How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Possible design flaw with HTC one bad reception

OP Nativeazn612

29th April 2013, 10:09 PM   |  #11  
BrianBaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apopka FL
Thanks Meter: 885
 
2,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Yeah.. I returned my One because of reception issues, mainly 4G...Voice seemed fine but 4G dropping to 3G killed this wonderful phone for me.. When my area is better saturated in LTE I will be buying the One again unless another phone is set to come out around that time.. Damn I miss that I.R. Blaster..

Sent from my Note II
29th April 2013, 11:30 PM   |  #12  
Cuppeerr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grapevine, Texas
Thanks Meter: 821
 
2,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nativeazn612

.....so I guess a concern I thought that could be fixed some way is being flagged as Samsung lover.....that's nice of the community here........

Sent from my HTCONE

Calm down, we kid.
30th April 2013, 12:07 AM   |  #13  
benmatlock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
I have been unable to replicate this

Sent from my rooted unlocked rommed HTC One, on the Sprint network.
30th April 2013, 12:11 AM   |  #14  
mang0's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 104
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I am also noticing a drop in 3G (5 bars down to 2) when I rest my palm against the bottom left corner of the phone. (San Diego area) I do, unfortunately, hold my phone this way, so I'll have to change that habit!
30th April 2013, 01:00 PM   |  #15  
Scrufdog's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rosedale, MD
Thanks Meter: 10
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
mine does it too. However, my hand is rarely at that corner so I can deal with it for now
30th April 2013, 03:58 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Flag Pacific Northwest
Thanks Meter: 58
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nativeazn612

There seems to be a problem with the design where if you hold the phone in a particular position you lose reception. This article gives an idea. I too can replicate this signal loss
Sent from my HTCONE http://www.gottabemobile.com/2013/04...htc-one-video/

This feature is a patent owned by Apple. For the HTC One to do this would be a blatant violation.

Your link came down to this; two guys on AT&T and one guy on Sprint. Sounds like a widespread problem, eh?

Sent via my Nexus 7, Amiga 3000 or HTC EVO 3D
Last edited by phillip1953; 30th April 2013 at 04:12 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to phillip1953 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2013, 12:34 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Extensive testing on my own showed that the signal bar up top is mostly meaningless. A single bar when gripping the phone resulted in no measurable loss in 3G speeds nor phone call quality, after repeating the test several times, compared to 5 bars. I was also able to make calls (and drop them) in the same areas as before, thus no perceived loss in range.
1st May 2013, 01:01 AM   |  #18  
pbedard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag boston
Thanks Meter: 421
 
2,485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Zero issues cuffing it on all places
1st May 2013, 01:24 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Law

Extensive testing on my own showed that the signal bar up top is mostly meaningless. A single bar when gripping the phone resulted in no measurable loss in 3G speeds nor phone call quality, after repeating the test several times, compared to 5 bars. I was also able to make calls (and drop them) in the same areas as before, thus no perceived loss in range.

this thread is funny. seeing as how this is a developers site, and every is acting like users :-p
i kid i kid.
but no, seriously... why is everyone looking at bars? forget the bars... stop being lazy and gave me your dbms!

for example, if you are at -45, and you 'apple-hold' it, and it goes to -120dbm, then we have issues. If it goes to -59dbm, then stop complaining, as many users have noted, bars mean nothing, not even in in-call quality terms. Those bars, to us... only indicate 1x signal. Remember we are using the HD Voice stuff now... which, unless I am wrong, operate on the 800mhz spectrum or something like that. not quite sure about that last part so don't quote me; im a little 'foggy atm' to be light. but certainly, bars mean nothing...

Slight update, using ##DEBUG#, in the 1x section, the signal goes from ~85dbm to ~113dm... so i guess that's bad, except for #1, it was already bad to begin with #2, big whoop its only 1X... anyway, ##INFO# isnt working so im looking for a dbm monitor as we speak. ill report back

Update:
Ok, the app is called Network Signal Info, by Kabits Software. It is really good, and free, and in the Play store. There is indeed a drop in my EHRPD connectoin (3g). It goes from ~83dbm to ~103dbm. Which is a drop of ~20dmbs. A little less drastic than the 1X drop of ~30dbm... But still may (keyword) be noticeable in certain situations, if you hold it a certain way. So, yea... It certainly happens, but I don't see it as an emergency problem, though it should be addressed by HTC at some point. This was done in my room, where reception is not the purdiest. Ill go outside.
Last edited by Tilde88; 1st May 2013 at 01:37 AM.
1st May 2013, 01:44 AM   |  #20  
BrianBaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apopka FL
Thanks Meter: 885
 
2,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Bars or no bars.. For me it was simple.. I didn't have 4G in areas with the One that I did with my other phone.. So it went back.

Sent from my Note II

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes