FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[ToolKit] Acer Iconia v0.9.4 ***New: Supporting Acer Liquid S1***

974 posts
Thanks Meter: 428
 
By entonjackson, Senior Member on 18th April 2013, 01:38 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
The Acer Iconia Toolkit is supporting following devices at the moment:
  • B1-A71
  • B1-710
  • B1-A710
  • B1-711
  • B1-720
  • A1-810
  • A1-811
  • A3-A10
  • Liquid S1

Intel based devices will not be supported ever by this toolkit! Only Mediatek chips are supported!

At the moment the following features are available:
  • Root from scratch (Unix only / recommended)
  • Root with prerooted Image (see Download links at the bottom)
  • Unroot
  • Swap External <-> Internal SD
  • Odex ROM
  • Pull system.img.gz off your device


Download Acer Iconia Toolkit Latest Version

Older Versions:



Thank you goes to:



Acer Iconia B1-A71:


Unlock Bootloader
CWM update, that removes bloat
thx to FireDiamond

Apply the "Invalid Partition Error" fix before rooting!!!
To avoid unfixable bootloop, first apply this patch from Acer.
Install the APK, start it, click on FixG1PMT (no feedback) and uninstall afterwards. Good luck!


If you're rooting with prerooted system.img.gz here are the Downloads. Pick the one, fitting to the firmware installed on your tablet, otherwise you will get into bootloop!

RV03RC05:
Acer Firmware Update [mirror] [mirror + md5]

RV04RC04:
[system.img.gz] [mirror]

RV05RC05:
Acer Firmware Update [mirror1] [mirror2] [mirror3] [mirror4 + md5] [mirror5 + md5]
[system.img.gz]
CRC32: C2D58787
MD5: EA6A0EED0990D250030874E94FFD86E9
SHA-1: B4298F29E51E255FCB754E78575AC8E609AC22B2

RV02RC12:
system.img.gz


Acer Iconia B1-710 / B1-A710:


Acer Iconia B1-711:

RV01RC04_WW_GEN1:
system.img.gz


Acer Iconia B1-720:

RV03RC01_WW_GEN1:
system.img.gz (thx to Hayastan)

RV07RC01_WW_GEN1:
system.img.gz (thx to Hayastan)


Acer Iconia A1-810:

Acer Firmwares

Modified XPosed Installer

RV03RC08:
system.img.gz

RV18RC07_WW_GEN1:
update.zip (about 4MB)
system.img.gz with /system RW workaround (MD5 = 214db984aee42ef0c05d1cfa43d193c1) (needs extra config and SuperSU instead of Superuser) [torrent] (see this post also)

RV21RC02_WW_GEN1:
update.zip
system.img.gz with /system RW workaround (needs extra config and SuperSU instead of Superuser) (see this post also)

RV21RC03_TWN:
system.img.gz with /system RW workaround (needs extra config and SuperSU instead of Superuser) (see this post also)

RV27RC02_PA_CA:
stock system.img.gz (rename to system.img.gz first!)
system.img.gz (rename to system.img.gz first!)

RV27RC03_WW_GEN1:
system.img.gz
stock system.img.gz
update.zip

RV18RC10_PA_CA:
system.img.gz with /system RW workaround (needs extra config and SuperSU instead of Superuser) (see this post also)

RV26RC06_PA_CUS1:
system.img.gz

Stock Images: (Workaround to unroot: Put the system.img.gz of your version into system_image and choose root option in toolkit)
RV03RC08:
system.img.gz

RV18RC07:
system.img.gz ( MD5=550ECDB192F5668264B11B1070F4B932 )


How to root from scratch


Acer Iconia A1-811:

RV01RC11_WW_GEN1:
Acer Firmware Update

RV02RC20:
system.img.gz rooted and stock (including xposed) (thx to konsolen!!)

RV02RC22_TWN_GEN1:
system.img.gz with /system RW workaround (needs extra config and SuperSU instead of Superuser) (see this post also)

Unbrick:
Stock Firmware RV01RC11 (copy on SD and flash from recovery)


Acer Iconia A3-A10:

A3-A10_RV05RC01_PA_CA:
stock system image


Your device not listed above?

Help us getting your device to work with the toolkit.
See this post how you can help.



Common

B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-A710: Install this after rooting: Superuser App on Google Play Store
A1-810 / A1-811 / B1-711: Install this after rooting: SuperSU App on Google Play Store
Verify your root: Root Checker on Play Store


FAQ

Q: I'm stuck inside a bootloop after rooting!!!11
A1: The system.img.gz you applied, wasn't suiting to the firmware version installed on your tablet. Download latest Acer firmware update ( !!! if available !!!), copy it on a micro sd card, plug it into your Iconia, go to recovery by holding Volume up and Power button while device is turned off. Then choose apply update from sd card.
A2: If you cannot apply any Acer firmware, because you always get a partition error while installing, you should do a reboot after you get the error. A user reported that this made her/his device boot into Android again, showing the new version in settings -> info. Good luck
A3: If your device is really bricked you could try bring it back to life. Here you find help: link1, link2, link3, link4 (many thanks to Gilly10, drmad and Hamza91)
A4 (B1-A71, B1-710, B1-711 only): Unbrick
A5: If the A1 - A4 didn't help. Send back the device to Acer. Tell them you tried to apply an update from sd card and ended up in this bootloop. Sending device back to Acer over UPS is free. Good luck!

Q: Successfully rooted, but still no root after rebooting!
A: Have you installed Superuser App from Google Play Store?
(B1-A71 only)Q: Cannot update, always getting ERROR: - Invalid partition setting; 17: fat 238e8000:888e8000; Instalation aborted.
A: Download "Invalid Partition Error" Patch.
(B1-A71 only)Q: I applied update from RV05RC05 to RV05RC06 but still it shows RV05RC05.
A: There is no RV05RC06. It is the RV05RC05. It got on Acers Download section with a RV05RC06 named zip file. But the content is 100% equal to RV05RC05.
Q: Toolkit fails or crashes for any reason and I don't know what to do.
A: Run it again with parameter -d, e.g.: toolkit.exe -d and post the entire output here.
Q: Root from scratch on Linux doesn't work because of Error message: 'No such file or directory bin/posix/64/adb'
A: sudo apt-get install ia32-libs libstdc++6 libgcc1 zlib1g libncurses5 libsdl1.2debian
Q: Can i flash a custom recovery?
A: No, because bootloader is locked. You would brick your tablet.
Q: Are there Custom ROMs?
A: No, see answer above.
Q: Is my data wiped during root?
A: No.
Q: Do i lose root after factory reset or wipe date?
A: No.
Q: I get an error in Engineer mode entering telnet command.
A: If Swiftkey is installed / enabled try settings Google AOSP Keyboard as default.
Q: How can I start telnet server manually?
A: Try this.



What you can do with root:

Apply Supercharger V6 by zeppelinrox and significally speed up your tablet! [My small How-To]
Install Adaway, an ad-blocker for webbrowsers and apps containing ads.
Install ROM Toolbox and customize boot screen and other funny things.
Install Titanium Backup to Backup, Freeze, Uninstall any App and more.
Install Datasync to sync app data like save states between rooted devices.


What you can NOT do with root on these devices:

Change DPI
Flash Custom Recoveries
Flash Custom ROMs



Sources and Changelos @ github (thanks to nikagl)

Last edited by entonjackson; 17th February 2015 at 06:27 PM. Reason: new version 0.9.4
The Following 147 Users Say Thank You to entonjackson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
18th April 2013, 01:39 PM |#2  
entonjackson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 428
 
Donate to Me
More
Post
Changelog:

v0.9.4
======
- Updated SuperSU to 2.46
- Removed Xposed APK
- Added Liquid S1 support!

v0.9.3
======
- Fix Xposed removal
- Wait longer for MTKLogger to press settings
- Add 811 and KK 810 and 811 to root from system.img

v0.9.2
======
- Removed Xposed till it works
- Add global for allatonce

v0.9.1

======
Added option to enable write access to external sdcard
Added comment for Xposed not working
Removed su delete command in invalid section

v0.9.0
======
- A1-811: Kitkat Support
- A1-xxx: Added proper su-binary
- Added timestamps
- Added descision for Superuser/Supersu
- Added selection for Xposed **not working yet**
- Added option to enable write access to external sdcard
- Added selection to continue automatically (also import the system instead of waiting for enter)
- Removed invalid quote and double exit command
- Added forward delete of characters to make sure Run command is empty
- Added some additional messages during the root process

v0.8.5
======
- A1-810: Fixed target directory for system image (no permissions for /cache directory since Kitkat)
- A1-810: Fixed root from scratch for Kitkat versions (thanks to Just_Another_N00b)

v0.8.4
======
- A1-810: Fixed root for Android Kitkat >= 4.4.2
- A1-810: Fixed abd devices id, changed sind Kitkat update

v0.8.3
======
- Fixed pulling system.img.gz from Windows

v0.8.2
======
- New: Supporting B1-720

v0.8.1
======
- A1-81x: Fixed missing read/write permissions for /system partition (thanks
to twu2!)
- All other devices: fixed missing path to su binary (thanks to arzakon.nn)

v0.8.0
======
- New: Pull system.img.gz from your tablet
- New: Supporting A3-A10

v0.7.8
======
- fixed Swap Internal to External for A1 and B1-710

v0.7.7
======
- Supporting Swap Internal to External for A1 and B1-710
- fixed bug in root from scratch: checking for /bin/su although it's not there


Full Changelog inside the Download.
Last edited by entonjackson; 17th February 2015 at 06:28 PM. Reason: v0.9.4
The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to entonjackson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2013, 03:59 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Error "Permision denied"
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson

Changelog:

v0.2.1
======
- Windows: Providing an .exe, so Python is no more needed for Windows users. But you could still use the Python script.
- Unix: Python3 compatibility fixes

v0.2.0
======
- supporting windows 64 and 32 bit (only for rooting with prerooted system.img.gz)
- Linux: added option to choose between 'Root from scratch' and 'Root from prerooted image'
- supporting all versions between python 2.7.4 and 3.3

v0.1.1
======
- supporting linux 64 AND 32bit
- instructions at the beginning
- make compatible to python 3.3

v0.1.0
======
- initial release, only supporting linux 64bit



Hi Thanks for your effor and sharing with us.

I got error "failed to copy system._image\system.image.gz to cache/system.image.gz , permission denied

can you give me solution.

thanks very much
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cakadut For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2013, 04:01 PM |#4  
entonjackson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 428
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cakadut

Hi Thanks for your effor and sharing with us.

I got error "failed to copy system._image\system.image.gz to cache/system.image.gz , permission denied

can you give me solution.

thanks very much

Windows or Linux?

edit: Ok i found the issue, I just fixed it and going to upload a new version this evening.
Last edited by entonjackson; 18th April 2013 at 07:47 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to entonjackson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2013, 09:20 PM |#5  
entonjackson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 428
 
Donate to Me
More
New version v0.2.2 is up.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to entonjackson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2013, 12:17 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson

New version v0.2.2 is up.

I thanks for your work.

I have one problem

failed to copy 'system_image\system.img.gz' to '/cache/system.img.gz': Permissio
n denied
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "easy_root_iconia_b1.py", line 724, in <module>
else:
File "easy_root_iconia_b1.py", line 26, in main
win_main(python3)
File "easy_root_iconia_b1.py", line 642, in win_main
out = p.stdout.readline()
File "subprocess.pyc", line 575, in check_output
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command ' bin\windows\32\adb.exe push system_imag
e\system.img.gz /cache' returned non-zero exit status 1

Thanks for your futur help

sorry for my english
The Following User Says Thank You to arwahabibi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2013, 02:08 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Lightbulb V0.2.2 still Error
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson

New version v0.2.2 is up.

Dear Eaton,

after dowbload and run v0.2.2 , still found same problem.

No Progress bar during copy image.

and system shown

failed to copy 'system_image\system.img.gz' to '/cache/system.img.gz': Permissio
n denied
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "easy_root_iconia_b1.py", line 724, in <module>
else:
File "easy_root_iconia_b1.py", line 26, in main
win_main(python3)
File "easy_root_iconia_b1.py", line 642, in win_main
out = p.stdout.readline()
File "subprocess.pyc", line 575, in check_output
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command ' bin\windows\32\adb.exe push system_imag
e\system.img.gz /cache' returned non-zero exit status 1

Note I am using windows 7.- 64 Bit

Regards,
Last edited by cakadut; 19th April 2013 at 04:08 AM. Reason: add info
The Following User Says Thank You to cakadut For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2013, 06:11 AM |#8  
entonjackson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 428
 
Donate to Me
More
I uploaded a new version where I added some commands that hopefully resolve the permissions issues.
The problem is, that I can't reproduce it.

Are you rooting the Iconia the first time? or did you already have root before?

Regarding the progress bar. It only appears when writing the system.img.gz

I have Windows 7 64 bit, btw.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to entonjackson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2013, 06:15 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson

I uploaded a new version where I added some commands that hopefully resolve the permissions issues.
The problem is, that I can't reproduce it.

Are you rooting the Iconia the first time? or did you already have root before?

Regarding the progress bar. It only appears when writing the system.img.gz

I have Windows 7 64 bit, btw.


Dear Enton,

Yes this is the first time B1 will rooting,

I will try again, and report to you,

Regards
19th April 2013, 06:41 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by cakadut

Dear Enton,

Yes this is the first time B1 will rooting,

I will try again, and report to you,

Regards


Dear Enton,

The Messages still same, I Attached the Error Pic.

Note :
Iconia B1-A71
ROM 16 GB
RAM 512 MB
Android Version : 4.1.2
Kernel Version : 3.4.0
Image Version : Acer_AV051_B1-A71_RV05RC05_WW_GEN1
Build Number : Acer_AV051_B1-A71_1.258.00_WW_GEN1

Regards,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Iconia B1-A71 - Enton-V0.2.3 - 4-19-2013 12-26-23 PM.jpg
Views:	6551
Size:	100.8 KB
ID:	1894546  
The Following User Says Thank You to cakadut For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2013, 08:49 AM |#11  
entonjackson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 428
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cakadut

Dear Enton,

The Messages still same, I Attached the Error Pic.

Note :
Iconia B1-A71
ROM 16 GB
RAM 512 MB
Android Version : 4.1.2
Kernel Version : 3.4.0
Image Version : Acer_AV051_B1-A71_RV05RC05_WW_GEN1
Build Number : Acer_AV051_B1-A71_1.258.00_WW_GEN1

Regards,

I will try to fix it asap. The problem is, that I cannot reproduce it.
I assume that the chmod 777 /cache command that I do, before the adb push command fails with "Operation not permitted."
But this I still don't know how to fix. If someone knows, tell me!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
acer iconia, acer iconia a1-810, acer iconia b1-710, acer iconia b1-a71, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes