Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,436 Members 45,340 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC One M7 stuck in boot loop

Tip us?
 
phillenium17
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2013
Default [Q] HTC One M7 stuck in boot loop

Hi,
I used Hasoon's all in one tool to successfully unlock the bootloader on my One, and flashed a recovery (TWRP).

When I went to install a kernel (Bulletproof) I messed up and installed the boot.img file from bulletproof instead of loading it through recovery (dumb i know).

Now my phone just constantly reboots itself, it gets to the HTC splash screen for less than a second, and then reboots again. Holding down power + volume down does nothing either.

Can anyone help or suggest anything please?
 
nullkill
Old
(Last edited by nullkill; 15th May 2013 at 04:54 PM.)
#2  
nullkill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 358
Posts: 1,371
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillenium17 View Post
Hi,
I used Hasoon's all in one tool to successfully unlock the bootloader on my One, and flashed a recovery (TWRP).

When I went to install a kernel (Bulletproof) I messed up and installed the boot.img file from bulletproof instead of loading it through recovery (dumb i know).

Now my phone just constantly reboots itself, it gets to the HTC splash screen for less than a second, and then reboots again. Holding down power + volume down does nothing either.

Can anyone help or suggest anything please?
Try holding just volume down. Do you know how to use ADB? if you time it right a fastboot reboot-bootloader will get you to bootloader or you can do it through the all in one toolkit you will have to close the first window at the right time and it will send the command for you.

And some light reading pertaining to your issue

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=boot+loop
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=boot+loop
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=boot+loop
Rooting or flashing a custom ROM on your phone does not affect warranty http://www.xda-developers.com/xda-tv...t-void-xda-tv/
The Following User Says Thank You to nullkill For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phillenium17
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullkill View Post
Try holding just volume down. Do you know how to use ADB? if you time it right a fastboot reboot-bootloader will get you to bootloader or you can do it through the all in one toolkit you will have to close the first window at the right time and it will send the command for you.

And some light reading pertaining to your issue

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=boot+loop
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=boot+loop
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=boot+loop
Tried just volume down and same result, HTC splash screen for less than a second and reboot. I've not used ADB before, can you give me a link to download it? Or, in the all in one tool which command am I using? "ADB Sideload a ROM" from the extras box?
 
nullkill
Old
(Last edited by nullkill; 15th May 2013 at 05:19 PM.)
#4  
nullkill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 358
Posts: 1,371
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillenium17 View Post
Tried just volume down and same result, HTC splash screen for less than a second and reboot. I've not used ADB before, can you give me a link to download it? Or, in the all in one tool which command am I using? "ADB Sideload a ROM" from the extras box?
Well looks like it's time to learn.

First thing that just might make this easy. In the all in one under commands there is Erase Cache. Click on that hit the ok button and then close the first window. Next windows will say waiting for device now with a little luck upon one of the reboots it will catch the device and wipe the cache. That should then allow you to hold volume down and get into the bootloader. If not let me know and we will proceed to option 2
Rooting or flashing a custom ROM on your phone does not affect warranty http://www.xda-developers.com/xda-tv...t-void-xda-tv/
The Following User Says Thank You to nullkill For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phillenium17
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2013
Read through those threads and the first one was the closest to my problem.

Tried the Boot into Bootloader and Erase Cache commands from the All in One tool and both just give me "device not detected" errors. Tried them multiple times during the phone booting up, but its not even being detected by my PC.

I can't even turn the bloody thing off it just sits there on my desk buzzing every time to restarts itself.
 
phillenium17
Old
(Last edited by phillenium17; 15th May 2013 at 05:30 PM.) Reason: manners
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullkill View Post
Well looks like it's time to learn.

First thing that just might make this easy. In the all in one under commands there is Erase Cache. Click on that hit the ok button and then close the first window. Next windows will say waiting for device now with a little luck upon one of the reboots it will catch the device and wipe the cache. That should then allow you to hold volume down and get into the bootloader. If not let me know and we will proceed to option 2
No luck, left the second window sitting there but it's not picking it up at all, show me option 2 please
 
nullkill
Old
(Last edited by nullkill; 15th May 2013 at 06:14 PM.)
#7  
nullkill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 358
Posts: 1,371
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillenium17 View Post
No luck, left the second window sitting there but it's not picking it up at all, show me option 2 please
Sorry watching the google IO man some cool new things are coming

Ok now down to business. I am guessing your computer is all set up and you have drivers as you already installed a recovery. So do to the all in one toolkit then go into the data folder once there hold down Ctrl and shift and right click on empty space. You will get a option to Open Command Windows Here do that. A black dos command box will pop up. type

fastboot reboot-bootloader

it should say waiting for device

Nevermind that's not going to work. Try this when your phone is starting up hold the power button until screen goes black then immediately hold down volume down and don't let go. Try with the phone plugged in to computer and without
Rooting or flashing a custom ROM on your phone does not affect warranty http://www.xda-developers.com/xda-tv...t-void-xda-tv/
The Following User Says Thank You to nullkill For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phillenium17
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullkill View Post
Sorry watching the google IO man some cool new things are coming

Ok now down to business. I am guessing your computer is all set up and you have drivers as you already installed a recovery. So do to the all in one toolkit then go into the data folder once there hold down Ctrl and shift and right click on empty space. You will get a option to Open Command Windows Here do that. A black dos command box will pop up. type

fastboot reboot-bootloader

it should say waiting for device

Nevermind that's not going to work. Try this when your phone is starting up hold the power button until screen goes black then immediately hold down volume down and don't let go. Try with the phone plugged in to computer and without
I left the phone in the office overnight and it must have drained the battery enough to kill the boot loop. Was able to get to the bootloader screen this morning when I checked before leaving for work.

So reflash recovery you think or should I factory reset it and start again?
 
nullkill
Old
#9  
nullkill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 358
Posts: 1,371
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillenium17 View Post
I left the phone in the office overnight and it must have drained the battery enough to kill the boot loop. Was able to get to the bootloader screen this morning when I checked before leaving for work.

So reflash recovery you think or should I factory reset it and start again?
I would reflash custom recovery do it a couple times and after that wipe the cache. Power down the device and then turn it back on and go to recovery.

Make sure it has a decent charge on it like 30%, 50 would be best.
Rooting or flashing a custom ROM on your phone does not affect warranty http://www.xda-developers.com/xda-tv...t-void-xda-tv/
 
phillenium17
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullkill View Post
I would reflash custom recovery do it a couple times and after that wipe the cache. Power down the device and then turn it back on and go to recovery.

Make sure it has a decent charge on it like 30%, 50 would be best.
So something like TWRP in the all in one? Thanks for your help on this too nullkill.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes