Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Should I map back and menu (Start) keys as home, so you could use them in B2g?
Yes 124 87.94%
No 17 12.06%
Voters: 141. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[ROM][PORT][B2G][WIP][NAND/DataonEXT/NativeSD]Boot HD2Gecko

OP feherneoh

6th May 2013, 08:21 PM   |  #1  
feherneoh's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 976
 
1,333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More


Q&A thread - post your questions here

Boot HD2Gecko - Firefox OS hits HD2

This is a WinZip ported edition of @Axel2033 's Galaxy Nexus ROM.
I used @tytung 's NexusHD2-ICS as base ROM.
The ROM includes the kernel tytung-ics.

Credits:
- HTC for HD2
- @tytung for NexusHD2
- Mozilla for FirefoxOS
- @Axel2033 for his B2G ROM I ported

Installation:
- Create an EXT4 partition on your SD card if you don't have one. You should have 2 primary partitions, first FAT, second EXT4 formatted.
- Download ROM and copy it to your SD card.
- Follow the instructions for your recovery and bootloader

Installation using CWM recovery
- Coming soon

Installation using TWRP
- Coming soon

Download links (Updated: May 31 2013 19:28):


This is a NativeSD ROM
You can install it from recovery (You must have an ext partition)
You can find kernel in "BootHD2Gecko" folder on /sdcard
In case you are using cLK, use NativeSD-TWRP to install extracted kernel.
After the Firefox logo you will get black screen. It is normal. Just wait a minute, the GUI will appear.
Installation requires ~180 MB space.

Things that does not work:
- Mobile network (SIM not detected, but STK apps are loaded, )
- Sound (When it works volume is sooooo low)
- Camera (Sometimes it works )
- Mass storage

Work in progress:
- Trying to solve SIM being not detected
- Aroma installer to be able to select keymap and installation type
- Keymaps

If you have questions, ask them here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=41302822

Want to thank me? Hit thanks, then click this: Just because I need more power
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	9536
Size:	17.6 KB
ID:	1942840   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	8755
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	1942841   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	6631
Size:	13.8 KB
ID:	1942842   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	7860
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	1942843   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	7257
Size:	23.8 KB
ID:	1942844   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	5510
Size:	28.3 KB
ID:	1942845   Click image for larger version

Name:	7.jpg
Views:	5032
Size:	22.7 KB
ID:	1942846   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-05-07-15-44-26.jpg
Views:	6239
Size:	23.5 KB
ID:	1943258   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-05-07-15-46-46.jpg
Views:	6447
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	1943259  
Last edited by feherneoh; 14th June 2013 at 07:42 PM.
The Following 122 Users Say Thank You to feherneoh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2013, 10:06 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Thank for your work sir, can I reprint it to dft.com?

Sent from my HTC HD2 using xda premium
7th May 2013, 02:22 AM   |  #3  
fengsam's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by feherneoh

Sorry for posting it here, but I think this port does not fit into any of the development threads.
This is my port of Mozilla's FirefoxOS.
It is based on NexusHD2-ICS ROM.

Credits:
- HTC for HD2
- @tytung for NexusHD2
- Mozilla for FirefoxOS
- @alex2033 for his B2G ROM I ported

Download link:



This is a NativeSD ROM
You can install it from recovery (You must have an ext partition)
Extract zImage and initrd.gz manually from the ROM .zip
In case you are using cLK, use NativeSD-TWRP to install extracted kernel.
After the HTC logo you will get black screen. It is normal. Just wait a minute, the GUI will appear.

Current version installs as NexusHD2-ICS, so DO NOT TRY to install it together with that ROM.

Things that does not work:
- Mobile network (SIM not detected, but STK apps are loaded, )
- Sound

amazing job

Sent from my HTC HD2 using xda premium
7th May 2013, 05:17 AM   |  #4  
dongbin210's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag QianJiang
Thanks Meter: 6
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Thanks for your work!try it!
7th May 2013, 05:53 AM   |  #5  
mengfei's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shenzen, China
Thanks Meter: 394
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
nice ! another one to try out for our undying HD2
thanks.
7th May 2013, 03:27 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Had Sahary
Thanks Meter: 10
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Hi thanks for give us this opportunity to try FirefoxOS.
I tried this and want to report bugs:
1- Camera, when I try take pictures it closes. and video recording not working.
2- Graphics because I tried the games and it not working and the videos are gray.
7th May 2013, 03:51 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
How can I take a screen shoot
7th May 2013, 03:56 PM   |  #8  
feherneoh's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 976
 
1,333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljp1132719438

How can I take a screen shoot

press Home and Power keys together or connect via adb and use "screenshot <filename>"
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to feherneoh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2013, 04:51 PM   |  #9  
jskenderi's Avatar
Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 27
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Thanks feherneoh! It's great to see FirefoxOS on HD2.

Maybe a mod should set up a new OS section? feherneoh did you asked one?

Cheers
The Following User Says Thank You to jskenderi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2013, 05:21 PM   |  #10  
feherneoh's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 976
 
1,333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jskenderi

Thanks feherneoh! It's great to see FirefoxOS on HD2.

Maybe a mod should set up a new OS section? feherneoh did you asked one?

Cheers

I won't ask until this becomes usable

Sent from my NexusHD2 using xda app-developers app

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to feherneoh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes