Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,741 Members 47,200 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC Stock Browser Problems

Tip us?
 
hyelton
Old
#1  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2,361
Posts: 4,920
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington

 
DONATE TO ME
Default HTC Stock Browser Problems

Okay so I`m exsperancing some problems ONLY happens with stock, Chrome always works fine when the stock htc browser problem is occuring but Chrome is always laggy.

Anyway the stock browser from time to time will stall, Both on WiFi and 3G it will all the sudden stop working and no matter what page I try to load it will sit there and say its loading, But I can go into an app and everything work fine same for Chrome works just fine while the stock htc browser wont load anything like there is no connection. Ive tried factory resetting stock rom and does it with every rom ive tried as well except CM
My Build: ASRock 970 Extreme4 | Amd FX-6300 OC to 4.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX-650-Ti | 8GB 1600 | 120GB Samsung 840 SSD | 500GB Hard Drive | Windows 7 Pro | NZXT 810 White Case.
Current Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 (White)

Check out my Personal site and Photography www.hunterspad.com

Please Click Thanks If I helped you in any way!
If you need anything Hosted Or mirrored: Send a PM my Way
My Server Specs: 24X Intel Xeon E5-2620 2.1Ghz,32GB Ram,2TB HD
 
TarekElsakka
Old
#2  
TarekElsakka's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 797
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cairo
I have experienced similar problems with the stock browser and I am liking Chrome less and less every day as it is getting laggy. I use Dolphin Browser with Dolphin Jetpack installed - it certainly is one of the best browsers I have ever used.
HTC One M8
- VenomROM 2.2.0
- ElementalX 1.02
- TWRP 2.7.1.1
 
hyelton
Old
#3  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2,361
Posts: 4,920
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TarekElsakka View Post
I have experienced similar problems with the stock browser and I am liking Chrome less and less every day as it is getting laggy. I use Dolphin Browser with Dolphin Jetpack installed - it certainly is one of the best browsers I have ever used.
Yea But im asking for a fix or what is causing this. I dont want anything but the stock browser.
My Build: ASRock 970 Extreme4 | Amd FX-6300 OC to 4.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX-650-Ti | 8GB 1600 | 120GB Samsung 840 SSD | 500GB Hard Drive | Windows 7 Pro | NZXT 810 White Case.
Current Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 (White)

Check out my Personal site and Photography www.hunterspad.com

Please Click Thanks If I helped you in any way!
If you need anything Hosted Or mirrored: Send a PM my Way
My Server Specs: 24X Intel Xeon E5-2620 2.1Ghz,32GB Ram,2TB HD
 
mariorenz
Old
(Last edited by mariorenz; 16th August 2013 at 11:17 PM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyelton View Post
Yea But im asking for a fix or what is causing this. I dont want anything but the stock browser.
Same problem, starting from this morning... anyone got a solution?

edit.. SOLVED: I forced the interruption and deactivated/activated from settings-->app manager NOW IT WORKS
 
mariorenz
Old
(Last edited by mariorenz; 17th August 2013 at 02:24 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariorenz View Post
Same problem, starting from this morning... anyone got a solution?

edit.. SOLVED: I forced the interruption and deactivated/activated from settings-->app manager NOW IT WORKS
Unfortunately, the problem is still there.. when I force the closing of the stock internet browser I can repair the situation but after a few browsing the problem comes back again... The stock browser becomes unusable and I have to use chrome.
Do I have to proceed with a factory reset? Is it the only solution?
 
totolachance
Old
#6  
totolachance's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2008
Same problem there since a few day ( I' ve the One since May)

I rooted my HTC ONE with All-In-One Toolkit V3.1 friday
...Then Install Kernel Bulletproof-4.3/5.3

I don't know if there is a link

If i reboot my phone , stock browser works a while .. then stal
Occurs on Wifi and 3G . Speedtest shows networks is fine although.
Htc ONE
Android : 4.2.2
Rom Version : 2.24.401.1
 
lampel
Old
#7  
lampel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 341
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Have you tried clearing the app cache and settings? Settings -> apps -> internet... You might have to swipe to get to the 'all' apps rather than 'downloaded'.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
Provider: T-Mobile US
Device: HTC One
 
totolachance
Old
#8  
totolachance's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lampel View Post
Have you tried clearing the app cache and settings? Settings -> apps -> internet... You might have to swipe to get to the 'all' apps rather than 'downloaded'.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
I cleared browser cache : didn't work
Then i did your solution (( cache and data )

It stalled a 1/4 h later
Htc ONE
Android : 4.2.2
Rom Version : 2.24.401.1
 
hyelton
Old
#9  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2,361
Posts: 4,920
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lampel View Post
Have you tried clearing the app cache and settings? Settings -> apps -> internet... You might have to swipe to get to the 'all' apps rather than 'downloaded'.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
That has nothing to do with the issue. This happend on a clean install even on stock.... I no longer have the phone so I no longer have the issue anymore

Sent from my LG-F240S using xda premium
My Build: ASRock 970 Extreme4 | Amd FX-6300 OC to 4.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX-650-Ti | 8GB 1600 | 120GB Samsung 840 SSD | 500GB Hard Drive | Windows 7 Pro | NZXT 810 White Case.
Current Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 (White)

Check out my Personal site and Photography www.hunterspad.com

Please Click Thanks If I helped you in any way!
If you need anything Hosted Or mirrored: Send a PM my Way
My Server Specs: 24X Intel Xeon E5-2620 2.1Ghz,32GB Ram,2TB HD
 
totolachance
Old
#10  
totolachance's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by totolachance View Post
Same problem there since a few day ( I' ve the One since May)

I rooted my HTC ONE with All-In-One Toolkit V3.1 friday
...Then Install Kernel Bulletproof-4.3/5.3

I don't know if there is a link

If i reboot my phone , stock browser works a while .. then stal
Occurs on Wifi and 3G . Speedtest shows networks is fine although.
At the same time sweep2wake and logo2wake stop working ( functions added by Kernel Bulletproof-4.3/5.3 )
After reboot all is working .. for a while
Htc ONE
Android : 4.2.2
Rom Version : 2.24.401.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more