Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more
Post Reply

Apple airport base settings for PDA2k(+)

26th December 2004, 07:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
can somebody help me to setup my Apple airport base station for PDA2k. i need to make internet connection.

thanks
28th December 2004, 09:59 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
What is your problem?

My PDA2K works fine on my Airport.

I use 'Access Control' so had to add the MAC address of the PDA2K to my Airport but otherwise works fine?

Robin
28th December 2004, 05:10 PM   |  #3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Mine works fine if WEP is not enabled, but I a have the same issue of non-connectivity if WEP is enabled.
28th December 2004, 06:41 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2004
More
PDA2k runs Windows, so make sure you enter a Hex WEP key equivalent, not the shorter WEP password you would enter on your mac. This applies to all Windows versions including PPC ones.
To find your Hex pass - connect to your airport base via Admin Utility and choose "Equivalent password" from the Base Station menu.
31st December 2004, 09:31 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2003
an odd requirement
Over the weekend, I setup my daughter's new Dell Axim X30 to her Airport AP. I also had my SX66 along, so I had a sanity check (I had successfully got it connected to my DLINK AP with WEP). Getting WEP to work to the Airport was frustrating. It would work great to the MAC and another WinTel notebook she owns, but the PPC would not work. When I would try to use WEP, it would show successful WiFi connection to the Airport AP, but NO browser or any other Web functions would work. After a couple of hours of futzing with it, I decided to see if the HEX key just might be case sensitive (I had been using lower case alpha as it had work fine with my DLINK AP). Well for reasons that I still don't understand, entering the 128bit HEX WEP key using UPPER case alpha characters did the trick. For a sanity check, I tried using lower case again and once again, connections worked, but no actual internet connectivity. BTW, I had the Airport set to OPEN and NO MAC filtering while I was fighting the WEP issue. After I discovered the case sensitive nature of the Airport, I was then able to turn on MAC filtering. I never did get the closed network capability of the Airport to work with the PPC, but with WEP and MAC filtering, she was pretty well secured.

I still would like to know why the PPC would show successful WiFi connections with a WEP key containing lower case alphas, but it would not allow actual internet connection while the same key with upper case alpha worked totally.

david
2nd January 2005, 11:49 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
Re: an odd requirement
thank you. this was very needfull information!! now my PDA2k works fine with apple extreme basestation. wep, mac-filtering - all works!!!
thanks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes