Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,628 Members 40,620 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How To Root HTC One Google Edition?

Tip us?
 
Nxxx
Old
#1  
Nxxx's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 355
Posts: 548
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default [Q] How To Root HTC One Google Edition?

Hi everyone I'm an experienced rooter and am having trouble finding a method to root the Google Play Edition HTC One. Can anyone link me to a method or let me know how to do it?
 
a box of kittens
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 455
Posts: 1,146
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: san fran california
If you have the HTC ge ...I asumme since you're experienced you have knowledge of adb and fastboot...if so all it takes is fastboot oem unlock
Then flash recovery of your choice and so on
Lizards for lunch
Liverpool fc is the best! Chelsea suck!
 
mickey4mice
Old
#3  
mickey4mice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 318
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nxxx View Post
Hi everyone I'm an experienced rooter and am having trouble finding a method to root the Google Play Edition HTC One. Can anyone link me to a method or let me know how to do it?
I've mine unlocked with "fastboot oem unlock", but I'm not able to root the phone. In fact, I think I've lost my stock recovery, I didn't check it before unlock, so I'm not even sure if the recovery had been missing before the phone was unlocked. When I try to boot into recovery now, all I get is an android robot on its belly with a red warning triangle on it. I also can't boot/flash custom recovery either, adb seems the phone just fine, but it tries to push the recovery, the phone just freeze up.

Someone else on android central forum also has his stock recovery missing right out of the box, getting the same belly-up robot as mine, very strange.
 
mdandashly
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 92
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey4mice View Post
I've mine unlocked with "fastboot oem unlock", but I'm not able to root the phone. In fact, I think I've lost my stock recovery, I didn't check it before unlock, so I'm not even sure if the recovery had been missing before the phone was unlocked. When I try to boot into recovery now, all I get is an android robot on its belly with a red warning triangle on it. I also can't boot/flash custom recovery either, adb seems the phone just fine, but it tries to push the recovery, the phone just freeze up.

Someone else on android central forum also has his stock recovery missing right out of the box, getting the same belly-up robot as mine, very strange.
I unlocked bootoader on mine using fastboot oem unlock. I just flashed twrp image and then installed SuperSU.

I wanted to unroot and that gave me trouble. Used recovery and factory images I found laying around the forums. Still don't know if I did it right.
 
mickey4mice
Old
#5  
mickey4mice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 318
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdandashly View Post
I unlocked bootoader on mine using fastboot oem unlock. I just flashed twrp image and then installed SuperSU.

I wanted to unroot and that gave me trouble. Used recovery and factory images I found laying around the forums. Still don't know if I did it right.
can you post the link to stock recovery you found? I couldn't flash the stock recovery image I found on the forum, says "different signature".
 
mdandashly
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 92
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey4mice View Post
can you post the link to stock recovery you found? I couldn't flash the stock recovery image I found on the forum, says "different signature".
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2358781

Got it from this post. I also used to stock factory image from that post as well.

I'm frustrated because my battery life is pretty bad and when I check stats, the kernel is consuming 25% of battery. Any idea what gives?
 
mickey4mice
Old
#7  
mickey4mice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 318
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdandashly View Post
I unlocked bootoader on mine using fastboot oem unlock. I just flashed twrp image and then installed SuperSU.

I wanted to unroot and that gave me trouble. Used recovery and factory images I found laying around the forums. Still don't know if I did it right.
Also, did you get "FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))" when unlock? Mine unlocked just fine but I don't if that error msg at the end of the process effected anything else.
 
mdandashly
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 92
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey4mice View Post
Also, did you get "FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))" when unlock? Mine unlocked just fine but I don't if that error msg at the end of the process effected anything else.
Yeah it may have said failed. But everything seems to have worked. I'm just trying to get back to stock bc I may need to RMA.
 
EddyOS
Old
#9  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2949
Posts: 13,183
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
You do know the Android on it's back is the stock recovery?...
OnePlus One (Sandstone Black) 64GB
ROM: CyanogenMod 11S (XNPH25R)

HTC One M8 (Gunmetal Grey) 16GB
ROM: 2.22.401.4 (KTU84L) | HBOOT: 3.18.0.0000 S-OFF | Recovery: Stock | Baseband: 1.19.2133147.09G_20.57.4196.01L_F | Kernel: Stock | CID: HTC__001

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required) | [GUIDE] Return your OPO to 100% Stock
 
mickey4mice
Old
#10  
mickey4mice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 318
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS View Post
You do know the Android on it's back is the stock recovery?...
Yeah, but mine is the belly-up android without any menu or means to get into recovery menu. Maybe I missed something?

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:17 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey4mice View Post
Yeah, but mine is the belly-up android without any menu or means to get into recovery menu. Maybe I missed something?
Arrrhhh...never mind. I finally brought up the recovery menu by pressing the power+vol up/down buttons REALLY REALLY HARD! I tried this combo for 3 days without success, I think the vol up button is finally loosening up, weird I don't have any problem using it on the phone, just in the recovery mode.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...