Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[EASY] [GUIDE] status 7 error in CWM/TWRP while flashing Rom/Mod [UPDATED 23/05/14]

OP Siddharth121

30th May 2013, 04:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
Hey!
While flashing roms, many times we get a "status 7 error". While searching in many threads, we do not get how to resolve it. I will tell you each and every thing step by step. Make sure you read all the cases mentioned below, even if you are sure about any particular case listed below.


NOOB FRIENDLY WAY TO RESOLVE STATUS 7 ERROR


Rules to be followed
1. Points marked in BLUE are to be read CAREFULLY
2. Points marked in RED are to be read EXTRA CAREFULLY

The cases are discussed as below.

Case 1- (Status 7 error while flashing kitkat roms)


This can be referred as a general checking step. Check that you are using the latest version of TWRP/CWM. The older versions of these recoveries pop out the status 7 error while flashing kitkat roms.

Latest TWRP version= 2.7 (2.6.3.4 also works)
Latest CWM version=6.0.3 up

Case 2- (Status 7 error while flashing Kitkat roms and Mods)

While moving to any kitkat rom from previous android versions (..,..., 4.0,....,4.3)
Make sure that the rom you have downloaded matches your phone model, if you flashed some other rom, you may hard brick your device.

(For the reference of this step, check the images in the next post)
1. First extract your rom (for example using 7-zip)
2. Go to the folder META_INF > COM > GOOGLE > ANDROID
3. Here you will find a file "updater-script"
4. Rename this file as updater-script.doc (microsoft word format) or use notepad++ (preferably)
(in some pc, extensions are nor visible. to make them visible, follow these steps)
Open Folder Options by clicking the Start button , clicking Control Panel, clicking Appearance and Personalization, and then clicking
Folder Options.
Click the View tab, and then, under Advanced settings, do one of the following:
To display file extensions, clear the Hide extensions for known file types check box, and then click OK.

5. Double click to open it( microsoft word preferred)
6. delete text, starting from "assert ....... till the semicolon( of the last getprop command. (see image in attached file-lines to delete)
7. Now save the file
8. Again rename the file, and delete the .doc extention
9. now go back to the main rom folder where you extracted the 3 files. zip these files again. and you will get a zipped rom.

Case 3- (If case 1,2 fails and you are SURE that you are flashing the right file)

Double check that the Rom/Mod you are flashing matches your phone model.

In TWRP there is a provision to skip the checking of the assert lines due to which status 7 error pops out.
1. After you select the zip to be flashed, it prompts you for the "signature verification".
2. Uncheck it.
3. Proceed further as normal.


And the status 7 error has now been removed!

Feel free to ask any kind of question in the comments section.
Last edited by Siddharth121; 23rd May 2014 at 09:21 PM.
The Following 107 Users Say Thank You to Siddharth121 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th May 2013, 08:13 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
Open the image below for the representation of the lines deleted in CASE 2

Here is an example.
Carefully delete these lines from the file.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lines to delete.PNG
Views:	35610
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	2004611  
Last edited by Siddharth121; 23rd May 2014 at 09:33 PM.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to Siddharth121 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2013, 03:39 PM   |  #3  
badagila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 100
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddharth121

hey!
while flashing roms, many times we get a "status 7 error". while searching in many threads, we do not get how to resolve it. i will tell you each and every thing step by step
so i made a NOOB FRIENDLY WAY TO RESOLVE STATUS 7 ERROR

make sure that the rom you have downloaded matches your phone model, if you flashed some other rom, you may hard brick your device.

1. First extract your rom (for example using 7-zip)
2. Go to the folder META_INF > COM > GOOGLE > ANDROID
3. Here you will find a file "updater-script"
4. Rename this file as updater-script.doc (microsoft word format)
(in some pc, extensions are nor visible. to make them visible, follow these steps)
Open Folder Options by clicking the Start button , clicking Control Panel, clicking Appearance and Personalization, and then clicking
Folder Options.
Click the View tab, and then, under Advanced settings, do one of the following:
To display file extensions, clear the Hide extensions for known file types check box, and then click OK.

5. Double click to open it( microsoft word preferred)
6. delete text, starting from "assert ....... till the semicolon( of the last getprop command. (see image in attached file-lines to delete)
7. Now save the file
8. Again rename the file, and delete the .doc extention
9. now go back to the main rom folder where you extracted the 3 files. zip these files again. and you will get a zipped rom.

and the status 7 error has now been removed!
happy flashing

at last, as you read in every post, i am not responsible for any bricked device.

have you already try to cook rom using android kitchen?
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to badagila For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2013, 06:33 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
I saw android kitchen. But it didn't supported my p3100. Ive rooted my htc day before yesterday. I'll try that surely :thumbup:
But why?..
Sent from my HTC One X+ using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Siddharth121 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2013, 03:24 AM   |  #5  
badagila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 100
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddharth121

I saw android kitchen. But it didn't supported my p3100. Ive rooted my htc day before yesterday. I'll try that surely :thumbup:
But why?..
Sent from my HTC One X+ using xda premium

because every time i use that to cook rom for my samsung galaxy gio the installation is aborted and error status 7 when i am flashing it
16th June 2013, 03:49 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
Do the above mentioned, actually the recovery checjs for the device version and all before flashing.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Siddharth121 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2013, 03:56 AM   |  #7  
badagila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 100
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddharth121

Do the above mentioned, actually the recovery checjs for the device version and all before flashing.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using xda premium

yeah maybe that is the main problem dude it is really hard to work with kitchen
16th June 2013, 04:12 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
Yepp. It is, but it reduces your harwork.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using xda premium
16th June 2013, 04:22 AM   |  #9  
badagila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 100
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddharth121

Yepp. It is, but it reduces your harwork.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using xda premium

maybe in deodexing a stock rom should the first one that really helps
6th July 2013, 03:28 PM   |  #10  
percy_g2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag pune
Thanks Meter: 14,242
 
4,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
flash the zip ,go to advanced option "show logs"
delete the lines which shows error like no file or directory in updater script
simple way

The Following User Says Thank You to percy_g2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes