HP Slatebook x2 thoughts?

OP fantasticrat

12th August 2013, 12:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Historic Over There
Thanks Meter: 1

8 posts
More
I took the risk and bought an HP Slatebook x2 today. I heard mixed optimism regarding its superiority over the other HP "offerings" as we might call them ... but it was hard for me to resist the Tegra 4 and bundled keyboard dock. As a grad student, I need a versatile input system, and I wasn't sure I wanted to wait for the next ASUS Transformer tablet to come out. Plus, I keep hearing bad things here about ASUS customer service and so on.

The Slatebook apparently ships with 4.2.2, which isn't too shabby, and it does have multiple SD expansion slots and a USB 2.0 port. So, not exactly up to snuff with the new Transformer rumors, but I couldn't really wait to go mobile because I do web design and I'm stuck on a desktop computer (hard to show off my work from my bedroom, y'know).

What I'm wondering now is, who's going to achieve root for me?
Also, what's the general consensus here on this particular device? All I've seen on these forums about it is a bunch of spam threads from a troll.

Thoughts?

--Fantastic Rat
The Following User Says Thank You to fantasticrat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2013, 09:30 PM   |  #2  
Thanks Meter: 4

30 posts
I, or rather my wife, got this tablet a week ago and I am quite impressed. It is fast and nice, and I agree with the advertisement "100% notebook, 100% tablet". When docked, it feels like a true notebook with a very well designed keyboard and nice shortcut keys. And when used as a tablet, it works well too.

The multi user profiles on Android 4.2 works extremely well too.

For the root access: yes please! I want root too
12th August 2013, 10:28 PM   |  #3  
Thanks Meter: 1

12 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marlar