it doubles the name and password.i mean when i set name xda for example it shows xdaxda
Sent from my INVERTED Tapatalk powered by AOKP
Last edited by Svid; 11th April 2013 at 10:43 PM.
11th April 2013, 10:47 PM   |  #6  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 55,603
 
9,475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yurasts

Works well for now
Edit: when i type hotspot name it doubles the name and password.i mean when i set name xda for example it shows xdaxda
Sent from my INVERTED Tapatalk powered by AOKP

It's because xda is too short ... it actually says so. 8 characters minimum.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2013, 10:51 PM   |  #7  
Svid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,013 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

It's because xda is too short ... it actually says so. 8 characters minimum.

Ok thanks

Sent from my INVERTED Tapatalk powered by AOKP
12th April 2013, 07:23 AM   |  #8  
GEKTHEBOSS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,983
 
1,996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
You are a Genius! Im waiting this from some time and then now its here!
Thanks,will report asap.
12th April 2013, 07:53 AM   |  #9  
matrixzone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,108
 
2,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
This is awesome. Compatible handset list will be handy though
12th April 2013, 11:19 AM   |  #10  
mjrifath's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag XDA
Thanks Meter: 730
 
1,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Really awesome.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes