Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,607 Members 52,851 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] Moving Blinkfeed to different slot/position

Tip us?
 
BlueVD
Old
(Last edited by BlueVD; 22nd June 2013 at 05:37 AM.) Reason: notes addition
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 58
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brno
Lightbulb [Guide] Moving Blinkfeed to different slot/position

Howdy folks,

Without getting too much into weary introduction or similar stuff, here's a quick guide on how to move blinkfeed to whatever position you want.
But first, a nice screen shot
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.11.png
Notice the blinkfeed taking the second to last position... Sweet.
Now, let's get down to the prerequisites:
1) root access (you can find how to guides in the development section)
2) some form of sqlite editor on the phone (or you could alternately do it on your pc, but for commodity, the example show here uses SQLite Editor)

And now, the little hack that will put a smile on your face =)
Depending on the type of db editor, you might either get a list of apps or you will have to browse the filesystem to get to the db file itself:
The full path to the file is: /data/data/com.htc.launcher/databases/launcher.db
The app you need to locate is HTC Sense and pick launcher.db from the list of databases.
After opening the DB, access table workspaceConfig
In there you'll notice the deceptively named field "feedIndex" =D
By default it should be 0 (there are 5 screens, but the positioning is zero indexed). Depending on the number of screens you have, you can set the field value between 0 and screencount-1.
So, for example, you have 3 screens in total with blinkfeed and you want it to be in the middle position. You would set the feedIndex value to 1 (0 being the first screen, and 2 being the last). You get the point.
As a side note: putting any invalid value in the feedIndex field will (sadley, for some of you) not remove the blinkfeed.
After you adjust the values, reboot your phone and party =D
Here's a few more screenshots...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.20.06.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.06.51.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.50.18.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.04.png

Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)

Yup, it's 62 Mibs... and the test server is 500 miles away, so stop rubbing your result at 60 km. It's worthless!
Nokia 3410 - SE K750 - SE K220 - SE w320 - SE P1i - Nokia E90 - BB 8300 Curve - HTC Desire - HTC Desire Z - LG GD880 - HTC Sensation - HTC Evo3D GSM; oh, yeah, there were others, but they died smashed against the wall for ****** me off
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to BlueVD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
adamlee011
Old
#2  
adamlee011's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1431
Posts: 3,871
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watertown, CT

 
DONATE TO ME
Sounds user friendly to me. I don't use sense launcher but great find.

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app


HTC m7wls & m8whl
Pacman tester HTC Jewel
 
cjm1979
Old
#3  
cjm1979's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 1,185
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Batley
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueVD View Post
Howdy folks,

Without getting too much into weary introduction or similar stuff, here's a quick guide on how to move blinkfeed to whatever position you want.
But first, a nice screen shot
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.11.png
Notice the blinkfeed taking the second to last position... Sweet.
Now, let's get down to the prerequisites:
1) root access (you can find how to guides in the development section)
2) some form of sqlite editor on the phone (or you could alternately do it on your pc, but for commodity, the example show here uses SQLite Editor)

And now, the little hack that will put a smile on your face =)
Depending on the type of db editor, you might either get a list of apps or you will have to browse the filesystem to get to the db file itself:
The full path to the file is: /data/data/com.htc.launcher/databases/launcher.db
The app you need to locate is HTC Sense and pick launcher.db from the list of databases.
After opening the DB, access table workspaceConfig
In there you'll notice the deceptively named field "feedIndex" =D
By default it should be 0 (there are 5 screens, but the positioning is zero indexed). Depending on the number of screens you have, you can set the field value between 0 and screencount-1.
So, for example, you have 3 screens in total with blinkfeed and you want it to be in the middle position. You would set the feedIndex value to 1 (0 being the first screen, and 2 being the last). You get the point.
As a side note: putting any invalid value in the feedIndex field will (sadley, for some of you) not remove the blinkfeed.
After you adjust the values, reboot your phone and party =D
Here's a few more screenshots...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.20.06.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.06.51.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.50.18.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.04.png

Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)
Cant what your doing here be done by just moving the screens about like on any version of sense? I know it doesnt seem to let you drag and drop Blinkfeed screen but you can move the others around it to get it to the place you want
 
Gandalf Greyhelm
Old
#4  
Gandalf Greyhelm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 175
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Birmingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjm1979 View Post
Cant what your doing here be done by just moving the screens about like on any version of sense? I know it doesnt seem to let you drag and drop Blinkfeed screen but you can move the others around it to get it to the place you want
Nope - can't be done on a non-rooted phone.

Blinkfeed defaults to the far left screen and stays there.

The only option you have is to set a different home screen - even so - you can't simply drag and drop screens either.

I hope HTC attend to this - it's really quite limiting - and I prefer the option to choose how many screens I have as well.
 
unremarked
Old
#5  
unremarked's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 184
Posts: 871
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Out There
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueVD View Post
Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)
Worked like a charm!
Devices: G1 > Droid > Nexus One > G2 > myTouch 4G > Nexus S > Fascinate > Thunderbolt > iPhone 4 > iPhone 4S > Galaxy Nexus > iPhone 5 > Galaxy S3 > Droid DNA > Galaxy S4 > One > iPhone 5S > Nexus 5 / Nexus 7
 
craftycarper1
Old
#6  
craftycarper1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 934
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northampton
Thanks BlueVD for this guide, worked great, i've been wanting to move Blinkfeed from day 1.
↑↑↑ Click above for my Userbars ↑↑↑
 
ceza_21
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: london
How about 7 home pages like old senses can that be done?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4 Beta
 
BlueVD
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 58
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brno
Unfortunately it cannot be done just by editing the mentioned db entry. Maybe via xposed framework, but i'm still learning to code for it.

Sent from my HTC One using xda premium

Yup, it's 62 Mibs... and the test server is 500 miles away, so stop rubbing your result at 60 km. It's worthless!
Nokia 3410 - SE K750 - SE K220 - SE w320 - SE P1i - Nokia E90 - BB 8300 Curve - HTC Desire - HTC Desire Z - LG GD880 - HTC Sensation - HTC Evo3D GSM; oh, yeah, there were others, but they died smashed against the wall for ****** me off
The Following User Says Thank You to BlueVD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gramzz
Old
#9  
Gramzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 302
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueVD View Post
Howdy folks,

Without getting too much into weary introduction or similar stuff, here's a quick guide on how to move blinkfeed to whatever position you want.
But first, a nice screen shot
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.11.png
Notice the blinkfeed taking the second to last position... Sweet.
Now, let's get down to the prerequisites:
1) root access (you can find how to guides in the development section)
2) some form of sqlite editor on the phone (or you could alternately do it on your pc, but for commodity, the example show here uses SQLite Editor)

And now, the little hack that will put a smile on your face =)
Depending on the type of db editor, you might either get a list of apps or you will have to browse the filesystem to get to the db file itself:
The full path to the file is: /data/data/com.htc.launcher/databases/launcher.db
The app you need to locate is HTC Sense and pick launcher.db from the list of databases.
After opening the DB, access table workspaceConfig
In there you'll notice the deceptively named field "feedIndex" =D
By default it should be 0 (there are 5 screens, but the positioning is zero indexed). Depending on the number of screens you have, you can set the field value between 0 and screencount-1.
So, for example, you have 3 screens in total with blinkfeed and you want it to be in the middle position. You would set the feedIndex value to 1 (0 being the first screen, and 2 being the last). You get the point.
As a side note: putting any invalid value in the feedIndex field will (sadley, for some of you) not remove the blinkfeed.
After you adjust the values, reboot your phone and party =D
Here's a few more screenshots...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.20.06.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2006.06.51.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.50.18.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2005.45.04.png

Closing notes: if someone has the patience to rewrite this guide in a more user friendly manner it would be great.
This method should work on all versions/combos/etc (4.1.2, 4.2.2, AT&T One, etc) as long as it's Sense 5 and has BlinkFeed (doh)
Other than that, have fun with your new found power of moving the blinkfeed =)
This method works great on Sense 5.0 vipers rom on Sensation. Thank You
 
MrCatalyst
Old
#10  
MrCatalyst's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 284
Join Date: May 2013
As above. Just repositioned my BlinkFeed to be on the 3rd screen (out of 5), just like I wanted it to be. Thank you!
DEVICE: Sony Xperia Z2 (D6503)
CURRENT ROM: Rooted Stock 17.1.A.2.55
CURRENT KERNEL: Stock
BOOTLOADER: Locked



Tags
blinkfeed mod, blinkfeed position
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...