5,598,718 Members 39,325 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Samsung releases Galaxy S4 Kernel source GT-I9500, GT-I9505 & SGH-I337M

Tip us?
 
winwiz
Old
#1  
winwiz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 622
Posts: 1,921
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default Samsung releases Galaxy S4 Kernel source GT-I9500, GT-I9505 & SGH-I337M

http://www.sammobile.com/2013/04/19/...qYLuCk.twitter

This is great news! CM 10.1?
If you think my post helps you out feel free to press the THANKS button

Current Device:
HTC One - Silver

Coming from a:
Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505 - Black Mist

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to winwiz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wdouglass
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 92
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by winwiz View Post
AOSP at the very least...
 
stanley08
Old
#3  
stanley08's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1372
Posts: 1,853
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Accra, Ghana.
AWESOME!!!
GALAXY NOTE 3 (SM-N900)
Criskelo ROM v9 (NC1)
HALASZK UNIVERSAL5420 V0.14B KERNEL (CLUSTER)


MAXIMIZE THE BATTERY LIFE OF YOUR ANDROID DEVICE
JOIN THE GALAXY NOTE 3 FACEBOOK GROUP HERE

Past Glory
Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9500), Samsung Galaxy S3 (GT-I9300), Samsung Galaxy S2 (GT-I9100), Sony Xperia Arc, Sony Xperia Neo V, HTC Desire HD
 
AndreiLux
Old
(Last edited by AndreiLux; 19th April 2013 at 09:16 PM.)
#4  
AndreiLux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13335
Posts: 2,650
Join Date: Jul 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I will be updating in this thread shortly about proper information about the last unknown things concerning the phones...

Edit: How big is this thing?!

Edit: 372mB, they included various new things in their platform sources, seems they released the source for the Samsung Browser which seems to be the bulk of the increased size.

The 5410 now has proper independent power-gating in its CPUIdle driver.

The CPUFreq driver is populated from 200MHz up until 1300MHz for the A7 cores and 2000MHz for the A15 cores in 100MHz steps.

The shipping CPU already is in its second revision REV_2_0.

The shipping frequencies are 500MHz to 1200MHz for the A7 cores, 800MHz to 1600MHz for the A15 cores.

EDIT: When the IKS is active, which means at all times, then the CPU is set up to run in "turbo"-like configurations, if 1 A15 is active, max frequency is 1800, 2 are active, it is 1700, if all >2 big CPUs are on, 1600MHz is the maximum frequency. I'm still reading through the max index they setup there so I can't confirm this behaviour yet, but it's there in the code.

EDIT: The above logic seems to be disabled any only valid once the CPU was actually set to 1800MHz as maximum, there is no turbo at max of 1600MHz. This probably explains the previous benchmarks and so on of it showing 1800, but never reaching those frequencies.

Hotplugging seems to be DEAD! Finally!

The GPU _is_ running at 532MHz. There is a define for to ommit the last frequency step in the driver and limit it to 480MHz, however, in the released source this is not used and the frequency is 532MHz.
Code:
	#define DOWN_STEP_OLD		1100000
	#define DOWN_STEP_NEW		600000
	#define UP_STEP_OLD		550000
	#define UP_STEP_NEW		600000
	#define STEP_LEVEL_CA7_MAX	600000
	#define STEP_LEVEL_CA15_MIN	800000

	if (freqs[cur]->old <= UP_STEP_OLD  && target_freq > UP_STEP_NEW)
		target_freq = STEP_LEVEL_CA7_MAX;

	if (freqs[cur]->old >= DOWN_STEP_OLD && target_freq < DOWN_STEP_NEW) {
		if (strcmp(policy->governor->name, "ondemand") == 0)
			target_freq = STEP_LEVEL_CA15_MIN;
		else
			target_freq = STEP_LEVEL_CA7_MAX;
	}

	if (cur == CA15 && target_freq < freq_min[CA15]) {
		do_switch = 1;	/* Switch to Little */
	} else if (cur == CA7 && user_set_eagle_count > get_num_CA15()
			&& target_freq > freq_max[CA7]) {
		do_switch = 1;	/* Switch from LITTLE to big */
		if (count > 0 && count < 4 &&
			target_freq > exynos_info[cur]->max_op_freqs[count + 1])
				later = true;
	}
This is basically the switching logic. The A7 cores are mapped to the A15 frequency at half speed, the frequency table as such means it's 1:1 A15 clocks up until 1200MHz.

There are two conditions to switching from A15's to A7's:

An A15 core will need to be above 1100MHz (real) for the previous sampling period, and the new (current target) virtual frequency to be below 600MHz (1200MHz A7) to trigger an override of the CPUFreq logic and initiate a jump from A15 to A7's, however it doesn't directly switch: Ondemand is the default governor, so what it seems to be doing is to have a stop-over at the minimum A15 frequency / 800MHz for a frequency period and let the next sample decide what to do.

An A7 core will need to be at 550 virtual (1100MHz A7) for its previous sampling period, and over 600 virtual (1200MHz A7) to switch to an A15 core, however again, this is not the actual switching, it's sitting again for another sample at 1200MHz real frequency before it lets the next sample decide.

The actual switching is simple: if frequency reaches 800MHz, we go to A7's, if it goes to 650 (1300 == freq_max[CA7]) it goes to A15.

The whole thing is a bit shenanigans in logic, but I suppose they do it so that the cores don't do too much fine-grained switching and the above logic flattens out the frequency jumps.

EDIT: There's plenty of evidence of a global LTE enabled 5410 device, the kernel even has the usual modem drivers for it and GPIO board definitions.

I think most of the more interesting stuff is already cleared up now.
The Following 31 Users Say Thank You to AndreiLux For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
prodigyX
Old
#5  
prodigyX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 174
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durban
Does this mean that i9500 owners will be able to clock up to 1.8 to keep up with those fancy Koreans?
*=- Samsung Galaxy S4 i9500 Exynos Octa-Core 32gb BEAST -=*
 
Turbotab
Old
#6  
Turbotab's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 818
Posts: 892
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreiLux View Post
I will be updating in this thread shortly about proper information about the last unknown things concerning the phones...

Edit: How big is this thing?!

Edit: 372mB, they included various new things in their platform sources, seems they released the source for the Samsung Browser which seems to be the bulk of the increased size.

The 5410 now has proper independent power-gating in its CPUIdle driver.

The CPUFreq driver is populated from 200MHz up until 1300MHz for the A7 cores and 2000MHz for the A15 cores in 100MHz steps.

The shipping CPU already is in its second revision REV_2_0.

The shipping frequencies are 500MHz to 1300MHz for the A7 cores, 800MHz to 1600MHz for the A15 cores.
I'm trying to DL the 9505 sources atm, 28 KB/s on a 50+ Mb/s line, come on Samsung On the octa, is the voltage table populated for frequencies over 1600 MHz?, if so is there a big jump?
Dumb phones> Nokia E51 > iPhone 3GS > Orange San Francisco > Galaxy S > Galaxy S2 > Galaxy Note

Current: Lumia 710 & Nexus 7 & Nexus 4

@jomaKern
 
yahyoh
Old
(Last edited by yahyoh; 19th April 2013 at 05:50 PM.)
#7  
yahyoh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1873
Posts: 4,631
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Riyadh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbotab View Post
I'm trying to DL the 9505 sources atm, 28 KB/s on a 50+ Mb/s line, come on Samsung On the octa, is the voltage table populated for frequencies over 1600 MHz?, if so is there a big jump?
LOL i tried to download the 9500 source but the download speed ridiculously slow ( 20KB - 50KB ) WTF my download speed normally about 1.4MB
they seems only have 1MB LINE for the server

edit : Andrei how the voltage table, is it much lower than Exynos 4412 ( 32NM vs 28NM ) ? what 1.6GHz voltage ?
and can u check what the DAC model ? is it Wolfson 5102?
Gnote2 Rom: XXUENB4 kernel: Stock
.........................
Galaxy S2 ROM: XWLSW 4.1.2 Kernel: Stock
............................
Galaxy Nexus ROM:CM11 Kernel: CM stock kernel

............
 
AndreiLux
Old
#8  
AndreiLux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13335
Posts: 2,650
Join Date: Jul 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbotab View Post
I'm trying to DL the 9505 sources atm, 28 KB/s on a 50+ Mb/s line, come on Samsung On the octa, is the voltage table populated for frequencies over 1600 MHz?, if so is there a big jump?
They're populated, but only with a dummy 1300mV max value.

I got both sources at 900kB/s so I guess I got lucky before everybody and their grandma started downloading them for kicks.
 
barondebxl
Old
#9  
barondebxl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1218
Posts: 5,588
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Lets go!!!!!
Current Device: Nexus 7 2013

Recently Owned


Iphone 5S

LG G Flex

Galaxy Note3

LG G2
 
shadym1lkman
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 55
Join Date: Aug 2008
So is this better than with the S3 because everyone was complaining about missing kernels and incomplete source.

samsung seems to have stepped up. the 9500 should be OC'd in short order.

What about the freqcheck, how often is it sampling to change the frequency?

Tags
galaxy s4, kernel, samsung, sources
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes