Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,000 Members 50,752 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Please help me with wifi!!

Tip us?
 
Joe_PDA
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 276
Join Date: Jul 2003
Default Please help me with wifi!!

I've got an SX66
ROM VER: 1.33.10 WWE
ROM DATE: 1/21/05
RADIO VER: 1.02.10

I setup wireless manager to work on my home network. At the heart is a linksys BEFW11s4 wireless router with WEP enabled (64 bit).
It asked for the security password which I entered but it kept telling me was wrong. Finally it stopped asking me and the wireless manager show that I am connected to the network. It shows the correct SSID, channel etc.

However I still cannot access the internet or anything else on my network. It seems that I am not really connected.

What the H$!! am I doing wrong??
Please help.
 
HappyGoat
Old
#2  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 294
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Did the router give you an IP address?

I.e. Is the router DHCP enabled?
 
Joe_PDA
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 276
Join Date: Jul 2003
Happygoat
Yes it does give me an IP address (SX66 set to auto assign)

In reading over your post I started checking my settings and realized the problem.

I have to manually enter the key.

Once I did that...boom I am online.

Thank you for your help.

Joe
 
ilijamn
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2005
@HappyGoat

Hi I have had some problems with wifi hope you can help. I couldnít find anything on this forum about it (maybe I didnít search well but donít think so) Listen, I managed to find some hotspots, I used a lot of programmes, like Streethawk, or WIFIFORM(or something like that), and many more, but all I could get was windows popping up to select connect using that and that to internet or work. I tried work, but that is it every time I got the message I couldnít give you IP or something. like that. My Ip settings is give IP automatically. Am I doing everything ok, or is this problem network issue because I was trying to connect on public hotspot(which might be not accepting connections). And how do I know if the hotspot is accepting connections free of charge? Hope you can give me detailed instructions.

Thanks in advance
 
tradivise
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: May 2005
ilijamn: I use a programme called "WIFIFOFUM" and when in the programme on the left side of the window is a column called "WEP" which will either say "on" or "off" for a certain connection.. now when it says "on" you cannot use it without a network key(basically a password) but when its "off" you should be able to use without a problem...To connect to a connection while in WIFIFOFUM jus tap and hold the connection and select connect...

now also when that window pops up, its better to sellect connect via "internet" rather than "work"....

I hope this helps you...
nothing is easy before it is difficult...
 
ilijamn
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2005
@tradivise
Thank you it helped me a lot! But sometimes in WiForum it takes a lot of time to connect, and I tryed a lot of programmes and then I downloaded Street HAwk, It is the best one, at least for me.(the progremme does everything automativly-which is cool). Anyways, i have to ask you smth. else (prob. stupid question), when a network(hot spot) is free of charge do I need to set up IP settings and DNS settings and what is VPN?

Thanks
 
ilijamn
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2005
@tradivise
Thank you it helped me a lot! But sometimes in WiForum it takes a lot of time to connect, and I tryed a lot of programmes and then I downloaded Street HAwk, It is the best one, at least for me.(the progremme does everything automativly-which is cool). Anyways, i have to ask you smth. else (prob. stupid question), when a network(hot spot) is free of charge do I need to set up IP settings and DNS settings and what is VPN?


And is there any pocket web browser for internet that can open multiple widows(tabs)????


Thanks in advance,
Ilija
 
tradivise
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: May 2005
ilijamn:

VPN - Virtual Private Network, long explanation so just google search it.

IP and DNS should be setup automatically by the network, but some networks require a network key (WEP) which is like a password and without it you cant use their network...

hope this helps, any more questions jus ask!!!!

not sure about multiple tabs, if i find i will let u know
nothing is easy before it is difficult...
 
ilijamn
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2005
That should do it. Thank you

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes