Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide] Moving Blinkfeed to different slot/position

OP BlueVD

22nd June 2013, 06:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Brno
Thanks Meter: 18
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Howdy folks,

Without getting too much into weary introduction or similar stuff, here's a quick guide on how to move blinkfeed to whatever position you want.
But first, a nice screen shot
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.11.png
Notice the blinkfeed taking the second to last position... Sweet.
Now, let's get down to the prerequisites:
1) root access (you can find how to guides in the development section)
2) some form of sqlite editor on the phone (or you could alternately do it on your pc, but for commodity, the example show here uses SQLite Editor)

And now, the little hack that will put a smile on your face =)
Depending on the type of db editor, you might either get a list of apps or you will have to browse the filesystem to get to the db file itself:
The full path to the file is: /data/data/com.htc.launcher/databases/launcher.db
The app you need to locate is HTC Sense and pick launcher.db from the list of databases.
After opening the DB, access table workspaceConfig
In there you'll notice the deceptively named field "feedIndex" =D
By default it should be 0 (there are 5 screens, but the positioning is zero indexed). Depending on the number of screens you have, you can set the field value between 0 and screencount-1.
So, for example, you have 3 screens in total with blinkfeed and you want it to be in the middle position. You would set the feedIndex value to 1 (0 being the first screen, and 2 being the last). You get the point.
As a side note: putting any invalid value in the feedIndex field will (sadley, for some of you) not remove the blinkfeed.
After you adjust the values, reboot your phone and party =D
Here's a few more screenshots...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.20.06.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.06.51.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.50.18.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.04.png

Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)
Last edited by BlueVD; 22nd June 2013 at 06:37 AM. Reason: notes addition
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to BlueVD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2013, 06:36 AM   |  #2  
adamlee011's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Watertown, CT
Thanks Meter: 1,449
 
3,894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Sounds user friendly to me. I don't use sense launcher but great find.

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app
22nd June 2013, 10:21 AM   |  #3  
cjm1979's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Batley
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueVD

Howdy folks,

Without getting too much into weary introduction or similar stuff, here's a quick guide on how to move blinkfeed to whatever position you want.
But first, a nice screen shot
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.11.png
Notice the blinkfeed taking the second to last position... Sweet.
Now, let's get down to the prerequisites:
1) root access (you can find how to guides in the development section)
2) some form of sqlite editor on the phone (or you could alternately do it on your pc, but for commodity, the example show here uses SQLite Editor)

And now, the little hack that will put a smile on your face =)
Depending on the type of db editor, you might either get a list of apps or you will have to browse the filesystem to get to the db file itself:
The full path to the file is: /data/data/com.htc.launcher/databases/launcher.db
The app you need to locate is HTC Sense and pick launcher.db from the list of databases.
After opening the DB, access table workspaceConfig
In there you'll notice the deceptively named field "feedIndex" =D
By default it should be 0 (there are 5 screens, but the positioning is zero indexed). Depending on the number of screens you have, you can set the field value between 0 and screencount-1.
So, for example, you have 3 screens in total with blinkfeed and you want it to be in the middle position. You would set the feedIndex value to 1 (0 being the first screen, and 2 being the last). You get the point.
As a side note: putting any invalid value in the feedIndex field will (sadley, for some of you) not remove the blinkfeed.
After you adjust the values, reboot your phone and party =D
Here's a few more screenshots...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.20.06.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.06.51.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.50.18.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.04.png

Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)

Cant what your doing here be done by just moving the screens about like on any version of sense? I know it doesnt seem to let you drag and drop Blinkfeed screen but you can move the others around it to get it to the place you want
22nd June 2013, 11:10 AM   |  #4  
Gandalf Greyhelm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 25
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjm1979

Cant what your doing here be done by just moving the screens about like on any version of sense? I know it doesnt seem to let you drag and drop Blinkfeed screen but you can move the others around it to get it to the place you want

Nope - can't be done on a non-rooted phone.

Blinkfeed defaults to the far left screen and stays there.

The only option you have is to set a different home screen - even so - you can't simply drag and drop screens either.

I hope HTC attend to this - it's really quite limiting - and I prefer the option to choose how many screens I have as well.
22nd June 2013, 11:56 AM   |  #5  
unremarked's Avatar
Senior Member
Out There
Thanks Meter: 190
 
882 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueVD

Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)

Worked like a charm!
23rd June 2013, 01:12 PM   |  #6  
craftycarper1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 242
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Thanks BlueVD for this guide, worked great, i've been wanting to move Blinkfeed from day 1.
23rd June 2013, 09:29 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag london
Thanks Meter: 6
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
How about 7 home pages like old senses can that be done?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4 Beta
23rd June 2013, 09:32 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Brno
Thanks Meter: 18
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Unfortunately it cannot be done just by editing the mentioned db entry. Maybe via xposed framework, but i'm still learning to code for it.

Sent from my HTC One using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to BlueVD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th November 2013, 07:47 AM   |  #9  
Gramzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueVD

Howdy folks,

Without getting too much into weary introduction or similar stuff, here's a quick guide on how to move blinkfeed to whatever position you want.
But first, a nice screen shot
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.11.png
Notice the blinkfeed taking the second to last position... Sweet.
Now, let's get down to the prerequisites:
1) root access (you can find how to guides in the development section)
2) some form of sqlite editor on the phone (or you could alternately do it on your pc, but for commodity, the example show here uses SQLite Editor)

And now, the little hack that will put a smile on your face =)
Depending on the type of db editor, you might either get a list of apps or you will have to browse the filesystem to get to the db file itself:
The full path to the file is: /data/data/com.htc.launcher/databases/launcher.db
The app you need to locate is HTC Sense and pick launcher.db from the list of databases.
After opening the DB, access table workspaceConfig
In there you'll notice the deceptively named field "feedIndex" =D
By default it should be 0 (there are 5 screens, but the positioning is zero indexed). Depending on the number of screens you have, you can set the field value between 0 and screencount-1.
So, for example, you have 3 screens in total with blinkfeed and you want it to be in the middle position. You would set the feedIndex value to 1 (0 being the first screen, and 2 being the last). You get the point.
As a side note: putting any invalid value in the feedIndex field will (sadley, for some of you) not remove the blinkfeed.
After you adjust the values, reboot your phone and party =D
Here's a few more screenshots...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.20.06.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.06.51.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.50.18.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.04.png

Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)

This method works great on Sense 5.0 vipers rom on Sensation. Thank You
19th November 2013, 09:53 AM   |  #10  
MrCatalyst's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
As above. Just repositioned my BlinkFeed to be on the 3rd screen (out of 5), just like I wanted it to be. Thank you!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
blinkfeed mod, blinkfeed position
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes