Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

CM for Kyocera Rise?

OP xdbridun

17th April 2013, 03:37 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
I'm looking to see if there are any cyanogen mod roms for my Kyocera Rise. I've used a cm on my old Motorola Backflip and loved it. I had gone back to dumbphones until just last week when I got my Virgin Mobile branded Kyocera Rise. If you know of any info, please let me know. I can't find anything about it anywhere on the web, which makes me think there is not one in development. If there is no CM available, are there any other roms I could try? Thanks!!
19th April 2013, 04:37 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdbridun

I'm looking to see if there are any cyanogen mod roms for my Kyocera Rise. I've used a cm on my old Motorola Backflip and loved it. I had gone back to dumbphones until just last week when I got my Virgin Mobile branded Kyocera Rise. If you know of any info, please let me know. I can't find anything about it anywhere on the web, which makes me think there is not one in development. If there is no CM available, are there any other roms I could try? Thanks!!

Currently the rise has a locked bootloader. Kyocera refuses to say anything except a form letter that sums to "We have no fingers in the pie".
19th April 2013, 04:39 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by indrora

Currently the rise has a locked bootloader. Kyocera refuses to say anything except a form letter that sums to "We have no fingers in the pie".

Ok, that stinks. Thanks.
2nd June 2013, 06:06 AM   |  #4  
TechDad378's Avatar
Member
Flag The Shore
Thanks Meter: 52
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Kyocera Rise Root
I was able to root Kyocera Rise v4.0.3. with no problem. They provide an OTA update to v4.0.4 which locked the bootloader. After many tries I was able to root v4.0.4. I tested some apps which modified different features of the phone. It seems "PimpMyRom" allowed a lot of tweaks to work. I am trying to unroot and reroot, in order to provide a simple process. I am new to the forum so it will take a little bit before I can post a tutorial for rooting v4.0.4. But it can be rooted so it will only be a mtter of time before a CWM is developed.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TechDad378 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd October 2013, 08:19 AM   |  #5  
JHell's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Virgin Mobile is lying when they say they don't have anything to do with the locked bootloader. they have all their new phones locked up because they think root can jeopardize their service.

Sent from my Event using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes