FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[GT-I9500] CF-Auto-Root

9,735 posts
Thanks Meter: 61,732
 
By Chainfire, Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt? on 23rd May 2013, 10:05 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
15th July 2013, 01:39 PM |#161  
alphamars's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Help needed to unroot s4 i9500
Guys I root using chainfire auto root.. Now I need to unroot to get OTA. Plz guys can anybody give me a step by step guide line on how to manually get OTA. Here is a screenshot of my i9500.

Sent from my GT-I9500
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1373891956313.jpg
Views:	940
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	2117899  
Last edited by alphamars; 15th July 2013 at 08:51 PM.
 
 
15th July 2013, 02:25 PM |#162  
Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Thumbs up Works on BMG1 as well.. :)
Hi All,

Tried it on BMG1 and it works great.
16th July 2013, 01:53 PM |#163  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 159
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paarkhi

Qualcomm S4 doesn't have the hidden binary counter AFAIK

Yes it does, triangle away can read it though. On the I9500 the partition containing the count can still be read, just not written to. If you wrote an application to read and parse the mmcblk0boot0 partition on your phone you could view the counter as well. There is little point though.
Alternatively you could just dump it and read the results from an hex editor.

So yes, it's there, just hidden from pain sight.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using xda premium
Last edited by mathieulh; 16th July 2013 at 01:58 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to mathieulh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th July 2013, 02:36 PM |#164  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphamars

Guys I root using chainfire auto root.. Now I need to unroot to get OTA. Plz guys can anybody give me a step by step guide line on how to manually get OTA. Here is a screenshot of my i9500.

Sent from my GT-I9500

I did try the Vietnam MEA (flashed thru Odin) then did factory reset from stock recovery. After which had OTA with MF8. After it was installed, an OTA with MG1 follows.
17th July 2013, 01:05 PM |#165  
alphamars's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I'm very confuse here. My device status shows official when I'm rooted using chainfire auto root. When I try to get update it tells me that I have d latest update which is not correct. I would like to know what to do to get updates. Here's a screen shot of my device. If I factory format the fone & do a dalvik cache wipe will it help?

Sent from my GT-I9500
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1374062501246.jpg
Views:	682
Size:	38.7 KB
ID:	2122895   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1374062528444.jpg
Views:	655
Size:	43.7 KB
ID:	2122896   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1374062549817.jpg
Views:	657
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	2122897  
Last edited by alphamars; 17th July 2013 at 01:46 PM.
18th July 2013, 01:25 AM |#166  
HassanM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
More
Once u root your phone, I believe u cannot update via OTA... It will always tell u that its up to date... Moreover Kies won't work either....
Your best bet is to download the latest firmware and flash it thru CWM or Odin...

Sent from my GT-I9500 (Hassan Khalid Malik) using Tapatalk 2
18th July 2013, 11:08 AM |#167  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Or it will prompt you that the device is "modified"

Sent from my GT-I9500 using xda premium
22nd July 2013, 10:22 AM |#168  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
when Triangle Away work for I9500 ?
The Following User Says Thank You to winpeace For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd July 2013, 11:15 AM |#169  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 627
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by winpeace

when Triangle Away work for I9500 ?

Not in near future, chainfire doesn't plan to work on it as it needs a major code change and maintenance (The info as according to his G+ reply to someone)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to paarkhi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th July 2013, 02:08 PM |#170  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Happy to see mathieulh in the place.

A strange new thing for now with the samsung updates:

When i start the update search, the phone says me that the update service isn't available cause i've exceeded the number of updates (???), and should try to come back later or use kies....

What is this strange thing even in official?
26th July 2013, 04:37 AM |#171  
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GravuTrad

Happy to see mathieulh in the place.

A strange new thing for now with the samsung updates:

When i start the update search, the phone says me that the update service isn't available cause i've exceeded the number of updates (???), and should try to come back later or use kies....

What is this strange thing even in official?

Not new. I guess it is a server issue at Samsung. I also had this before. I then did the update via Kies and everything was fine. Later on, updated were done normally with mobile connection OTA
The Following User Says Thank You to body150165 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes