Post Reply

How to SIM unlock Samsung Galaxy S4 SGH-M919 (tested - works) - Updated: 7/2/13

OP kaleido

17th May 2013, 03:34 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 189
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Hi Everyone,

I'm a long time lurker and benefited greatly from the postings here at xda.
So I'd like to contribute something back.

After trying many methods and reading all the posts in the various S4 forums, I finally found a way for SIM unlock that works for me.

I have tested it, and it works on my T-Mobile S4.

Credit to these posts:
FAQ:
  • Is this for real? Does it really unlock?
    YES! Many people have tried it, and most people have successes.
    If you are having problems with the unlock process, please read the rest of the FAQ.
  • Will this SIM unlock work on my model of Galaxy S4 that is not T-Mobile (SGH-M919)?
    This unlock has been tried on the T-Mobile (USA) version of the phone, if you're coming from any other model, YMMV, it might or might not work.
    That being said, many others have tried it on the AT&T model, and on the international I9505 with success.
  • Do I need to be on stock rom?
    Yes, you need to be on stock rom for this to work.
    One of the main causes of failure to unlock is people not flashing back to stock rom first. The reason is the special dial codes only work on stock roms.
  • Is the unlock permanent? Do the unlock last through reboot/reflash/etc.?
    Yes, the unlock is permanent.
    You can reflash a custom rom, or do anything you want to the phone, and the unlock will stay.
  • In step 7, my phone is already "SHA256_ENABLED_FLAG[0]", what should I do?
    Great, this is the setting you want.
    It means your phone already allows you to make some settings changes, it DOES NOT mean your phone is already unlocked.
    You should continue with the rest of the process until the last step.
  • In step 14, backup missing.
    If the golden backup doesn't exist, try the work around found by GrndSers-Rcng:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=292
  • How do I know the unlock is successful?
    If your phone is not unlocked, when you put in an unauthorized SIM card, a dialog pops up on your phone asking you to enter the unlock code.
    If you're successful with this procedure, there would be no popup dialog asking for the unlock code when you put in any SIM card.

Here are the steps:
  1. Goto phone dailer, and enter *#27663368378# for the debug service menu.
  2. In "ServiceMode", select [1] UMTS
  3. In "UMTS MAIN MENU", select [1] DEBUG SCREEN
  4. In "DEBUG SCREEN", select [6] PHONE CONTROL
  5. In "PHONE CONTROL", select [6] NETWORK LOCK
  6. In "NETWORK LOCK", select [3] PERSO SHA256 OFF
    It should show:
    SHA256_ENABLED_FLAG[1]
    SHA256_OFF => SHA256_ON
  7. Now touch the first line SHA256_ENABLED_FLAG[1]
    It should show:
    MENU NOT EXIST
    PRESS BACK KEY
    Current Command is 116631
  8. Now press the menu button and select "Back"
    It should show:
    SHA256_ENABLED_FLAG[0]
    SHA256_OFF => Not Change
  9. Again, press the menu button and select "Back", and you're back in the "NETWORK LOCK" screen
  10. Press the menu button and select "Back", and you're in the "PHONE CONTROL" screen
  11. Press the menu button and select "Back", and you're in the "DEBUG SCREEN" screen
  12. Finally, press the menu button and select "Back", and you're back in the "UMTS MAIN MENU" screen
  13. Select [6] COMMON
  14. In "COMMON" screen, select [6] NV REBUILD
    Now you are in the "NV REBUILD" screen, you should see the following text:
    ------------------------------
    Golden-Backup exist
    You can Restore Cal/NV
    ------------------------------
  15. Now for the final step.
    In "NV REBUILD" screen, select [4] Restore Back-up
    The button lights for menu and back should come on, and the phone will auto reboot in a few seconds.
    Note: chavxxx's post of selecting "[1] Load default NV" DID NOT work for me.

Congratulations, your phone is now unlocked.
Stick in a sim card from a different carrier and try it out.

Please post followups of your experience with this unlock method.

Thanks, and good luck!
Last edited by kaleido; 2nd July 2013 at 04:12 PM. Reason: Corrected typos
The Following 186 Users Say Thank You to kaleido For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2013, 05:45 PM   |  #2  
wavrunrx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 379
 
920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
no way; is this for real ?
im already unlocked, can someone confirm this ?
rock on dude.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wavrunrx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2013, 06:00 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
the last step, does it somehow reset your phone back to stock?
The Following User Says Thank You to MMakoto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2013, 06:24 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
it tells me Back-up not exist cause I pressed erase back up by accident
17th May 2013, 06:26 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I've gotta find someone with a SIM from another carrier first...

Will check back with update.
The Following User Says Thank You to cavemaneca For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2013, 07:12 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 51
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
i just did this, it rebooted. I need to find a ATT sim ASAP
17th May 2013, 07:15 PM   |  #7  
dragonofnone's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
i have tried on my t-mobile galalxy s4,it works..thx for your help!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to dragonofnone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2013, 07:25 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 51
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
update, it did not work

---------- Post added at 11:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:21 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nismo35

update, it did not work

are u guys running the new baseband?
17th May 2013, 07:27 PM   |  #9  
marcoveli's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbia
Thanks Meter: 16
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavrunrx

no way; is this for real ?
im already unlocked, can someone confirm this ?
rock on dude.

yes it works dude wow

---------- Post added at 07:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:26 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaleido

Hi Everyone,

I'm a long time lurker and benefited greatly from the postings here at xda.
So I'd like to contribute something back.

After trying many methods and reading all the posts in the various S4 forums, I finally found a way for SIM unlock that works for me.

I have tested it, and it works on my T-Mobile S4.

Credit to these posts:


Here are the steps:
  1. Goto phone dailer, and enter *#27663368378# for the debug service menu.
  2. In "ServiceMode", select [1] UMTS
  3. In "UMTS MAIN MENU", select [1] DEBUG SCREEN
  4. In "DEBUG SCREEN", select [6] PHONE CONTROL
  5. In "PHONE CONTROL", select [6] NETWORK LOCK
  6. In "NETWORK LOCK", select [3] PERSO SHA256 OFF
    It should show:
    SHA256_ENABLED_FLAG[1]
    SHA256_OFF => SHA256_ON
  7. Now touch the first line SHA256_ENABLED_FLAG[1]
    It should show:
    MENU NOT EXIST
    PRESS BACK KEY
    Current Command is 116631
  8. Now press the menu button and select "Back"
    It should show:
    SHA256_ENABLED_FLAG[0]
    SHA256_OFF => Not Change
  9. Again, press the menu button and select "Back", and you're back in the "NETWORK LOCK" screen
  10. Press the menu button and select "Back", and you're in the "PHONE CONTROL" screen
  11. Press the menu button and select "Back", and you're in the "DEBUG SCREEN" screen
  12. Finally, press the menu button and select "Back", and you're back in the "UMTS MAIN MENU" screen
  13. Select [6] COMMON
  14. In "COMMON" screen, select [6] NV REBUILD
    Now you are in the "NV REBUILD" screen, you should see the following text:
    ------------------------------
    Golden-Backup exist
    You can Restore Cal/NV
    ------------------------------
  15. Now for the final step.
    In "NV REBUILD" screen, select [4] Restore Back-up
    The button lights for menu and back should come on, and the phone will auto reboot in a few seconds.
    Note: chavxxx's post of selecting "[1] Load default NV" DID NOT work for me.

Congratulations, your phone is now unlocked.
Stick in a sim card from a different carrier and try it out.

Please post followups of your experience with this unlock method.

Thanks, and good luck!

thank you dude i was so close to buy the unlock code thanks again u rock
The Following User Says Thank You to marcoveli For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2013, 07:30 PM   |  #10  
TheAtheistOtaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 296
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
connection problem or invalid mmi code

thats the message i get when i dial the number in the first step

should i be on complete stock?
im running wicked version 2 right now
Last edited by TheAtheistOtaku; 17th May 2013 at 07:38 PM.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TheAtheistOtaku For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
sim unlock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S 4 General by ThreadRank