5,594,282 Members 43,256 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Does this phone have a gyroscope?

Tip us?
 
somerandomname1
Old
#1  
somerandomname1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 431
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Does this phone have a gyroscope?

Wikipedia for our device says yes.

However, on Cyanogenmod, Phone Tester app shows no gyroscope when you click on sensors:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...netester&hl=en

Can anyone on stock rom test? It might just be cyanogenmod.

The only reason I'm curious is because the 4.3 leaked camera is reportedly allowing many non-nexus devices to have a working photosphere. Photosphere won't work if the gyroscope isnt recognized / working. If it is indeed just cyanogenmod, I'm going to petition @mdmower to get the gyroscope working so I can get photosphere working

http://www.androidauthority.com/stoc...sphere-236196/
 
wmuflyer
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 101
Join Date: Feb 2011
No gyroscope showing on my stock. No unlock or s-off.
 
somerandomname1
Old
#3  
somerandomname1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 431
Join Date: Aug 2012
Thanks.

Damn, Wikipedia lied to me. Some other sites list this device as having a gyroscope as well. Wonder how that misinformation went around.
 
vazersecurity
Old
#4  
vazersecurity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 202
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Payson, UT
I got some response. I RUU-ed.
CURRENTLY ACTIVE DEVICE: MOTOROLA DROID RAZR (CDMA XT912)
=================
=================
ROM: cm-11-20140413-NIGHTLY-spyder
OWNED SINCE: October 2013
=================
DROID Incredible 4G LTE Owners: XDA Group
 
somerandomname1
Old
#5  
somerandomname1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 431
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vazersecurity View Post
I got some response. I RUU-ed.
Can you clarify? It showed a gyroscope for you?
 
vazersecurity
Old
(Last edited by vazersecurity; 13th July 2013 at 07:12 AM.)
#6  
vazersecurity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 202
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Payson, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by somerandomname1 View Post
Can you clarify? It showed a gyroscope for you?
used this
---
GyroRotate
It kinda worked. It was extremely glitchy. Seemed like it didn't exist. l cannot clarify what this was for sure.
CURRENTLY ACTIVE DEVICE: MOTOROLA DROID RAZR (CDMA XT912)
=================
=================
ROM: cm-11-20140413-NIGHTLY-spyder
OWNED SINCE: October 2013
=================
DROID Incredible 4G LTE Owners: XDA Group
 
kimba99
Old
#7  
kimba99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 215
Join Date: Mar 2013
According to the "hardware info" app, the Dinc4G... Doesn't have a gyro! (the same app does show a gyro on my gf's Sensation)

Here 's a snap that list all 5 hw sensors that we have:

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1373007702392.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	21.6 KB
ID:	2093386
HTC Dinc4G LTE 1 (S-OFF) ... @ Pac4.3.1 (20140130!) MIKU_SO-04E TWRP 2.6.3.0n == ALIVE via RIFF-JTAG
HTC Dinc4G LTE 2 (S-OFF'ed _after_ the 2014-OTA!!!) ... @ Viper w/ InfernalK99-147u11 TWRP2.6.3.0n & PSM ...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

HTC Releases Dual Lens SDK for the HTC One M8 (2014)

One of the highlights of the HTC One M8is its new dual lens camera system. Termed … more

Google ATAP Reveals Project Ara Developer Kits and 100K Prize Challenge

Today, Paul Eremenko from Google’s Advanced Technology and … more

Configure Your System Settings on a Per-App Basis

Do you ever like to make sure that certain device settings are enabled prior to entering a … more

How to Hack An Android App (Don’t Try This at Home) – XDA Developer TV

Listen, don’t cheat in your games. So don’t … more