Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more
Post Reply

Extra Settings on Chrome

OP umer936

28th July 2013, 07:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I found some extra settings on the Chromecast extension for Chrome.

So I went to my Chrome extensions window and clicked "Options" for the Google Cast extension.
In the tab, I right clicked > Inspect Element.

I noticed that a section of the page had a "display: none;" so I removed that and got this:



Just wanted to share my findings in case anyone was interested .
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to umer936 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th July 2013, 07:21 PM   |  #2  
Vandam500's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 283
 
1,923 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Oh really nice find!
28th July 2013, 07:45 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 61
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Just tested this and confirmed. The line you are looking for is highlighted in the image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 1.44.40 PM.jpg
Views:	7234
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	2149322  
28th July 2013, 09:53 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Needs Reciever app?
Man I thought i was onto something with the whole URL for Flinging Command.

Apparently some have seen in the SDK that an example video using the big buck bunny video url could be casted. http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...2332706&page=2

Quote:

USER: vshah
the sample code, for example, simply passes this URL to chromecast to play "big buck bunny"
http://clips.vorwaerts-gmbh.de/VfE_html5.mp4
if smb shares are supported by chromecast, then i see no reason why it shouldn't work.

Also a great idea by user blackdogdeek

Quote:

Forgive my possible ignorance, but couldn't you just run a web server on your smb box and give the URL of your local vid stash?

ie - pass http://192.168.1.10/public_html/vids/movie.mp4 to chromecast


So we need to figure out how to initiate the fling command? Is there a receiver app in the SDK kit or something?

I'm a total noob when it comes to this but this has my jimmies rustled and i'm excited about the possibilities.
28th July 2013, 10:13 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
I posted about this 2 days ago:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2379682
28th July 2013, 10:33 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Google SDK

Quote:

Whitelisting Chrome apps

To permit your Chrome sender application to use the SDK, you must register the application's domain in the Google Cast extension for Chrome.

Be sure you are running Chrome version 28 or later.
If you haven't restarted Chrome in a while you may be running an older version; restarting will update Chrome automatically.
In the Chrome omnibox, enter chrome://extensions, and check the Developer mode checkbox to enable developer mode.
Install the Chrome extension for Google Cast.
On the Cast icon in Chrome's upper right corner, click four (4) times.
In the Cast extension, scroll to the Developer options.
In the Cast SDK additional domains field, click Add and enter the domain of your application, for example, "www.mydomain.com."
Code your application's HTML tag as follows:
<html data-cast-api-enabled=”true”>

I couldnt get the above to work but I found it in the options by removing the display:none from <section ng-show="doubleClicks &gt; 1" style="">

So someone who gets "White Listed" could try sending a URL to the ChromeCast?

Edit: So someone can start making a webpage that uses this correctly and just add that domain to the Chromecast extensions whitelist?

see https://developers.google.com/cast/chrome_sender
Last edited by xDman11x; 28th July 2013 at 10:37 PM.
29th July 2013, 12:43 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by xDman11x

Google SDK



I couldnt get the above to work but I found it in the options by removing the display:none from <section ng-show="doubleClicks &gt; 1" style="">

So someone who gets "White Listed" could try sending a URL to the ChromeCast?

Edit: So someone can start making a webpage that uses this correctly and just add that domain to the Chromecast extensions whitelist?

see https://developers.google.com/cast/chrome_sender

Adding the domain is just a way of telling your extension that the domain is serving a chromecast receiver. They haven't opened the floodgates for developers so they are keep everything controlled, hence the whitelist process. You do "send" a URL to the chromecast but it's really just for the chrome extension to know that a websocket can be opened for the receiver site and the client (the chrome extension).
30th July 2013, 05:46 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Someone else found the same thing and posted it on Reddit. Here's the link


Also note that the user Ranek520 said: "Unfortunately, none of those advanced options are actually hooked up. The JavaScript to store or load the values is removed for the release version of the extension. That's why the values are all blank.

Source: I wrote the max frame rate option.
"

So currently these options do nothing.
Last edited by umer936; 30th July 2013 at 05:49 PM. Reason: wording
1st August 2013, 09:11 PM   |  #9  
imtoomuch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenixville
Thanks Meter: 50
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Nice find! Thanks!
7th August 2013, 06:30 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Davis
Thanks Meter: 94
 
484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by umer936

Someone else found the same thing and posted it on Reddit. Here's the link


Also note that the user Ranek520 said: "Unfortunately, none of those advanced options are actually hooked up. The JavaScript to store or load the values is removed for the release version of the extension. That's why the values are all blank.

Source: I wrote the max frame rate option.
"

So currently these options do nothing.

Still, they are for a reason. I guess they are waiting for a future update to activate them, or may be some dormant hardware like LTE in Nexus 4.
Anyway, it opens the door to many possibilities...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
chrome, chromecast, extensions, extra, settings
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Google Chromecast by ThreadRank