Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,579 Members 43,191 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Sprint sim unlock & Flash

Tip us?
 
thatotherguy..
Old
(Last edited by thatotherguy..; 3rd September 2013 at 04:46 AM.)
#1  
thatotherguy..'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 382
Posts: 1,135
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [GUIDE] Sprint sim unlock & Flash

so the on in Q&A is getting full of nothing so time to start one with the guide

I don't take any credit just posting,,,All credit goes to hotaru2k3 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=4572661) and Rimidal (http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=1468774) for writing step by step and video

first off you need to be on stock sprint rom or base for this to work. also it will work on bad esn phones

1. You should be rooted
2. Download https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...al.androidterm
3. Run Terminal Emulator
4. Type "su" (excluding quotation marks) and grant it superuser permission
5. Type "am start com.redbend.vdmc/com.htc.omadm.test.TestMainActivity" (excluding quotation marks)
6. You will get menu on your HTC
7. In that menu, select "API", then scroll down 'till almost end and select "simlock"
8. Reboot the phone and hopefully it would accept GSM SIM
9. Enter *#*#4636#*#* in your dialer
10.In the phone information section(the first one) set preferred network type to something that is GSM specific: "WCDMA Preferred", for example. The phone will switch to GSM mode


here's a video also if you get stuck

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iE4jjwWKwBg



ok so Recognized Developer -viperboy-(http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=518868) made a app to help make it easier if some people

like before all credit goes to him, he just asked me to post in op

here's is the google play link https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lockhelperfree

here's a link to his thread, if you have any questions it's best to post there about the app



here's a link for ppl that want to flash there phone,here's a guide on how to flash sprint htc one http://www.cricketusers.com/cdma-htc...t-htc-one.html how to get spc code and how to connect to qpst
The Following 61 Users Say Thank You to thatotherguy.. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BD619
Old
(Last edited by BD619; 31st July 2013 at 04:05 PM.)
#2  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7,820
Posts: 8,149
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Xda-Dev,NV

 
DONATE TO ME
First and thanks for sharing
Added to my FAQ Guide Q24
Ż\_(ツ)_/Ż


Frequently Asked Questions - HTC One-M7-Sprint(m7wls) | HTC Evo 4G LTE(Jewel) | HTC One-M8-Sprint(m8_whl)
ROM Cleaner | AROMA | Remove Bloatware | Backup Apps | Install Apps/Mods
ROM Cleaner for HTC Evo 4G LTE or ROM Cleaner for HTC One
My DIY guides on how to root your HTC Evo 4G LTE | HTC One(M7)-Sprint | HTC One(M8)-Sprint


Forum Moderator
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BD619 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gdawson6
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2012
I will have a sprint htc one in a day or two to try this, but I haven't seen much mention of data. Is anyone picking up HSPA+ with the sprint htc one on gsm?
The Following User Says Thank You to gdawson6 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
krazyflipj
Old
#4  
krazyflipj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 317
Posts: 2,301
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawson6 View Post
I will have a sprint htc one in a day or two to try this, but I haven't seen much mention of data. Is anyone picking up HSPA+ with the sprint htc one on gsm?
It really depends on area. Read below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by autoprime View Post
TMO and ATT sim cards work. You are just limited by what areas you are in.

HTC One supports: GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz and WCDMA: 1900/2100 MHz (with HSDPA up to 14.4 Mbps)

which means that in areas where ATT uses 850mhz for HSPA(3g/4g) you will not get anything but edge/2g at best. And in areas where TMO uses AWS for 3g/4g... you will not get anything but edge/2g.

In areas where ATT has 3g/4g on 1900mhz you will be able to use it. And if TMO has 3g/4g on 1900mhz you will be able to use it.

ATT/TMO LTE will NOT work.

AT&T HTC ONE
 
alberto122509
Old
#5  
alberto122509's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 97
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Palm Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
So I went to an ATT Store and picked up a free gophone sim card, I activated it successfully online, I have a phone number and added $10 to the account.

I followed all the steps to unlock, I also set it to WCDMA Prefered.

But I'm not picking up any bars.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic4363510_2.gif
 
david279
Old
#6  
david279's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,557
Posts: 5,072
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Orleans

 
DONATE TO ME
Set it to GSM/WCDMA perferred

------------------------

My G+ Profile

BB PIN: 79807B1C
 
alberto122509
Old
#7  
alberto122509's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 97
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Palm Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by david279 View Post
Set it to GSM/WCDMA perferred
I don't see that as an option, but I did tried GSM only (didn't work), WCDMA only (didn't work), GSM Auto (PRL)(Didn't work), GSM/WCDMA/LTE Auto (Didn't work)

If I choose any CDMA related ones, I get sprint signal, and I can call people, even though I have the AT&T sim card in.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic4363510_2.gif
 
david279
Old
#8  
david279's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,557
Posts: 5,072
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Orleans

 
DONATE TO ME
apns populated correctly?

------------------------

My G+ Profile

BB PIN: 79807B1C
 
alberto122509
Old
#9  
alberto122509's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 97
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Palm Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by david279 View Post
apns populated correctly?
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-07-31-12-13-41[1].jpg
Views:	3271
Size:	9.0 KB
ID:	2155705
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-07-31-13-07-41[1].jpg
Views:	2831
Size:	8.9 KB
ID:	2155706
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-07-31-13-07-59[1].jpg
Views:	3069
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	2155707
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-07-31-13-08-05[1].jpg
Views:	2751
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	2155708
http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic4363510_2.gif
 
david279
Old
#10  
david279's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,557
Posts: 5,072
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Orleans

 
DONATE TO ME
Something doesn't look right. Try using this app to configure them

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...d=com.tweakker

Sent from my One using Tapatalk 4 Beta

------------------------

My G+ Profile

BB PIN: 79807B1C

The Following User Says Thank You to david279 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes