Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Phone Pad/Keyboard sometimes disappears

OP Anonymous

r scott
21st January 2005, 09:51 PM   |  #1  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Hi folks,

I've noticed a weird problem on my new Jam over the last couple of days. Sometimes when entering text e.g email, text msg, instant messenger etc.. if I select the Phone Pad option a blank screen appears. If I then choose Keypad the same blank screen appears.

Performing a soft-reset clears the problem as has occasionally closing all windows and starting again.

Has anyone else experienced this ??

Regards,
Russ.
24th January 2005, 01:13 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 1
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
More
I have exactly the same problem!

The problem only happens when changing between Intellipad and another input method.
A couple of people are experiencing the same thing, but they're attributing the problem to Microsoft Voice Command 1.5 (which I don't have),

I have made Intellipad my default Input method, so I can type sms' if I have to, but the moment I change to another input method (Fitaly), I'm stuck with the non-intellipad methods. If I try to select Intellipad, I lose all input methods, getting the blank box, which only a soft reset will cure.
26th January 2005, 08:34 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
New Delhi, INDIA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
HI!

I have been facing the same problem too. The blank screen appears and only a soft reset does the trick. At times when I try switching between the keyboard and phoen pad....the phone pad does not come on and it remains stuck on the keyboard.....and again only a soft reset makes it work.

U
26th January 2005, 11:23 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 1
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
More
This may be premature, but my problem seems to have disappeared..
Yesterday I downloaded and ran Sin's WM 2003SE 2.02 and 2.06 combined update on my XDA II (after having run Mysteryman's update since it came out), and it *looks* like the problem is gone..


And I get proper headset support thrown in to boot! Yay!
29th January 2005, 05:35 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
Software crash
I had this problem before when I was using my XDA2.. (WM2003SE upgraded)

So far i can think of, the reason might be a software crash.. on mine is pocketbreeze..

hard reset your device, don't install anything, see how it goes. If its working, install 1 software per week, and see which software is causing this..

now i'm using mini and haven't install pocketbreeze, and haven't lost the phone pad for 3 days!

hope it helps..

sheggario
29th January 2005, 07:57 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
New Delhi, INDIA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
Maybe you are right as I have installed PocketBreeze too on my Mini and maybe it is a software conflict between that and windows.
11th April 2005, 11:30 PM   |  #7  
Rayan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baja
Thanks Meter: 213
 
1,781 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2004
More
I think I finally found a solution...

On my MDA2 (XDA2) I have installed Microsoft Voice Command 1.5 and I think this is causing problems with the Intellipad (Phonepad) application. To fix this you only need to disable VC from the Settings screen (uncheck Voice Command), once you do that, you will be able to get your Intellipad functional again (as long as you don't get the empty keyboard, in which case you need to soft-reset).

If I'm on the road and need Voice Command, I just click on my hardware button to call it, however, it will take a few seconds to start it up (since it was disabled) but VC it will work as usual after that.

Eventually I will get the Intellpad problem again (since VC is reactivated) and need to redo the whole VC Disable thing.

I hope this works for you....

Best regards,
Rayan
12th April 2005, 07:16 AM   |  #8  
s0niqu3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 390
 
716 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2005
Donate to Me
More
I've tried both installing and uninstalling spb pocket plus, and the enabling and disabling of voice command, and there seems to be no real rhyme or reason to the disappearance.

That being said, I have noticed that it tends to start disappearing when my "program" memory drops to around the 10mb mark. I've experimented with freeing running memory, and usually if I free around 5mb or so, it starts working again, but this is not conclusive.
12th April 2005, 12:05 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2005
I had the same prob. I installed resco keyboard and the problem went away. Strange ??

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes