5,594,077 Members 46,531 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to set up GPRS/MMS on Virgin Network

Tip us?
 
sbgorner
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default How to set up GPRS/MMS on Virgin Network

For all of you who have had difficulty setting up GPRS and MMS for the Virgin network then the comprehensive instructions in the attached document should put you on the right track.
Attached Files
File Type: zip virgin_gprs_and_mms_settings.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.11 MB, 1417 views)
 
bryanwhitby
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire
Default MMS Virgin

Thanks for your help. Its now all working
It was the bit in MMS Composer causing the problem
it was trying to use the wrong connection
Now works Great
Thanks Once Again

Best Regards
 
johnocooper
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default Cingular

I read the PDF on setting up with Virgin.

Any chance of getting a document on setting up with Cingular? I have a XDA IIs activated with Cingular and need help getting GPRS and MMS to work.
 
sbgorner
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default Cingular

Sorry but I don't think that I can help as I have no details for your network. More importantly, as I'm not a Cingular customer, I wouldn't be able to test that I was setting up and documenting the connections correctly. I was only able to produce this document because I'm on the Virgin network and it took a fair bit of trial and error to get the connections right.
 
kfb
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London
Default Thanks a million

Unbelievably helpful - thanks! I too have been playing with the settings provided by Virgin, but the GPRS/MMS combination was proving tricky! Would you perhaps be willing to give this to Virgin for others to get easier access to (if they're interested) - they tried to help but in the end said 'we don't support your phone so you're on your own'...? Thanks again for a BRILLIANT help file. Keith.
 
sbgorner
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2005
Glad you found it useful.
I've sent a copy of the document to Virgin and they said they'd pass it on to the relevant department so that they can check it for correctness! It remains to be seen whether they'll actually use it officially or not.
 
firstbuddha
Old
#7  
firstbuddha's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 109
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Default Bump!

just bumping this as it's a really useful document!

does anyone know how we can create a CAB file from this?
Chris
=====================
= STRIVE = THRIVE = ENJOY! =
=====================
 
amerrigan
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default Thanks

Just bought myself a "touch" and had a hell load of trouble getting gprs to work for Virgin. This actually got me up and running, thanks.
 
vicarpriest
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2007
Thanks for the link just set up all my connections. It seems Virgin hasn;t taken up your offer of letting peeps know about your instructions.
 
FireW0lf
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Nov 2006
Superb!

Virgin had no clue at all

I followed this, and bang - connected

1 note: If you get "could not connect for an unknown reason" just reset your phone

Thx for this

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Configure Your System Settings on a Per-App Basis

Do you ever like to make sure that certain device settings are enabled prior to entering a … more

How to Hack An Android App (Don’t Try This at Home) – XDA Developer TV

Listen, don’t cheat in your games. So don’t … more

Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview Now Available!

About two weeks ago at the BUILD conference in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled Windows … more