Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Tips]Android Studio not starting, tips here.

OP lolrenx

16th May 2013, 08:24 AM   |  #1  
lolrenx's Avatar
OP Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 41
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Hello,

I ran into a couple problems having android studio to install and work. thought I'd share my findings!

First, it wouldn't install. Not finding Java JDK even though it was installed.
This is solved by changing the name of C:\Windows\System32\Java.exe to something else before the installation.
Don't forget to change it back to java.exe once installed.

After installing Android studio, it wouldn't run (normal or admin didn't change a thing).
You will need to create a system environment variable named JDK_HOME with your JDK installation path (in my case C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_21\ ).
Android studio should now launch. (more help here )

Now that Android Studio launches, it asks for the latest android SDK
Just download and install the SDK 22 from Here

make sure you run the .exe as administrator after installation

NB :
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbarrera

For those having issues starting Android Studio in some Linux distros, such as Studio not finding JAVA_HOME, JDK_HOME, STUDIO_JDK, set any of those variables to the directory where Java is installed (e.g. /usr/java/jdk1.7.0_21) previously to the whole validation statements in the startup shell file (studio.sh) and everything should be fine...

Hope this saves some head scratching !
Last edited by lolrenx; 31st May 2013 at 02:21 PM.
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to lolrenx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2013, 10:04 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:

After installing Android studio, it wouldn't run (normal or admin didn't change a thing).
You will need to create a system environment variable named JDK_HOME with your JDK installation path (in my case C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_21\ ). Android studion should now launch. (more help here )

worked perfectly for me. Thanks
16th May 2013, 10:23 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Thumbs up Perfect!
Worked for me too...thanks for saving time.
The Following User Says Thank You to anishjhaveri For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2013, 01:01 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Unhappy Window 7 with jdk 1.6
Quote:
Originally Posted by anishjhaveri

Worked for me too...thanks for saving time.

Does Android Studio requires JDK 7 or greater ?? coz i have JDK 1.6 on my Windows 7 it doesnt start up even after setting JDK_HOME or JAVA_HOME. http://forum.xda-developers.com/images/icons/icon9.gif
16th May 2013, 02:14 PM   |  #5  
craig@xatik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Twin Cities, MN
Thanks Meter: 232
 
254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhucm

Does Android Studio requires JDK 7 or greater ?? coz i have JDK 1.6 on my Windows 7 it doesnt start up even after setting JDK_HOME or JAVA_HOME. http://forum.xda-developers.com/images/icons/icon9.gif

It should work fine on 1.6.
Maybe it depends if you're 32bit or 64bit?

My personal setup is Windows 8 64 bit running the 64bit version of Java 1.7.


Also, for the SDK issues, if you already have the SDK installed from using Eclipse, you can just point Android Studio to that SDK under Project Settings or something (I forget the exact wording of the setting and I'm not at my computer right now...)
16th May 2013, 02:18 PM   |  #6  
se0siris's Avatar
Member
Flag Manchester, UK
Thanks Meter: 5
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Thank you! I was having trouble getting Android Studio to start once installed. Setting JDK_HOME fixed this.
16th May 2013, 04:27 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Im using Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit and set the JDK_HOME variable but it wont start...

/Edit: it works now.
Last edited by Gingerbread23; 16th May 2013 at 10:50 PM.
17th May 2013, 12:15 PM   |  #8  
bentech4u's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Thumbs up
HI

Thanks for this tips.

working fine for me
17th May 2013, 04:06 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Indore, India
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
If someone is just beginning app development, starting with hello world app. Would you recommend him eclipse or android studio?

Sent from my HTC Desire S using xda app-developers app
Last edited by 13th Dev; 17th May 2013 at 04:15 PM.
17th May 2013, 05:55 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
I'm having a small issue with Android Studio for Mac, and was wondering if anyone was running into a similar issue or has any advice.

When running my application, I'm getting an error on the install, specifically a Failure: [install_failed_invalid_apk].

I'm sure it's something really simple and elementary, but it wasn't an error I'm familiar with seeing coming from Eclipse.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adt, android studio, jdk
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes