Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,734,168 Members 50,948 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No Chromecast button in NetFlix? Simple fix! [ROOT REQUIRED]

Tip us?
 
dzap
Old
#1  
dzap's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 149
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default No Chromecast button in NetFlix? Simple fix! [ROOT REQUIRED]

So certain Android devices are getting pushed this older, tackier and less functional version of NetFlix.

I have a Droid Bionic and a Nexus 4 and some cheap Kyocera running ICS.

The Nexus 4 and cheap Kyocera had the latest NetFlix version with Chromecast capability, yet the Droid Bionic did not.

After reading this from another user, I thought of a simple workaround for this.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2380956

Seems Netflix pushes out an older version of Netflix for some reason to certain devices without Chromecast, even though they are capable of using it.

To fix this simply edit two lines in build prop.

1.) Download Build.Prop editor from Google Play
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ld.prop.editor

2.) Give it root permissions if asked.

3.) Open the app and swipe from the left and click on "create backup:" This is just in case you mess it up, you can restore it later or if Netflix pushes out an update that fixes your device.

4.) Either scroll around until you find these two entries, or simply use the search button in the app.

Code:
ro.product.model
ro.product.manufacturer
I just changed it to a Nexus S. You can change the values to some other device if you know your way around build.prop, otherwsie just use the values I have provided.

So for sake of simplicity, I changed

ro.product.model to Nexus S

and

ro.product.manufacturer to samsung

Tap save on both entries and reboot! That's it!

Before


AFTER


If for any reason this causes any issues with your other apps, simply restore the build.prop you backed up earlier in build prop editor, and reboot. That's it!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dzap For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mayhem85
Old
#2  
mayhem85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 185
Join Date: Jul 2012
Not working for me.

Details:

ATT HTC One X
ROM: Cm 10.1 (4.2.2) nightlies

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzap View Post
So certain Android devices are getting pushed this older, tackier and less functional version of NetFlix.

I have a Droid Bionic and a Nexus 4 and some cheap Kyocera running ICS.

The Nexus 4 and cheap Kyocera had the latest NetFlix version with Chromecast capability, yet the Droid Bionic did not.

After reading this from another user, I thought of a simple workaround for this.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2380956

Seems Netflix pushes out an older version of Netflix for some reason to certain devices without Chromecast, even though they are capable of using it.

To fix this simply edit two lines in build prop.

1.) Download Build.Prop editor from Google Play
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ld.prop.editor

2.) Give it root permissions if asked.

3.) Open the app and swipe from the left and click on "create backup:" This is just in case you mess it up, you can restore it later or if Netflix pushes out an update that fixes your device.

4.) Either scroll around until you find these two entries, or simply use the search button in the app.

Code:
ro.product.model
ro.product.manufacturer
I just changed it to a Nexus S. You can change the values to some other device if you know your way around build.prop, otherwsie just use the values I have provided.

So for sake of simplicity, I changed

ro.product.model to Nexus S

and

ro.product.manufacturer to samsung

Tap save on both entries and reboot! That's it!

Before


AFTER


If for any reason this causes any issues with your other apps, simply restore the build.prop you backed up earlier in build prop editor, and reboot. That's it!
 
cyanics
Old
#3  
cyanics's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem85 View Post
Not working for me.

Details:

ATT HTC One X
ROM: Cm 10.1 (4.2.2) nightlies
Worked for me on G2x. Awesome!
 
mista_young
Old
#4  
mista_young's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2007
I have mine working, took a minute. in each box i just type in droid just as you see here Uninstall Netflix and reinstall you should be good to go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1375819290199.jpg
Views:	652
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	2169927  
 
stayRooted
Old
#5  
stayRooted's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Works on mine, as long as chromecast is setup on the corresponding TV
 
nmatulich
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Would sideloading the be easier

If you didn't want to root your device, couldn't you just sideload the netflix app with the listed build #.
 
welbinator
Old
(Last edited by welbinator; 15th August 2013 at 04:54 PM.)
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2010
wouldn't you need to reinstall the netflix app after you make this change?

didn't work for me. I have 2 ro.product.model one has a value of HTC EVO View 4G and the other had a model number. I changed the one to Nexus S and the other to the Nexus S model number I9022. Changed manufacturer to samsung, rebooted and no chromecast button. uninstalled netflix reinstalled netflix, no dice.

question: in my haste, I forgot to make a backup of my build.prop. any way of getting the old one back if I need to?
 
welbinator
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2010
First of all, I got it working thanks for this post! LOVE IT.

I tried this several times with no results. There's a couple things I had to do to get this to work.

First of all, when I open the build prop app, and search for those two lines of code, I tap on it and it gives me two boxes. one says ro.product.model and the second box said HTC EVO VIEW 4G (or something to that effect). If I changed it to say "Nexus S" like you instructed, and rebooted, it would not save it. I would open the build prop app and it still thought it was an evo. same for ro.product.manufacturer. still said HTC. Also, I have two ro.product.model. one said HTC EVO VIEW 4G and the other had the model number.

So, what I did was uninstall Netflix.

Then, in order to get the build.prop to actually save, I had to tap the pencil in the top right, which then gives you a long list of the build.prop values, and you could tap on one, backspace and edit it. I edited both my ro.product.models to reflect the nexus S model, and the manufacturer to samsung. Instead of the two boxes, it just shows ro.product.model=HTC EVO VIEW 4G and I changed it to ro.product.model=Nexus S.

I rebooted, and lo and behold, it saved this time! Then I reinstalled Netflix (I had already tried this without uninstalling netflix and reinstalling it, and it didn't work) and viola! the cast button showed up!

So to sum it up, I recommend the following steps:

Step 1: uninstall Netflix
Step 2: download the build.prop app
Step 3: open build.prop app
Step 4: tap pencil in top right
Step 5: scroll down, find ro.product.model and ro.product.manufacturer and edit them as instructed
Step 6: reboot device
Step 7: re-install netflix
Step 8: buy the OP of this thread a beer.
 
stewtang
Old
#9  
stewtang's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 114
Join Date: Jan 2011
I'll I had to do was start Netflix from another device and open the Netflix app on the device in question. Automatically updated itself, no root , no build prop edit and no installing a new Netflix app

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to stewtang For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chateau1
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
I'll I had to do was start Netflix from another device and open the Netflix app on the device in question. Automatically updated itself, no root , no build prop edit and no installing a new Netflix app
I can confirm this worked for me as well.

My Galaxy S3 with a fresh install of Netflix did not have the ' Cast ' Icon. I started Netflix on my NeoTV Prime and then started Netflix on my Galaxy S3. It took considerable time loading with the spinning Icon on a Netflix screen but when it did start I had the ' Cast ' Icon.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

How to Root the Sony Xperia Z2 – XDA Developer TV

In this episode,XDA Developer TV Producer TK shows you how to root your Sony Xperia … more

TWRP Now Available for the LG G Watch and Samsung Gear Live

Over the past week or so, we’ve talkedquite a bit about the first … more

Slate Calendar Helps You Organize Your Life

Without calendars in some form or another, most of our lives would be utter chaos. Unless you are … more

Shane Francis to Talk Android, Robotics, and Vision at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of … more