Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,235 Members 51,812 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX]WiFi Fix

Tip us?
 
clewis
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 128
Posts: 381
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xadious View Post
Seems this is not the magic fix i thought it was, battery drained a huge amount overnight in idle mode when i was asleep. Corresponds to roughly what other people said in other forums about battery draining at about 5% per hour in idle mode as opposed to 0.5% per hour at default setting.

Seems its more an issue of Sony having to optimise WIFI settings to work correctly as it's probably mostly at default Android settings currently (with some changes by Sony, but clearly not enough changes).
I could be wrong but i don't think its a software issue, i have had two sony phones and they both had poor wi-fi signal and range compared to other's like htc etc.

i just think sony uses poor wi-fi modules in xperia devices, because the same conversation was going on with my last xperia play and that never really got fixed.


My Device - Sony Xperia SP - Android 4.1.2 (Stock ROM, Rooted)
 
Parkside
Old
#22  
Parkside's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 319
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
This seems to help...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=44037760

Sent from my C5303 using xda premium
 
CallMeVentus
Old
#23  
CallMeVentus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2866
Posts: 9,967
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Singapore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parkside View Post
This seems to help...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=44037760

Sent from my C5303 using xda premium
Try using both in conjunction?

"你看到了没? 爱让我流胆怯的泪..."
"Have you seen it? Love has made me cry cowardly tears..."
Current phone: Sony Xperia SP LTE (C5303), Samsung Galaxy S Advance NFC (GT-I9070P)
Here's my Twitter. Follow me, block me, suit yourself.
Old phones: Galaxy R, Motorola Defy, Samsung Galaxy Ace, Motorola Backflip



Galaxy Ace newbie guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1225493

 
"The unholy offspring of lightning and death itself"
 
bolzass
Old
(Last edited by bolzass; 29th July 2013 at 04:58 PM.)
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2008
Info 2 Final WiFi fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by alivanov79 View Post
If you have a WiFi permanently disabled or very weak, try to do it:
  1. Open the file /system/etc/firmware/wlan/prima/WCNSS_qcom_cfg.ini in text editor.
  2. Change the line gEnableBmps = 1 to gEnableBmps = 0
  3. Save and reboot

This increases the stability of the WiFi and fixes WiFi from regular stops.

Hi @ll!!. This is my own solution for fixing WiFi range, drops & performance. With these tweaks I have reduced at all drops, and increased the range and performance significantly (absolutely no battery drains...).

2 files:
  • /system/etc/firmware/wlan/prima/WCNSS_qcom_cfg.ini
    You must change:
    Quote:
    gAPMacAddr=GET_FROM_YOUR_CONFIGFILE
    at line 76 by your proper value (see your original file)

  • /system/build.prop
    You must add this content to the end of your own build.prop
    Quote:
    net.tcp.buffersize.default=4096,87380,256960,4096, 16384,256960
    net.tcp.buffersize.wifi=4096,87380,256960,4096,163 84,256960

And then reboot & enjoy

(Tested on .257, but should work in any 4.1.2)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Improve-wiFi_XSP.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.3 KB, 449 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bolzass For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ashis.kyal
Old
#25  
ashis.kyal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 399
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kolkata

 
DONATE TO ME
Battery drain is very huge after this mod I m gonna revert back.
It drains like hell


C5302 (BLacK)
 
Pietertje_
Old
#26  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bolzass View Post
Hi @ll!!. This is my own solution for fixing WiFi range, drops & performance. With these tweaks I have reduced at all drops, and increased the range and performance significantly (absolutely no battery drains...).

2 files:
  • /system/etc/firmware/wlan/prima/WCNSS_qcom_cfg.ini
    You must change: at line 76 by your proper value (see your original file)

  • /system/build.prop
    You must add this content to the end of your own build.prop

And then reboot & enjoy

(Tested on .257, but should work in any 4.1.2)
Doesn't work for me.
Have you used it together with alivanov79 his fix?
 
bolzass
Old
(Last edited by bolzass; 29th July 2013 at 08:36 PM.)
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pietertje_ View Post
Doesn't work for me.
Have you used it together with alivanov79 his fix?
Hi!, no, I don't use it with alivanov79 fix (I'm not confortable with battery drain).
If you use another fix, my suggestion is to use them or only use this changes or made tests... (I was reading a lot, getting helpfull info&solutions, tuning them and making T&T)...

Is strange if it does not make sense on you... Can you explain a bit more your scenario?

Some tips to take into account:
- Don't believe on status bar wifi bars
- I supose you checked your router:
- Channel not too much overlaped (use wifi analizer or similar). Change to an unused/more free one (not permit other channel overlap you with more power...)
- If your router is using HT-40 (20/40MHz channels), try to fix to 20MHz...

- Make test with some tool (file copying over local network instead: from desktop to mobile with ES explorer for example)
- Check that your mobile as no issues with resources (no free RAM/paging, local storage ko, CPU too busy,...)

- If you have other tweaks, coming from ICS, please forget them:
- build.prop... (tcp.xxxxx, etc.)
- init.d tweaks... (/sys/xxxxx, etc.)
- sysctl...(ip.xxxx, etc.)

-...

Just an over the fly numbers:
Before,
I got 1.5-1.7MBps file copy from my file server. Close to router.
Got some drops/cuts from the next side room to router 1 wall-5meters: 1.1-1.3MBps filecopy
Got a lot of disconnections/drops next in the terrace close to the above room: 500KBps-800KBps

After,
Got 2.35-2.52MBps close to router
Got 2.2-2.4MBps close to the next room. No drops
Got 1.9-2.1MBps in the terrace. No drops.

I also changed to 20MHz channels on the router.
 
Pietertje_
Old
#28  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2013
I tried it with only your fix. I have tried the fix from alivanov79 before but it didn't work.

The first step is to change gAPMacAddr=GET_FROM_YOUR_CONFIGFILE.
I don't have GET_FROM_YOUR_CONFIGFILE. I have got some numbers in place, I geuss my MAC adress.

I have added the last two lines in build.prop

The router setting are set correctly and I don't have any apps running on SP.
 
bolzass
Old
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pietertje_ View Post
I tried it with only your fix. I have tried the fix from alivanov79 before but it didn't work.

The first step is to change gAPMacAddr=GET_FROM_YOUR_CONFIGFILE.
I don't have GET_FROM_YOUR_CONFIGFILE. I have got some numbers in place, I geuss my MAC adress.

I have added the last two lines in build.prop

The router setting are set correctly and I don't have any apps running on SP.
Yes, 'GET...' must be changed with your MAC address.
In build prop, ensure you are using. Unix format and probably let an empty trailing line (I suggest usin notepad++).

If you pm me your original files I can do it for you.

What about router & channel?
 
Pietertje_
Old
#30  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2013
The build.prop is done.
The mac adress that's in WCNSS_qcom_cfg.ini is different from the one i find in the settings/about phone/status.

Router is set to channel 11. 20Mhz. The router is still on wifi b/g/n because some devices in our house don't support wifi n network.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes