TWRP 2.8.3.0 Available for Supported Devices

The TeamWin Recovery Project (or TWRP, for short) has quickly become one of the most popular … more

Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Deleted

Fax Software

OP greenterp

27th March 2004, 03:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2004
Can anyone recommend Fax software that I can load onto my XDA II to enable it to sebd and receive faxes? I have a fax number that I had with Orange but O2 do not have the same facilities for fax so I have had to put the number on permanent divert to my home fax. Not good as I cannot read them when I am out on the road working. O2 refused to tell me any fax software as they cannot endorse any companies other than O2, and as O2 do not do the software I am stuffed! Any ideas?
27th March 2004, 04:42 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Beirut - Lebanon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2003
KSE Truefax 2
Try KSE Trufax 2.06 for XDA II, at:
http://www.ksesoftware.com
(although it's not always working with me)
27th March 2004, 04:53 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2004
When I download will it wipe off anything I have on my XDA? I am very nervous about downloading stuff as I do not want to loose any info I have on my XDA. Thanks
27th March 2004, 04:59 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Beirut - Lebanon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2003
You can download it and install it simply. It won't wipe anything. When sending a fax, the telephone function is automatically suspended, and, when finished, it goes on again. Sometimes, while sending a fax, the system hangs so you need to make a simple soft reset.
27th March 2004, 06:24 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag leeds
Thanks Meter: 0
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
More
got the trial version can but says no carrier any advice ?
hi jus got the trial version of the sofware when i try to send a fax the program reports - dialing using internal modem - slight pause - then says no carrier signal ....... can you shed some light on this for me please .....

thanks heath.
27th March 2004, 07:01 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag leeds
Thanks Meter: 0
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
More
problem sending faxes !!! solution
hi loaded the software as noted above but on trying out the sofware i kept getting the message no carrier i found some info on the kse website which told me to ring my provider and ask if the sim card was enabled for fax !!!
ang guess what ops: yep i am now waiting for the settings to filter through the system.....

i will report back to this thread with an update in errrrrrr 12 - 24 hours...
2nd April 2004, 08:35 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag leeds
Thanks Meter: 0
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
More
reporting back !!!!
very impresive have had the trial version running and have used it succesfully many time to send as yet not received any still working on that but information i have suggests i again need to contact my provider to be issued with a fax number ???....... will keep you all posted. :?
25th April 2004, 02:50 PM   |  #8  
Member
Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 1
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2004
Why we need a fax number from provider?

Why we cannot use a standard gsm number?

Anybody knows another software capable to receive faxes without a special fax number?

:roll:
25th April 2004, 06:29 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 3
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2003
More
I beleive you can't fax directly over GSM because it's a completely different set of communication protocols to fax. It's analogue for a start. GSM modems don't know about fax carrier signals etc. What happens when you get a fax number from yoyur provuder is this number goes to a box at your phone provider, which accepts fax protocols and converts things to go via a GSM data channel to your phone.

I wonder if a completely software fax solution would be possible, ie it opens the GSM audio stream and provides a software based implementation of fax comms. Probably impossible as even though anlogue fax and GSM audio are similar bandwidth (9.6Kbps) the GSM audio codec is geared to voice so wouldn't represent the fax singnal adequately.
27th April 2004, 01:45 PM   |  #10  
Loony's Avatar
Junior Member
3rd Rock from the Sun
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyclap

the GSM audio codec is geared to voice so wouldn't represent the fax singnal adequately.

Fax tones are specifically designed to work over voice systems....

(300 to 3.4K)

as these are the set limitations of earlier Telephone Transmission systems....(4 meg fdm & pcm)



Don't know a lot about GSM though..... :?

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes