5,594,700 Members 33,664 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bluetooth headsets - sequence of operation

Tip us?
 
peteding
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default Bluetooth headsets - sequence of operation

I decided to open a new thread although there were several threads on the use of bluetooth headsets. My intent is to explore whether there is a particular sequence that we need to follow when operating the XDAII and BT headset. I am using a Ericsson HBH-65.


First observation:

I notice that I need to end all calls via the bluetooth headset rather than from the XDAII. If I end a call using the XDAII (ie depressing the red button), for subsequent calls whether incoming or outcoming, I cannot use the headset. There is no connection between the 2. I seem to be able to simulate this almost 99% of the time.

Second observation:

I normally switch off my BT headset overnight for charging purposes etc. At the same time I deactivate the BT settings on my XDAII.
The next morning, I would activate the BT settings, BT profiles and then switch on my headset.
I notice that for the first call I made/receive the next day, I will have problems using the headset. I am not quite sure whether it is the case that I need to switch on my BT headset first and then the XDAII BT settings and BT profiles. I say this as to resolve the problem, I seemingly need to deactivate/activate the BT profile settings before it works and then for subsequent calls I would have no problems using the headset. This needs further testing to test my hypothesis.

Anyone notice anything different on their part.



regards
 
ratnamg
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default Same issues

I have had the HBH-65 and have noticed the same issues. I have also had an Logitech and did not have any problems with that.. I am guessing the issue is with the firmware on the HBH-65.
 
Abram
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 180
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Beatles City
I use Bluetake GII with my xda2. No sequence, no problems. I never even think about switching it on or off. Works in any sequence. Nice looking too! :wink:
 
lummac
Old
#4  
lummac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 211
Join Date: Jan 2004
I have a Jabra 250, and I do not have to follow any ritual to have it to work fine
 
austbar
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2004
I have a Logitech Bluetooth headset with my Qtek 2020 (rom 1.60.21), and it works like crap.
First of all, the headset wont turn on/off sometimes.
Second - if its turned on, and the qtek has been turned off, i need to reconnect it, to switch automatticly when recieving a call.
Thirdly - both speak and hear is very poor quality/fare away (very silent) even though ive turned the volume to maxx.
 
BRosenow
Old
#6  
BRosenow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 445
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabama
Default BT Headset - Works Flawlessly

I have a Sony Ericsson HBH-30 headset and I never give the slightest thought to sequences or procedures. I can turn the headset on and off, the profile on and off, even the BT stack on and off - without ever having to re-bond or anything else.

Now if I could just voice-dial a call with the bloody thing I would be truly happy indeed.
Current: Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note II - running the Sophisticated 4.3 ROM provided by @krowley3
Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - rooted stock
Previous: Droid Bionic, Droid Charge, HTC Imagio, Samsung SCH-i760, Palm Treo, HTC JasJar, HTC MDA II, HP iPAQ 1615, Casio Cassiopeia A20 & E105
 
olliesshop
Old
#7  
olliesshop's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Default Same problems but getting it figured out

I have the HBH-65 and it seems to work fine now that I've hopefully figured it out. I do a few things. First, I leave the Bluetooth on, on my i-Mate. Second, once it's in range I've noticed it takes about a minute for it to link up. When it links it either makes a single beep (if I just turned on the Headset) or a quiet click if it was already on. I doesn't work ALL of the time, but the more I use it the better it gets. I really expected it to be a little easier.
Tim
 
chocobot
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2004
I have the HBH-200 with call display...which the salesman assured me that it would work with my XDA 2! Call display does not work, and if I end a call on the O2 the headset will hang. Other than that it's great!
more money = more toys
 
fishmedia
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 56
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
I Have a XDAII and a HBH-35

They key to it seems to be not to turn anything off ! it's really frustrating when you think it's all linked up and then get in the car only to recieve a call and not be able to answer it with the headset.

If I have turned the headset off it's a right pain to bond again, red, green lights, funny beeps it's very confusing !

Once it's bonded it's great ! I am amazed with the call quality.
 
gigino
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 262
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London
I have an Sony Ericsson HBH 35, I have no problem w3ith the bluetooth pick up call are end calls.
I can even transfer call from my bluetooth to the handaset and by reverse pick up call on my handset and then transfer the call back to the headset all I have to do his to hold the button on the headset fro a few second and the call transfer from the handaset to the bluetooth headset no problem.
Great piece of headset I would really reccomended it to anyone.
The rom on my XDA II is still the version 1.05
Regards
Gigino

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more