Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,909 Members 49,762 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SCRIPT][UPDATED 01.26.14] Enable Ram Swap & Create a Swap File with |=~>SwapItOn<~=|

Tip us?

defiant07
Old
(Last edited by defiant07; 5th March 2014 at 07:05 AM.) Reason: released v13 - minor update - added minfree option
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 438
Angry [SCRIPT][UPDATED 01.26.14] Enable Ram Swap & Create a Swap File with |=~>SwapItOn<~=|

##### Added Minfree Option #####
Quote:
Hi, thanks for checking out my thread and your interest in…
Defiant07’s Super Stupendous & Splendid SwapItOn Script.
Now that I have blatantly lied and oversold things, let me explicitly state that I am new to android, in general, and to bash, especially, so I know the code is far from elegant and efficient. This is my first public script so devs don’t laugh too hard and please offer any suggestions. Now on to the good stuff…
Quote:
What will this script do?

It will do three things: (1) it will create up to three swap files that are a sizes specified by the user [note: user also has choices for swap file locations]; (2) it will create an init.d script that enables ram swap and sets the swappiness level to a user specified value during each boot process; and (3) it will create 'shift' scripts so as to facilitate turning swap on/off, changing swappiness on the fly, and changing other swap related parameters on the fly.
Quote:
What are the requirements?

• root access
  • busybox: version does not matter so long as it has the following required applets - awk, cat, chmod, clear, cut, dd, df, echo, free, grep, id, mkdir, mkswap, mount, nohup, ps, rm, sed, sleep, swapoff, swapon, sysctl, tee, tr.
  • init.d support (if you don’t have it search XDA there are a of couple of apps and numerous scripts that add this feature)
  • a kernel capable of swap (to check if swap is supported in terminal enter
    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo