5,596,235 Members 34,755 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Extra Settings on Chrome

Tip us?
 
umer936
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jun 2012
Smile Extra Settings on Chrome

I found some extra settings on the Chromecast extension for Chrome.

So I went to my Chrome extensions window and clicked "Options" for the Google Cast extension.
In the tab, I right clicked > Inspect Element.

I noticed that a section of the page had a "display: none;" so I removed that and got this:



Just wanted to share my findings in case anyone was interested .
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to umer936 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Vandam500
Old
#2  
Vandam500's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 1,848
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Smyrna, Georgia
Oh really nice find!
Current Phone: One M8

Previous Phones: Nexus One | Evo 4G | G2 | Nexus S | Sensation 4G | Epic 4G Touch | Note 2 | Note 3
Follow me on Twitter: @Vandam500
 
B Dizzle
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 331
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Just tested this and confirmed. The line you are looking for is highlighted in the image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 1.44.40 PM.jpg
Views:	5415
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	2149322  
 
xDman11x
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Needs Reciever app?

Man I thought i was onto something with the whole URL for Flinging Command.

Apparently some have seen in the SDK that an example video using the big buck bunny video url could be casted. http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...2332706&page=2

Quote:
USER: vshah
the sample code, for example, simply passes this URL to chromecast to play "big buck bunny"
http://clips.vorwaerts-gmbh.de/VfE_html5.mp4
if smb shares are supported by chromecast, then i see no reason why it shouldn't work.
Also a great idea by user blackdogdeek

Quote:
Forgive my possible ignorance, but couldn't you just run a web server on your smb box and give the URL of your local vid stash?

ie - pass http://192.168.1.10/public_html/vids/movie.mp4 to chromecast

So we need to figure out how to initiate the fling command? Is there a receiver app in the SDK kit or something?

I'm a total noob when it comes to this but this has my jimmies rustled and i'm excited about the possibilities.
 
lezombi
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2013
I posted about this 2 days ago:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2379682
 
xDman11x
Old
(Last edited by xDman11x; 28th July 2013 at 10:37 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2012
Google SDK

Quote:
Whitelisting Chrome apps

To permit your Chrome sender application to use the SDK, you must register the application's domain in the Google Cast extension for Chrome.

Be sure you are running Chrome version 28 or later.
If you haven't restarted Chrome in a while you may be running an older version; restarting will update Chrome automatically.
In the Chrome omnibox, enter chrome://extensions, and check the Developer mode checkbox to enable developer mode.
Install the Chrome extension for Google Cast.
On the Cast icon in Chrome's upper right corner, click four (4) times.
In the Cast extension, scroll to the Developer options.
In the Cast SDK additional domains field, click Add and enter the domain of your application, for example, "www.mydomain.com."
Code your application's HTML tag as follows:
<html data-cast-api-enabled=”true”>
I couldnt get the above to work but I found it in the options by removing the display:none from <section ng-show="doubleClicks &gt; 1" style="">

So someone who gets "White Listed" could try sending a URL to the ChromeCast?

Edit: So someone can start making a webpage that uses this correctly and just add that domain to the Chromecast extensions whitelist?

see https://developers.google.com/cast/chrome_sender
 
lezombi
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by xDman11x View Post
Google SDK



I couldnt get the above to work but I found it in the options by removing the display:none from <section ng-show="doubleClicks &gt; 1" style="">

So someone who gets "White Listed" could try sending a URL to the ChromeCast?

Edit: So someone can start making a webpage that uses this correctly and just add that domain to the Chromecast extensions whitelist?

see https://developers.google.com/cast/chrome_sender
Adding the domain is just a way of telling your extension that the domain is serving a chromecast receiver. They haven't opened the floodgates for developers so they are keep everything controlled, hence the whitelist process. You do "send" a URL to the chromecast but it's really just for the chrome extension to know that a websocket can be opened for the receiver site and the client (the chrome extension).
 
umer936
Old
(Last edited by umer936; 30th July 2013 at 05:49 PM.) Reason: wording
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jun 2012
Someone else found the same thing and posted it on Reddit. Here's the link


Also note that the user Ranek520 said: "Unfortunately, none of those advanced options are actually hooked up. The JavaScript to store or load the values is removed for the release version of the extension. That's why the values are all blank.

Source: I wrote the max frame rate option.
"

So currently these options do nothing.
 
imtoomuch
Old
#9  
imtoomuch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 300
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Phoenixville
Nice find! Thanks!
 
ahmadshawki
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 440
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Davis
Quote:
Originally Posted by umer936 View Post
Still, they are for a reason. I guess they are waiting for a future update to activate them, or may be some dormant hardware like LTE in Nexus 4.
Anyway, it opens the door to many possibilities...

Tags
chrome, chromecast, extensions, extra, settings
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more