5,594,151 Members 46,539 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Possible design flaw with HTC one bad reception

Tip us?
 
BrianBaker
Old
#11  
BrianBaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 880
Posts: 1,989
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Apopka FL
Yeah.. I returned my One because of reception issues, mainly 4G...Voice seemed fine but 4G dropping to 3G killed this wonderful phone for me.. When my area is better saturated in LTE I will be buying the One again unless another phone is set to come out around that time.. Damn I miss that I.R. Blaster..

Sent from my Note II
<<I was a Victim of Apple patent #5,946,647>>
________________________
Phone:HTC One(M8)
ROM:Stock
Tablet:Nexus 7
Rom:Stock-Unlocked
 
Cuppeerr
Old
#12  
Cuppeerr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 808
Posts: 2,747
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grapevine, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nativeazn612 View Post
.....so I guess a concern I thought that could be fixed some way is being flagged as Samsung lover.....that's nice of the community here........

Sent from my HTCONE
Calm down, we kid.
Personal Phone: Htc One M8
Rom: Viper Rom

Business Phone: iPhone 5s
__________________
Get a Dropbox with 2.0GB of storage free, and both of us will get extra 500mb of free space!
__________________
Instagram
Twitter
__________________
Please Check Out My New Website!!!
http://www.iPhonesRx.com
__________________
If I helped you then hit the thanks button. Please and thanks
__________________
And yes, i'm a bish. Thanks deck.
 
benmatlock
Old
#13  
benmatlock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 205
Join Date: Dec 2012
I have been unable to replicate this

Sent from my rooted unlocked rommed HTC One, on the Sprint network.

 
mang0
Old
#14  
mang0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 335
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego
I am also noticing a drop in 3G (5 bars down to 2) when I rest my palm against the bottom left corner of the phone. (San Diego area) I do, unfortunately, hold my phone this way, so I'll have to change that habit!
 
Scrufdog
Old
#15  
Scrufdog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 163
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rosedale, MD
mine does it too. However, my hand is rarely at that corner so I can deal with it for now
Sprint HTC One - ViperONE 5.0, HTC EVO3D - MeanRom ICS 2.6, HTC Sprint Mogul - dcd 3.26
 
phillip1953
Old
(Last edited by phillip1953; 30th April 2013 at 03:12 PM.)
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 260
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pacific Northwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nativeazn612 View Post
There seems to be a problem with the design where if you hold the phone in a particular position you lose reception. This article gives an idea. I too can replicate this signal loss
Sent from my HTCONE http://www.gottabemobile.com/2013/04...htc-one-video/
This feature is a patent owned by Apple. For the HTC One to do this would be a blatant violation.

Your link came down to this; two guys on AT&T and one guy on Sprint. Sounds like a widespread problem, eh?

Sent via my Nexus 7, Amiga 3000 or HTC EVO 3D
The Following User Says Thank You to phillip1953 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Vincent Law
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 339
Join Date: Jun 2010
Extensive testing on my own showed that the signal bar up top is mostly meaningless. A single bar when gripping the phone resulted in no measurable loss in 3G speeds nor phone call quality, after repeating the test several times, compared to 5 bars. I was also able to make calls (and drop them) in the same areas as before, thus no perceived loss in range.
 
pbedard
Old
#18  
pbedard's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 320
Posts: 2,009
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: boston
Zero issues cuffing it on all places
 
Tilde88
Old
(Last edited by Tilde88; 1st May 2013 at 12:37 AM.)
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 209
Posts: 1,010
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Law View Post
Extensive testing on my own showed that the signal bar up top is mostly meaningless. A single bar when gripping the phone resulted in no measurable loss in 3G speeds nor phone call quality, after repeating the test several times, compared to 5 bars. I was also able to make calls (and drop them) in the same areas as before, thus no perceived loss in range.
this thread is funny. seeing as how this is a developers site, and every is acting like users :-p
i kid i kid.
but no, seriously... why is everyone looking at bars? forget the bars... stop being lazy and gave me your dbms!

for example, if you are at -45, and you 'apple-hold' it, and it goes to -120dbm, then we have issues. If it goes to -59dbm, then stop complaining, as many users have noted, bars mean nothing, not even in in-call quality terms. Those bars, to us... only indicate 1x signal. Remember we are using the HD Voice stuff now... which, unless I am wrong, operate on the 800mhz spectrum or something like that. not quite sure about that last part so don't quote me; im a little 'foggy atm' to be light. but certainly, bars mean nothing...

Slight update, using ##DEBUG#, in the 1x section, the signal goes from ~85dbm to ~113dm... so i guess that's bad, except for #1, it was already bad to begin with #2, big whoop its only 1X... anyway, ##INFO# isnt working so im looking for a dbm monitor as we speak. ill report back

Update:
Ok, the app is called Network Signal Info, by Kabits Software. It is really good, and free, and in the Play store. There is indeed a drop in my EHRPD connectoin (3g). It goes from ~83dbm to ~103dbm. Which is a drop of ~20dmbs. A little less drastic than the 1X drop of ~30dbm... But still may (keyword) be noticeable in certain situations, if you hold it a certain way. So, yea... It certainly happens, but I don't see it as an emergency problem, though it should be addressed by HTC at some point. This was done in my room, where reception is not the purdiest. Ill go outside.
 
BrianBaker
Old
#20  
BrianBaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 880
Posts: 1,989
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Apopka FL
Bars or no bars.. For me it was simple.. I didn't have 4G in areas with the One that I did with my other phone.. So it went back.

Sent from my Note II
<<I was a Victim of Apple patent #5,946,647>>
________________________
Phone:HTC One(M8)
ROM:Stock
Tablet:Nexus 7
Rom:Stock-Unlocked

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google ATAP Reveals Project Ara Developer Kits and 100K Prize Challenge

Today, Paul Eremenko from Google’s Advanced Technology and … more

Configure Your System Settings on a Per-App Basis

Do you ever like to make sure that certain device settings are enabled prior to entering a … more

How to Hack An Android App (Don’t Try This at Home) – XDA Developer TV

Listen, don’t cheat in your games. So don’t … more

Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview Now Available!

About two weeks ago at the BUILD conference in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled Windows … more