Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,692 Members 40,411 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] beaups Moonshine S-OFF exploit for linux/android noobs

Tip us?

dwc2134
Old
(Last edited by dwc2134; 11th June 2013 at 10:47 PM.)
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Default [HOW TO] beaups Moonshine S-OFF exploit for linux/android noobs

How to for n00bs:
Beaups Moonshine S-OFF for the Droid DNA

(Note: This guide will assume that you are complete noob with android and linux, BUT that you are not too dense to google basic things and infer basic differences between PC setups)

YOU WILL NEED:

1 Laptop or Desktop with internet access
1 32bit Linux (Ubuntu or Mint preferred, Mint to be used in this guide) liveUSB or liveCD (liveCD preferred, and what will be covered in this guide)
1 Stock Droid DNA with the 2.06 firmware update (2.04 is reported to work, but more success seems to be had with the updated firmware) WITH AT LEAST 80% BATTERY LIFE
1 Factory HTC/Droid micro-usb (Or any cable you know will work with ADB)

Prepping your computer:

1: Burn a liveCD of your linux distro of choice. Mint is my choice due to having great out of the box compatibility with hardware.
2: Insert liveCD into your PC, turn it on (or reboot), and enter boot menu (typically esc, f8, or f12 pressed during start up) and select “Boot from CD Drive”.

3: Allow liveCD to boot, it may take some time depending on the speed of your hardware. This is good time to prepare your phone for shining.

Prepping your phone:

1: Update to the 2.06 firmware update, if you have not already. If you cannot OTA, you can find guides to flash said firmware update elsewhere on XDA
a: If you are unsure what firmware you are on, go to “Settings”, “About”, and “Software Information” and it will have your firmware listed.

2: Disable any sort of screen lock. Image lock, facelock, pin lock, doesn't matter, it MUST BE DISABLED FOR THIS TO WORK