Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,354 Members 44,005 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] [Root] How To Spoof The Mac Address Of Any Android Device

Tip us?
 
ih8legal
Old
(Last edited by ih8legal; 20th May 2013 at 07:48 PM.)
#1  
ih8legal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 133
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default [Guide] [Root] How To Spoof The Mac Address Of Any Android Device

Requirements
1. Rooted Phone
2. Busybox installed
3. Mac Address Ghost app
4. A brain

------Disclaimer-------
I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards, thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please do some research if you have any questions before modifying your phone. YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you. Hard. A lot.
------Disclaimer-------

About the requirements.

1.You need to root your device.
In order to do that search Google with - insert your device's model number here- root. Or you can search XDA, which is where Google will probably lead you to.

2.You need to have busybox installed. Most custom ROMS already have it installed. But if you don't have it installed this app here does an awesome job and doesn't require an internet connection. Just select the latest version and install it.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ybox.installer

3. You need this app here
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...land.changemac

Instructions

Follow these exactly or it won't work.

1. Open the Mac Address Ghost app
2. Click on the wrench icon on the right.
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1368994301607.jpg
Views:	6002
Size:	34.9 KB
ID:	1975172
3. Click on add.
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1368994427652.jpg
Views:	4717
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	1975175
4. Now fill in the blanks
The profile name doesn't matter.
In the 2nd blank put in wlan0 if you have a newer phone. If it doesn't work later, put in eth0 and it should work.
In the 3rd blank put in the mac address you want to change to. It will automatically capitalize and input colons.
5. Now click OK and save.
6. Close the app.
7. Open your wifi settings.
8. Long press on the network you want to connect to and click forget. If the option to forget doesn't show up its because it's already forgotten.
9. Open Mac Address Ghost again.
10 . click on the big button and select your address from the list (probably the first one)
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1368994628536.jpg
Views:	5352
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	1975184
11. Press the button that says "Classic"
12. This is important. You will be prompted to give superuser permissions to Mac Address Ghost. If you have The old Superuser that looks like this Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1368994677518.jpg
Views:	2825
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	1975185 then check remember. If you have the new ClockworkMod superuser then check "This time only". Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1368994710675.jpg
Views:	2663
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	1975186
13. the app will then open wifi settings where you can select the appropriate network to connect to.


The new mac address is temporary and only lasts till you turn wifi off or reboot.
To change your mac address again repeat process starting with step 7.

Please report back with your success or failure. I do know that on gingerbread devices you don't have to forget the network every time. I have only tested this on Gingerbread and Jellybean so far.

Feel free to press the thanks button if I helped you.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to ih8legal For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
androite
Old
#2  
androite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 228
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Durg
Buddy I think you dont know, after changing MAC Address the network doesnt work.
Changing MAC is illegal.

Sent from Earth

My MOD :
LynxAudio - Experience HD quality Sound


PORT :
Bravia Engine 3
 
ih8legal
Old
(Last edited by ih8legal; 20th May 2013 at 06:42 PM.)
#3  
ih8legal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 133
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by androite View Post
Buddy I think you dont know, after changing MAC Address the network doesnt work.
Changing MAC is illegal.

Sent from Earth
I don't know what you mean. The network doesn't work. What do you mean by that?
And spoofing or changing the mac address of a device isn't illegal in itself. But what you do with your spoofed mac address could be. If you use it to access an internet connection with multiple devices that you only paid for one then it's illegal.

Sent from the internetlands where moneys means nothing and we are judged by our intellect.
The Following User Says Thank You to ih8legal For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
orthonovum
Old
#4  
orthonovum's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 264
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ih8legal View Post
I don't know what you mean. The network doesn't work. What do you mean by that?
And spoofing or changing the mac address of a device isn't illegal in itself. But what you do with your spoofed mac address could be. If you use it to access an internet connection with multiple devices that you only paid for one then it's illegal.

Sent from the internetlands where moneys means nothing and we are judged by our intellect.
everytime I see someone say that changing your MAC is illegal i facepalm... anyway, the issue is that when you change the MAC you are no longer able to authenticate to your wifi AP it will sit at authenticating, at least this is what happens for me (dd-wrt)
 
ih8legal
Old
#5  
ih8legal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 133
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by orthonovum View Post
everytime I see someone say that changing your MAC is illegal i facepalm... anyway, the issue is that when you change the MAC you are no longer able to authenticate to your wifi AP it will sit at authenticating, at least this is what happens for me (dd-wrt)
Turning WiFi off and then on again will reset your Mac to original. If it sits authenticating then you probably don't have an allowed Mac address on that particular network.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
 
orthonovum
Old
#6  
orthonovum's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 264
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ih8legal View Post
Turning WiFi off and then on again will reset your Mac to original. If it sits authenticating then you probably don't have an allowed Mac address on that particular network.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
yeah getting back to original is no sweat, but the sitting at authenticating is not related to MAC filtering, in fact my router is not setup to filter MACs and a quick google shows this is a very common issue. Personally I don't care or need to change my MAC but it's just something of interest to follow
 
ravissimo
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2011
So I'm at a hotel and I've successfully used my rooted SGS3 as a WiFi hotspot to connect my Nexus 7 and Chromecast and watch Netflix on the hotel TV. While it works great since I get roughly ~24Mbps down and I have Sprint, so unlimited LTE, I was trying to get this working through the hotel WiFi. While my Nexus 7 connects to the hotel WiFi, it requires a login via the hotel website, but the WiFi is otherwise unprotected.

I used this guide and the ghost Mac address app and I thought it worked because after I spoofed the chromecast's Mac address on my SGS3, I got a new alert to log in to the hotel's WiFi network. I logged in and assumed the device was authorized and then reverted my phone's Mac address to normal and reconnected the Chromecast to the TV (I had it unplugged while I was spoofing it on my phone). While it seemed to work, I still can't get the Chromecast connected to the hotel WiFi. It just keeps saying it can't connect to the WiFi network.

Has anyone else tried this and had success? Or does anyone else know if this is a limitation of the Chromecast? I know all of the devices work since they work at home but also via WiFi tether on my phone. Suggestions?
 
ih8legal
Old
#8  
ih8legal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 133
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravissimo View Post
So I'm at a hotel and I've successfully used my rooted SGS3 as a WiFi hotspot to connect my Nexus 7 and Chromecast and watch Netflix on the hotel TV. While it works great since I get roughly ~24Mbps down and I have Sprint, so unlimited LTE, I was trying to get this working through the hotel WiFi. While my Nexus 7 connects to the hotel WiFi, it requires a login via the hotel website, but the WiFi is otherwise unprotected.

I used this guide and the ghost Mac address app and I thought it worked because after I spoofed the chromecast's Mac address on my SGS3, I got a new alert to log in to the hotel's WiFi network. I logged in and assumed the device was authorized and then reverted my phone's Mac address to normal and reconnected the Chromecast to the TV (I had it unplugged while I was spoofing it on my phone). While it seemed to work, I still can't get the Chromecast connected to the hotel WiFi. It just keeps saying it can't connect to the WiFi network.

Has anyone else tried this and had success? Or does anyone else know if this is a limitation of the Chromecast? I know all of the devices work since they work at home but also via WiFi tether on my phone. Suggestions?
I'm not sure how that would work because the chromecast would still have to go through the hotel's login page which it doesn't support. I don't think those login pages remember Mac addresses and allow them in without relogin.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk 4
 
ravissimo
Old
(Last edited by ravissimo; 19th August 2013 at 05:19 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2011
Well I'm not sure what is or isn't remembered in their system, but as I've disconnected both my phone and laptop from the hotel WiFi and then reconnected, I *don't* get their login page again. And when I did spoof the Chromecast Mac address on my phone, I immediately got the login page again, so clearly the mac address is used as the identifier for devices and clearly there's at least several hours, likely a day, or more for temporary Mac address authorization. Not sure what else could be the problem. I think it might just be a Chromecast issue.
The Following User Says Thank You to ravissimo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
palika
Old
(Last edited by palika; 25th August 2013 at 06:07 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2008
You can change your MAC, if you does not change the vendor byte, first 6 hex, but it wont connect to wifi AP.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more