Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,571 Members 54,883 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ToolKit] Acer Iconia v0.8.3 ***New: Supporting B1-720***

Tip us?
 
Enrichman
Old
#751  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rome
Hi everyone!
I'm having some issues on trying to root my B1-A71. I'm on a Mac and if I do "sudo ./toolkit.sh" and follow the instructions I will get

Code:
Trying to establish ADB Connection...
bin/posix/64/adb: bin/posix/64/adb: cannot execute binary file
E: Couldn't connect to your Acer Iconia B1-A71 over adb. Plug-In the device with USB-Debugging Mode turned on.
Of course I've turned on the usb debugging.
If I try to run directly the adb file under the bin/posix/64/ I run into the same error. Btw my adb (on my sdk) is working fine and I can "ping" my device.

Do you think it's safe if I replace the adb (under bin/posix/64/) with my adb? Or it's a modified one?

Thanks in advance!


EDIT:

do you know what the @ means near the permissions (-rwxr-xr-x@) ? I found that in the "corrupted" adb.
 
entonjackson
Old
#752  
entonjackson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 385
Posts: 936
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enrichman View Post
Hi everyone!
I'm having some issues on trying to root my B1-A71. I'm on a Mac and if I do "sudo ./toolkit.sh" and follow the instructions I will get

Code:
Trying to establish ADB Connection...
bin/posix/64/adb: bin/posix/64/adb: cannot execute binary file
E: Couldn't connect to your Acer Iconia B1-A71 over adb. Plug-In the device with USB-Debugging Mode turned on.
Of course I've turned on the usb debugging.
If I try to run directly the adb file under the bin/posix/64/ I run into the same error. Btw my adb (on my sdk) is working fine and I can "ping" my device.

Do you think it's safe if I replace the adb (under bin/posix/64/) with my adb? Or it's a modified one?

Thanks in advance!
Yes. It's safe. Some Linux Users had this problem before.
Root your Acer Iconia B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-711 / B1-720 / B1-A710 / A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 with the Acer Iconia Toolkit.

 
Enrichman
Old
#753  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rome
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson View Post
Yes. It's safe. Some Linux Users had this problem before.
Thanks, now the error is just this (lol):

Code:
Trying to establish ADB Connection...
E: Couldn't connect to your Acer Iconia B1-A71 over adb. Plug-In the device with USB-Debugging Mode turned on.
I've tried to run the toolkit with -d (or --debug) but nothing happened (no log or increased verbosity, from the code I guess I should expect the second). What do you think could be?
 
Enrichman
Old
#754  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rome
In the end I've ended up to do it on Windows (thanks Parallels). It worked without any problem!

Thanks a lot, great script! ; )
The Following User Says Thank You to Enrichman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
entonjackson
Old
#755  
entonjackson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 385
Posts: 936
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enrichman View Post
Thanks, now the error is just this (lol):

Code:
Trying to establish ADB Connection...
E: Couldn't connect to your Acer Iconia B1-A71 over adb. Plug-In the device with USB-Debugging Mode turned on.
I've tried to run the toolkit with -d (or --debug) but nothing happened (no log or increased verbosity, from the code I guess I should expect the second). What do you think could be?
Try to do a manual sudo ./adb devices and look if your device is recognized.
If not, ... your device is not recognized.

Missing drivers? Try other usb plug?
Root your Acer Iconia B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-711 / B1-720 / B1-A710 / A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 with the Acer Iconia Toolkit.

 
alessiof89
Old
#756  
alessiof89's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
Default Update software

A friend notified me a software update (improve touch sensitivity) but I can't update because root. So, I've tried unroot but dont'work with toolkit. After remove Superuser and Supersu, Iconia Tab is again root. How is it possible?
 
entonjackson
Old
#757  
entonjackson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 385
Posts: 936
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by alessiof89 View Post
A friend notified me a software update (improve touch sensitivity) but I can't update because root. So, I've tried unroot but dont'work with toolkit. After remove Superuser and Supersu, Iconia Tab is again root. How is it possible?
which iconia do you have?
b1? a1?
Root your Acer Iconia B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-711 / B1-720 / B1-A710 / A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 with the Acer Iconia Toolkit.

The Following User Says Thank You to entonjackson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alessiof89
Old
#758  
alessiof89's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson View Post
which iconia do you have?
b1? a1?
a1-810
 
entonjackson
Old
#759  
entonjackson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 385
Posts: 936
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by alessiof89 View Post
a1-810
as the 1st post tells you. if you cannot unroot the usual way, flash back the stock system image...
Root your Acer Iconia B1-A71 / B1-710 / B1-711 / B1-720 / B1-A710 / A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 with the Acer Iconia Toolkit.

 
alessiof89
Old
#760  
alessiof89's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vicenza (Italy)
Quote:
Originally Posted by entonjackson View Post
as the 1st post tells you. if you cannot unroot the usual way, flash back the stock system image...
I've tried but doesn't work:

Quote:
Enter a selection:

Trying to establish ADB Connection...
ADB Connection to your Acer Iconia A1-810 successful.

[ENTER] Continue
[Q] Quit

Enter a selection:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File ".toolkit.py", line 1439, in <module>
main()
File ".toolkit.py", line 96, in main
a1_menu()
File ".toolkit.py", line 153, in a1_menu
unroot()
File ".toolkit.py", line 825, in unroot
remove_su_binary()
File ".toolkit.py", line 882, in remove_su_binary
p.stdout.flush()
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'flush'
alessio2@alessio-K52F:~/Scaricati/acer_iconia_toolkit_v0.6.1$

Tags
acer iconia, acer iconia a1-810, acer iconia b1-710, acer iconia b1-a71, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes