5,595,815 Members 36,240 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Root for Asus Fonepad

Tip us?
 
DaveinAsia
Old
#211  
Member
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 87
Join Date: May 2013
It's not as if Asus doesn't have a history of providing support to their tablet owners by enabling them to unlock their bootloaders.




http://www.hardwaresphere.com/2012/0...-prime-tablet/

Sent from my Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to DaveinAsia For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Einreb
Old
#212  
Einreb's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Red face Can't see no prblem with 3.2.3 update

Updated last 2 days to WW 3.2.3 and still I have 59% left on last full charge and its battery stats says it 2 days 6 hrs.There's no lag or whatever, I I wiped/factory reset from 3.2.2 before and then I flash the raw file for 3.2.2 firmware. Fresh as new then updated via OTA to 3.2.3, The things is may maybe some left-over remnants of previous OTA updates,incremental updates that Asus releases. I started of with 3.11 can't remember when I first ran into my Asus Fonepad,OTA updates then finally I decided to give the full reset via SD flash and bamm!!! I can say no problems at all.BenchMarks are good and been playing NFS Most Wanted for long hrs no issues at all. But of course a boot loader unlock will be just fine to root it later,anyway enjoy folks and sure there will rooting in the few month to come.Good luck all
The Following User Says Thank You to Einreb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
botto00
Old
#213  
Member
Thanks Meter 434
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2009
Angry Good and hopeful news

I'm working with the firmware patch and have managed to introduce the SU and Busybox binaries

Through ADB works perfectly, but (and still do not know why) superuser.apk not seem to work

Forgive my English but the Spanish educational system does not provide for more
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to botto00 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MobiMikes
Old
#214  
MobiMikes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 155
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoon2002 View Post
whoever not yet upgrade 3.2.3 please don't upgrade
the new version drain the battery lots faster and keep prompt me if I want to close the application or wait for it
Been running 3.2.3 for a few days now with no issues (ww version). Try a factory reset if you're having problems as it's most likely some app you've installed.

Sent from my ME371MG
 
botto00
Old
(Last edited by botto00; 15th June 2013 at 07:35 PM.) Reason: MD5SUM and size of file
#215  
Member
Thanks Meter 434
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default Rooted !!!

After several days of study and many trials, finally works perfectly.

Here is the link for those who want to try.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bx2l...it?usp=sharing
md5sum
78d367f346473b161632a8848757df1f ME371MG_all_WW_user_V3.2.2-2.raw Size 682062228

Currently there are no version 3.2.3 WW because no file to download from the asus website.
Upgrades coming to the tablet at the time and are generated specifically for your tablet and contain patches, no binaries.

File is the version 3.2.2 WW
Install from "droidboot" as any other firmware of asus

If you find my work useful remember to click the thanks button is free

Sorry for my cherokee English
The Following 64 Users Say Thank You to botto00 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Einreb
Old
#216  
Einreb's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Is this a modified raw file?with root?
 
yodasmaster
Old
#217  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 17
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by botto00 View Post
After several days of study and many trials, finally works perfectly.

Here is the link for those who want to try.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bx2l...it?usp=sharing

File is the version 3.2.2 WW
Install from "droidboot" as any other firmware of asus

If you find my work useful remember to click the thanks button is free
Thanks botto00, root works perfectly.

Sent from my ME371MG using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yodasmaster For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Einreb
Old
#218  
Einreb's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Yes!root works fine..enjoying it right now
The Following User Says Thank You to Einreb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
f4vr
Old
#219  
f4vr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 141
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Metro Manila
Quote:
Originally Posted by botto00 View Post
After several days of study and many trials, finally works perfectly.

Here is the link for those who want to try.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bx2l...it?usp=sharing

File is the version 3.2.2 WW
Install from "droidboot" as any other firmware of asus

If you find my work useful remember to click the thanks button is free
Thanks button is missing but Thanks a lot. Working fine. Waiting for the 3.2.3 root.

Specs

Phone: LG G2
Android: Jelly Bean 4.2.2
ROM: Stock
Kernel: Stock
Baseband: Stock
Bootloader: Locked
Rooted: Yes
Launcher: Stock
Clock freq.: 2.26 GHz

The Following User Says Thank You to f4vr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
skalagix
Old
#220  
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by botto00 View Post
After several days of study and many trials, finally works perfectly.

Here is the link for those who want to try.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bx2l...it?usp=sharing

File is the version 3.2.2 WW
Install from "droidboot" as any other firmware of asus

If you find my work useful remember to click the thanks button is free

I'm really glad you were able to crack a root for fonepad users! However when trying to use this firmware update on my TW sku fonepad, it won't let me update to a different version. This is what it says
Code:
We verify checksum . . . . OK! Start check Image-SKU... 'user' - > need check
Check Image-SKU: "WW_epad' Device-SKU: 'TW_epad' . . . FAIL!!!
Do you have any ideas on how we could either get other models of Fonepad's to switch regions, or how we could root other firmware's raw files?

Tags
fonepad, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes