Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Galaxy S4 APNs for AT&T

OP jedinegotiator

21st May 2013, 03:21 PM   |  #1  
jedinegotiator's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fairfax, VA
Thanks Meter: 23
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I just got my Galaxy S4 yesterday and I am working on optimising it for speed and performance. One of the things that I noticed in the network settings is that I think I APN is set incorrectly.

I have a Nexus 4 and in order to get the best data speed I had to use the AT&T LTE APN or (PTA). I am assuming this should be the same on the Galaxy S4 yet when I go into my APN settings I have the AT&T PHONE APN.

It is my understanding that the Phone APN can only get HSPA+ and not LTE. Since this is an LTE phone shouldn't we use the PTA LTE APN?
21st May 2013, 03:38 PM   |  #2  
daraj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida, USA
Thanks Meter: 172
 
1,629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
I have ATT Phone as APN and I get LTE. Not sure about the other one you mentioned.
The Following User Says Thank You to daraj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2013, 03:42 PM   |  #3  
jedinegotiator's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fairfax, VA
Thanks Meter: 23
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daraj

I have ATT Phone as APN and I get LTE. Not sure about the other one you mentioned.

Maybe the PHONE APN is capable of receiving LTE but I am curious if the PTA APN would get faster data speeds.

RootzWiki http://rootzwiki.com/topic/31135-att...r-custom-roms/

This post indicates that the PTA APN gets (All the Mbps)
21st May 2013, 03:56 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Mine is using the PHONE APN and i have no problems getting LTE. Just did a speed test and i'm getting speeds of 50+Mbps over LTE so it seems to be working fine for me.
21st May 2013, 05:11 PM   |  #5  
Jragyn's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
PHONE is an APN that AT&T umbrella'd all types of data connectivity under. PHONE will automatically choose to connect to the fastest available network in your area. PTA is what they were putting on phones when LTE phones were first being released, but since then, PHONE is the primary APN one should be using. Using PTA won't hurt anything, and should work fine, but why bother if PHONE is already programmed in there.

At least, that's what they the us at my AT&T Data Support call center I work at :/

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using xda premium
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jragyn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2013, 05:23 PM   |  #6  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 2,785
 
5,605 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jragyn

PHONE is an APN that AT&T umbrella'd all types of data connectivity under. PHONE will automatically choose to connect to the fastest available network in your area. PTA is what they were putting on phones when LTE phones were first being released, but since then, PHONE is the primary APN one should be using. Using PTA won't hurt anything, and should work fine, but why bother if PHONE is already programmed in there.

At least, that's what they the us at my AT&T Data Support call center I work at :/

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using xda premium

And which is true.
22nd May 2013, 10:50 AM   |  #7  
henrybravo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tulsa, OK
Thanks Meter: 618
 
1,641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Just FYI, on the HTC One there is absolutely no speed difference between the pta and phone apn's.
The Following User Says Thank You to henrybravo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd May 2013, 06:04 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Can anyone post the PHONE APN setting, I am T-Mobile unlocked on AT&T need to enter that APN manually. Thanks!

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
22nd May 2013, 07:02 PM   |  #9  
pakxelaos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Elgin, IL
Thanks Meter: 47
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Here:
Name: ATT Phone
APN: phone
Proxy: Not set
Port : Not set
User name: Not set
Password: Not set
Server: Not set
MMSC: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net
MMS proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
MMS port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 410
Authentication type: None
APN type: default,mms,supl,hipri
APN protocol: IPv4
APN roaming protocol: IPv4
Enable/disable APN: APN enabled
Bearer: Unspecified
Last edited by pakxelaos; 30th August 2013 at 06:52 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to pakxelaos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd May 2013, 07:24 PM   |  #10  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,849
 
7,575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thanks, that's what i got. wasn't sure if there is an issue as i never see hspa+ in dayton. at least not yet. it is an hspa+ area. so wondering what the issue is--

only hspa 11 and hspap 15

NOT 4g speeds as advertised

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes