Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,708 Members 53,694 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nervous about unlocking an XDAII

Tip us?
 
Jules John
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Default Nervous about unlocking an XDAII

Hi All,

I am thinking of purchasing an XDAII for use with a Vodafone sim. Having read some of the more recent postings, I am somewhat nervous about performing an unlock operation.....is it easy and idiot-proof?

I look forward to receiving some words to the wise, of encouragement, and for the technically not-that-savvy.

Best regards,

Jules
ops:
 
cruisin-thru
Old
#2  
cruisin-thru's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 2,750
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gloucestershire England.
The xda2 unlock is very safe because it doesnt write anything to the phone, it extracts the code and you enter it as you would if given it by your own service provider.
Thank god I am an atheist.
 
W4XY
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 137
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Earth... I think
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruisin-thru
The xda2 unlock is very safe because it doesnt write anything to the phone, it extracts the code and you enter it as you would if given it by your own service provider.
Actually this is not completely true. There are two versions for unlocking an XDA 2. Unfortunately named the same (xda2unlock.exe), but they can be found in two separate threads in this subforum. Read the first post carefully. The latest version is: http://forum.xda-developers.com/viewtopic.php?t=6963

The newer version writes a lock 00000000 to the phone and then unlocks it. However, this process is still quite secure. I have had no report of a phone not working due to unlocking. All problems were in the end related to SIM cards not working (old or blocked) or the phone itself being blocked (insurance claim). One problem that still remains is that Orange phones do not seem to unlock (but the phone remains working normally). That is being worked on.
W4XY
 
icarusbop
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 167
Join Date: Mar 2004
Don't worry about it, I did the same thing...

Bought XDAII from BT with their sim, hoping to be able to unlock it to use my company Voda sim. I was concerened that if it didn't work I would be left with a unit and phone contract i couldn't really use.

I took the chance anyway. It took me approx 3 minutes to unlock the unit and get my voda sim running. The unlock rogram worked perfect first time!
Icarusbop
 
icarusbop
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 167
Join Date: Mar 2004
Don't worry about it, I did the same thing...

Bought XDAII from BT with their sim, hoping to be able to unlock it to use my company Voda sim. I was concerened that if it didn't work I would be left with a unit and phone contract i couldn't really use.

I took the chance anyway. It took me approx 3 minutes to unlock the unit and get my voda sim running. The unlock rogram worked perfect first time!
Icarusbop
 
Jules John
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
thanks folks - much appreciated!!!!!
 
Jules John
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
thanks folks - much appreciated!!!!!
 
new star
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Is there a way to unlock a Tmobile simlock on an xda 2 ???

XDA II :cry:
ROM Ver 1.60.00WWE
ROM Date 12/03/03
Radio Ver 1.10.00
protocol Ver 1337.18
ExtRom Ver 1.60.50

Can anyone help please - I purchased a XDA II from MRT - Murphys Respectable Traders! as few weeks ago and only an 02 SIM worked.
I use T-Mobile and with the help of xda2unlock, managed to use Tmobile for 2 weeks then it stopped in/out going calls. The Sim still works in other phones though.
Is there a way to fix this ?[/b]
 
Carlos
Old
#9  
Carlos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 515
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
That doesn't sound like a SIM lock issue. Never heard of a SIM lock coming back later, and you should get an error message if it is locked, not just a call failure. You should probably post a new thread with details on your problem.
--
I like my women like I like my scotch. 15 years old and mixed up with coke.
 
plaver
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 90
Join Date: Feb 2004
Guys, Appolgies if this is seen as a thread hi-jack, not my intention.

I have XDA II with the device information
ROM version 1.60.00WWE
ROM Date 12/03/03
Radio Version 1.10.00
Protocol Version 1337.18
ExtROM Version 1.60.50

I have run the XDA II unlock exe version 2.2 and then run the unlock program on the device, it says it's unlocked, The thing is I can't get a signal from Virgin Mobile, it works fine using my o2 sim card from other XDA II, has anybody successfully unlocked and used the XDA II on the virgin network, the sim is a Pay and you Go.

Any help and advice much apreciated.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...