Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,243 Members 52,688 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SIM Card not recognized after OTA update to XXDME6

Tip us?
 
staatiatwork
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2010
Question [Q] SIM Card not recognized after OTA update to XXDME6

Hello there,

I got my smartphone back from repair (red led of death) yesterday. So I configured it and did the firmwareupgrade from XXJ... to XXDME6.
Now the SIM card is not recognized anymore

I read some threats about IMEI lost etc. and it seems to be the same here, isn't it?

So I contacted the Samsung support and they suggested to send it in for another 3-4 week repai, I suppose. Can I do anything to fix it without sending it in?

Thanks in advance!

Boris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-07-23-13-24-51.jpg
Views:	2389
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	2137320   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-07-23-13-24-44.jpg
Views:	2109
Size:	23.6 KB
ID:	2137321   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-07-23-13-24-36.jpg
Views:	2150
Size:	26.7 KB
ID:	2137322  
 
staatiatwork
Old
(Last edited by staatiatwork; 26th July 2013 at 01:16 AM.) Reason: Update
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2010
OK, I found out, that I have a connection and an IMEI with 4.1.1 ROMs but not with 4.1.2...
I tried it with Omega ROM and the XXDMG1 Stock ROM...no IMEI...

Do I need to do anything to apply the changes to EFS for 4.1.2? I haven't read anything like that O.o

Edit:
Also working with 4.2.2(Liquid Smooth)...

Geez...what is this **** SAMSUNG??? -.-
 
bearusa
Old
(Last edited by bearusa; 26th July 2013 at 01:57 AM.)
#3  
bearusa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 346
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by staatiatwork View Post
OK, I found out, that I have a connection and an IMEI with 4.1.1 ROMs but not with 4.1.2...
I tried it with Omega ROM and the XXDMG1 Stock ROM...no IMEI...

Do I need to do anything to apply the changes to EFS for 4.1.2? I haven't read anything like that O.o

Edit:
Also working with 4.2.2(Liquid Smooth)...

Geez...what is this **** SAMSUNG??? -.-
When you rooted it did you take a efs backup like all the tutorials and guides say to do before installing any roms?

Sent from my GT-N7105 using xda premium

---------- Post added at 01:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:35 AM ----------

Youll need to read this as I can tell you have n7100.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=43037352

There is also this app as you have an efs backup.. it says gs2 but reports it works for note2 aswell.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=37816367

Sent from my GT-N7105 using xda premium
 
staatiatwork
Old
(Last edited by staatiatwork; 26th July 2013 at 10:13 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearusa View Post
When you rooted it did you take a efs backup like all the tutorials and guides say to do before installing any roms?
Yes, but then it was already too late since this whole mess happend with the OTA update from Samsung.

I unpacked it when I got it back from repair. It was all stock. Then I did the update and it got messed up.
After that I rooted it and did the backup.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bearusa View Post
Youll need to read this as I can tell you have n7100.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=43037352

There is also this app as you have an efs backup.. it says gs2 but reports it works for note2 aswell.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=37816367

Sent from my GT-N7105 using xda premium
I read these 2 as well, but it is not quite the problem I have.
My EFS does not get modified with the 4.1.2 update as it seems.

And it also doesn't happen, when I flash XXDMG1 Stock with Odin.
 
bearusa
Old
#5  
bearusa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 346
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by staatiatwork View Post
Yes, but then it was already too late since this whole mess happend with the OTA update from Samsung.

I unpacked it when I got it back from repair. It was all stock. Then I did the update and it got messed up.
After that I rooted it and did the backup.
So you have no efs backup.. which means you cant go back to lower/older roms. You should be able to flash newer stock roms from me6 and use me4 modem plus a newer kernel and it might be ok.. I dont know about everyone else but id imagine there the same as me we don't bother with ota once rooted.

GT N7105 with XDA Premium......that is all......
 
staatiatwork
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearusa View Post
So you have no efs backup.. which means you cant go back to lower/older roms. You should be able to flash newer stock roms from me6 and use me4 modem plus a newer kernel and it might be ok.. I dont know about everyone else but id imagine there the same as me we don't bother with ota once rooted.

GT N7105 with XDA Premium......that is all......
No, you got it wrong, I have no problems with older roms, I have a problem with NEWER
But I haven't tried with a custon kernel yet, maybe I should do that this evening.
 
bearusa
Old
#7  
bearusa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 346
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by staatiatwork View Post
No, you got it wrong, I have no problems with older roms, I have a problem with NEWER
But I haven't tried with a custon kernel yet, maybe I should do that this evening.
From what I can gather when you go from 4.1.1 to 4.1.2 on the n7100 it aparently modifies efs. I may be wrong but there are loads of threads on this and from what I read I let you know..

GT N7105 with XDA Premium......that is all......
 
kopchev
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 93
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Veliko Tarnovo/Sofia
I had similar experience. I upgraded via OTA from 4.1.2 (older version) to the newest ME6 and got generic IMEI. I flashed older stock 4.1.2 and got my IMEI back. So it seems sometimes the efs is not modified as it should be to work with ME6.
 
staatiatwork
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kopchev View Post
I had similar experience. I upgraded via OTA from 4.1.2 (older version) to the newest ME6 and got generic IMEI. I flashed older stock 4.1.2 and got my IMEI back. So it seems sometimes the efs is not modified as it should be to work with ME6.
I will try that too, I'm loading a 4.1.1 and try to do a OTA to 4.1.2 again, maybe then it will be fixed.

Tags
imei, sim card not detected, xxdme6
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes