5,596,179 Members 33,830 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How To make a .cab file ??

Tip us?
 
earsatu
Old
#1  
earsatu's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Sep 2004
Default How To make a .cab file ??

Can somebody tell me how to make a cab file ?
Is there a special program for it ?
Thanks
 
Cyber-mate
Old
#2  
Cyber-mate's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 310
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UAE
Default How To make a .cab file ??

Check out www.ocpsoftware.com
HTC One X
Android: 4.0.4
HTC Sense: 4.1
 
xda2jojo
Old
#3  
xda2jojo's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 771
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Default WinCE CAB Manager

Use WinCE CAB Manager
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wince_cab_manager.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (45.6 KB, 1573 views)
 
ndhuy
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default Re: WinCE CAB Manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by xda2jojo
Use WinCE CAB Manager
Where is it??? Could you send it to me please. My emai: ndhuy@gdt.gov.vn OR nguyenhuytct@yahoo.com
HUYDAICA day!!!
 
xda2jojo
Old
#5  
xda2jojo's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 771
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Default WinCE CAB Manager

WinCE CAB Manager homepage
http://www.ocpsoftware.com/
 
buzz_lightyear
Old
#6  
buzz_lightyear's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,500
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Slovakia
Default OCP CAB Manager sucks!!!

OCP CAB Manager sucks!!!
It is only good for opening other .cabs, if you want to extract something out of it... and it costs lots of MONEY for such a crap...

Use Cabwiz instead. It is free as it is part of the PocketPC SDK.

You will need to create .inf file, where you can specify, what should be copied, to which location and so on.

below is zipped version of one of my apps as a sample. :o)
Once you have your .inf ready, simply drag and drop it onto CabWiz icon...

Here (http://www.sundialsoft.freeserve.co.uk/cabinfo.htm) is a perfect guide, how to write .inf files for CabWiz....

:o)
buzz
Attached Files
File Type: zip sample.zip - [Click for QR Code] (11.8 KB, 688 views)
 
ShawnT
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: OCP CAB Manager sucks!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz_lightyear
OCP CAB Manager sucks!!!
It is only good for opening other .cabs, if you want to extract something out of it... and it costs lots of MONEY for such a crap...
I'm not sure where you got the idea that WinCE CAB Manager can't create new CAB files. It certainly can, and it's a whole lot easier than Cabwiz.
 
sdlopez83
Old
#8  
sdlopez83's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 1,931
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY-Chile
Try this new cab making utitlity. Its suppose to bypass most grueling issues of cab making... Havnt tried it out yet as I just downloaded 2 mins ago. its new from....tim kremer
Attached Files
File Type: zip QuickCab 1.0.zip - [Click for QR Code] (193.8 KB, 2950 views)
Devices gone and/or in Geriatrics
8125-8525-Tilt-TPro-Tilt2-Atrix


SGSIII-747
Not a stock rom
 
Nunwood PDA
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdlopez83 View Post
Try this new cab making utitlity. Its suppose to bypass most grueling issues of cab making... Havnt tried it out yet as I just downloaded 2 mins ago. its new from....tim kremer
This was surprisingly good, definalty easier to use than cabwiz.exe.
 
ToddeSwe
Old
#10  
ToddeSwe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 2,525
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alvesta
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdlopez83 View Post
Try this new cab making utitlity. Its suppose to bypass most grueling issues of cab making... Havnt tried it out yet as I just downloaded 2 mins ago. its new from....tim kremer

Hi!

If i just want to replace a edited file inside a cad archive, how can i do that?
I tried this but i realy don't understand what to do

ToddeSwe

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more