Post Reply

[Q] Root for Asus Fonepad

25th April 2013, 12:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
Hey Guys

I have bought the asus Fonepad which so far is a great device.
But i canīt find any information onn the internet on how to root it.

Could you use a general root for the padfone or do i have to wait for
a special root.


Thank you
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sexxmax For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2013, 07:59 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I got my Fonepad this morning and its nice, but it needs some developer love to be my daily driver for more than a couple of weeks.

You cant count me in for at least $50 towards the cost of a device if a developer wanted to take it on.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to farberstyle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2013, 05:01 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexxmax

Hey Guys

I have bought the asus Fonepad which so far is a great device.
But i canīt find any information onn the internet on how to root it.

Could you use a general root for the padfone or do i have to wait for
a special root.


Thank you

I've on this device for cluple of days and it's really a kind of device with great potentials. The screen is nice with good density and the connectivity are all in. The telephony features is unique for this kind of device and the best part is it's running on Intel, I know developers can do wonders on this device and not to forget the price is very affordable. The kernel source code are available at asus website.

So dev's let's start the exciting work and really I need to root my device ASAP.

Thanks for the reading.
The Following User Says Thank You to muz2000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2013, 10:05 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Asus fonepad
Hi to everyone, i have bought this device too, great phablet but no chance to install Firefox or Firefox beta in order to test flashplayer. It s says damaged or invalid packet. Poor rear camera with NO flash, so guys let me change ideas about this device... i ve tried a lot of version of flash apk with no result. Please help us
28th April 2013, 10:09 AM   |  #5  
Karim Kahale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 293
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Why don't you use this root method http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1886460
28th April 2013, 07:26 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karim Kahale

Why don't you use this root method http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1886460

Tested it on the fonepad. Doesn't work. The shell doesn't show up after booting. Also after "Restore my data" the script doesn't recognize that the restore is done. I have to power off the device manually.

Up to now I haven't found a solution on the net to get root access. I want to use the fonepad with USB OTG to controll a DSLR. If this isn't possible I have to sell it again
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xda-forum-noob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2013, 03:50 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I've ordered it and I'm waiting for the device, I hope that will be opened a dedicated forum!
Coming from P1000 that was kept alive still today with 4.2.2 by amazing developers. I hope this will too.
30th April 2013, 12:12 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 22
 
469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
I got one too
I have had mine for a week now and am finding the performance to be a bit sluggish, but not too bad. The total package is quite nice. However, we need to be able to root it to get the most out of it. I will contribute as well.
30th April 2013, 09:22 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
How much?
Hi guys, just curious how much you bought the Fonepad for and if anyone using it on T-Mo? If so, what speed are you getting with the HSDPA?

Thanks!

Edit #1: I'm blind, PERLMANE is on T-Mo. What data speeds are you getting?

Edit #2: Oh and can you side loan Flash Player so viewing of websites with Flash content? I read somewhere saying since it's X86 that Flash Player won't work, though I couldn't understand why not.
Last edited by atagent; 30th April 2013 at 09:27 PM.
1st May 2013, 10:54 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fasda1984

Hi to everyone, i have bought this device too, great phablet but no chance to install Firefox or Firefox beta in order to test flashplayer. It s says damaged or invalid packet. Poor rear camera with NO flash, so guys let me change ideas about this device... i ve tried a lot of version of flash apk with no result. Please help us

I got the same error message when I tried to install Firefox. I looked at the Firefox release notes and it says Firefox does not support Android running on an Intel chip. I had not realised this was going to be a big limitation.

The Following User Says Thank You to steve271 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
fonepad, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank