How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Overclocking XDA2 to 796 Mhz!

OP mamaich

19th July 2004, 06:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 214
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
Donate to Me
After playing with PocketHackMaster, XCPUScalar I've found that noone of them was able to overclock my device reliably. So I've wrote my own program that uses undocummented OEMSetCpuFrequency IOCTL of NK.EXE. Program can be downloaded from http://mamaich.kasone.com/imate/Overclock.rar
I can send source code on request. Use this program at your own risk and backup before running it.
Program allows to manually adjust L, M, N parameters for Imate running 1.72 ROM (I have not tested older ROMs). The L parameter modifies SDRAM frequency (36 is a maximal value for my device), M - is a CPU frequency multiplier (shoul be left as a 4), N is a turbo mode for a normal mode multiplier. Setting its value to 1.5 makes the device work slower (though reported speed by PocketHackMaster and other tools is 796Mhz). My best results are 36/4/1 (530 Mhz) as shown on screenshots:

.

You may try other values. The smaller values may give the higher speed.
19th July 2004, 08:54 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2004
Cool..I'm trying it out...seems faster...but is it my mind playing tricks?
I'm using 1.66 and i set the overclock same as above.

I tried it many times and most of the benchmarks readings differ a bit.
Anyhow Checkout my test results....


Standard XDAII___________________After Overclock



Hmm...seems like the Standard XDAII is giving better results...but then again, I really dunno what all this mean....

Can someone explain it to me...errr in simple english please?

And one more thing,seems like the settings will change back everytime it is closed (by clicking 'OK' on top). Is the oveclock still running then?
19th July 2004, 10:18 AM   |  #3  
unapproachable2kx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
Very thankful Mamaich! ..You are a good man..respect you.

Ser
20th July 2004, 12:34 AM   |  #4  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 214
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
Donate to Me
I have not tested old ROMs like 1.66, but in my 1.72 overclocking is kept after the program is closed. Overclocking may reset after device goes into sleep state or when inserted into cradle. This is not tested.
Overclocking to 796 Mhs makes the device work slower than on 530 Mhz, I don't know why.
20th July 2004, 10:07 AM   |  #5  
draxos's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2004
mamaich ..

Does it Work "Reliably" on the XDA-1, Running ROM Ver 3.17.03 ??

Thanx
20th July 2004, 12:30 PM   |  #6  
unapproachable2kx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
Yeah,it takes the speed you choosed when you tep OK on 1.72 ROM.
My problem is that on 530Mhz my XDA2 freezes on Hard Processing Applications..like Windows Media Player,Pocket Quake,Etc..
Do you think is related to applications I have in background like: Spb Pocket Plus-MultIE and Caller ID monitor?
Someone can confirm that your ppc runs with no problems on 530mhz and more? if yes,what app do you have in background?
thanx
20th July 2004, 12:35 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 3
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2004
I think it is the same with overclocking computers... has to do with the fact that every processor is a different grade, all can run the 400mhz no problem, but only a few can do 530 without crashing.

Crashing or resetting is a sign that you've gone too far; usually you can overcome this by increasing the voltage of the CPU, but don't have that option in PPC.
20th July 2004, 01:22 PM   |  #8  
unapproachable2kx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
I've asked this because many users runs 530mhz and more frequencies without problems.
That annoing me..I've removed all the background progs.. Tested many times with GX Benchmark whitout probs but when I run Windows Media Player it freezes after 30-40 sec.
Note: Only if I play a video file,like 300kbps..
Or if I play Quake,it freezes instantly.
In Os menu it runs very fast,but ..who want that if u can't run great games with this Clock.. :?
Let me know if your XDA2 supports this,maybe try also play a videofile about 300kbps for a minute..and let me know..

thanx
20th July 2004, 02:02 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2004
Using XCPUScalar I can run most things including games very well @472 and 530, but at neither Windows Media Player nor Pocket Player seem to like it. They'll often go to the next song 10-seconds to 1 minutes into it, and sometimes it will shut itself down. I would seriosuly recommend against overclocking to 700+ Mhz though unless you enjoy buying new phones.
20th July 2004, 02:21 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 3
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2004
I had the same problem with overclocking my Audiovox PPC 5050 to 530MHz. It would freeze after a few minutes of playing MP3s.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes