FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

Extra Settings on Chrome

27 posts
Thanks Meter: 15
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I found some extra settings on the Chromecast extension for Chrome.

So I went to my Chrome extensions window and clicked "Options" for the Google Cast extension.
In the tab, I right clicked > Inspect Element.

I noticed that a section of the page had a "display: none;" so I removed that and got this:



Just wanted to share my findings in case anyone was interested .
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to umer936 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
28th July 2013, 07:21 PM |#2  
Vandam500's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 292
 
More
Oh really nice find!
28th July 2013, 07:45 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Just tested this and confirmed. The line you are looking for is highlighted in the image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 1.44.40 PM.jpg
Views:	9779
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	2149322  
28th July 2013, 09:53 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Needs Reciever app?
Man I thought i was onto something with the whole URL for Flinging Command.

Apparently some have seen in the SDK that an example video using the big buck bunny video url could be casted. http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...2332706&page=2

Quote:

USER: vshah
the sample code, for example, simply passes this URL to chromecast to play "big buck bunny"
http://clips.vorwaerts-gmbh.de/VfE_html5.mp4
if smb shares are supported by chromecast, then i see no reason why it shouldn't work.

Also a great idea by user blackdogdeek

Quote:

Forgive my possible ignorance, but couldn't you just run a web server on your smb box and give the URL of your local vid stash?

ie - pass http://192.168.1.10/public_html/vids/movie.mp4 to chromecast


So we need to figure out how to initiate the fling command? Is there a receiver app in the SDK kit or something?

I'm a total noob when it comes to this but this has my jimmies rustled and i'm excited about the possibilities.
28th July 2013, 10:13 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I posted about this 2 days ago:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2379682
28th July 2013, 10:33 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Google SDK

Quote:

Whitelisting Chrome apps

To permit your Chrome sender application to use the SDK, you must register the application's domain in the Google Cast extension for Chrome.

Be sure you are running Chrome version 28 or later.
If you haven't restarted Chrome in a while you may be running an older version; restarting will update Chrome automatically.
In the Chrome omnibox, enter chrome://extensions, and check the Developer mode checkbox to enable developer mode.
Install the Chrome extension for Google Cast.
On the Cast icon in Chrome's upper right corner, click four (4) times.
In the Cast extension, scroll to the Developer options.
In the Cast SDK additional domains field, click Add and enter the domain of your application, for example, "www.mydomain.com."
Code your application's HTML tag as follows:
<html data-cast-api-enabled=”true”>

I couldnt get the above to work but I found it in the options by removing the display:none from <section ng-show="doubleClicks &gt; 1" style="">

So someone who gets "White Listed" could try sending a URL to the ChromeCast?

Edit: So someone can start making a webpage that uses this correctly and just add that domain to the Chromecast extensions whitelist?

see https://developers.google.com/cast/chrome_sender
Last edited by xDman11x; 28th July 2013 at 10:37 PM.
29th July 2013, 12:43 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xDman11x

Google SDK



I couldnt get the above to work but I found it in the options by removing the display:none from <section ng-show="doubleClicks &gt; 1" style="">

So someone who gets "White Listed" could try sending a URL to the ChromeCast?

Edit: So someone can start making a webpage that uses this correctly and just add that domain to the Chromecast extensions whitelist?

see https://developers.google.com/cast/chrome_sender

Adding the domain is just a way of telling your extension that the domain is serving a chromecast receiver. They haven't opened the floodgates for developers so they are keep everything controlled, hence the whitelist process. You do "send" a URL to the chromecast but it's really just for the chrome extension to know that a websocket can be opened for the receiver site and the client (the chrome extension).
30th July 2013, 05:46 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Someone else found the same thing and posted it on Reddit. Here's the link


Also note that the user Ranek520 said: "Unfortunately, none of those advanced options are actually hooked up. The JavaScript to store or load the values is removed for the release version of the extension. That's why the values are all blank.

Source: I wrote the max frame rate option.
"

So currently these options do nothing.
Last edited by umer936; 30th July 2013 at 05:49 PM. Reason: wording
1st August 2013, 09:11 PM |#9  
imtoomuch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenixville
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Nice find! Thanks!
7th August 2013, 06:30 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Davis
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by umer936

Someone else found the same thing and posted it on Reddit. Here's the link


Also note that the user Ranek520 said: "Unfortunately, none of those advanced options are actually hooked up. The JavaScript to store or load the values is removed for the release version of the extension. That's why the values are all blank.

Source: I wrote the max frame rate option.
"

So currently these options do nothing.

Still, they are for a reason. I guess they are waiting for a future update to activate them, or may be some dormant hardware like LTE in Nexus 4.
Anyway, it opens the door to many possibilities...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
chrome, chromecast, extensions, extra, settings
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes