Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] T-Mobile LG Optimus F3 Forum?

OP shiftylock

3rd September 2013, 02:13 AM   |  #21  
yutzyscott's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Another one

Sent from my LG-P659 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1378167227187.jpg
Views:	462
Size:	46.1 KB
ID:	2230738  
3rd September 2013, 02:14 AM   |  #22  
yutzyscott's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
One more

Sent from my LG-P659 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1378167267761.jpg
Views:	357
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	2230740  
5th September 2013, 04:51 AM   |  #23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
+1 vote for an F3 forum
7th September 2013, 06:49 AM   |  #24  
inyourface09's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 556
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
More good news and more bad news
Good news first, djrbliss (creator of Motochopper) has added loki support for the f3. Should work on all variants seeing as the aboot should be the same.
Bad news even with a "loki'd" recovery you still get a factory reset when entering recovery (no matter what).

We are at the same place as the LG Motion, we are tracking down the flag that causes this. Once we do everything will be good. Just finding this flag that it sets to the partitions could take some time.

Also please be sure to thank djrbliss for adding support I personally cant thank him enough.
Once we do "find" this said flag we should be able to modify the recovery to overwrite it to stop the resets.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to inyourface09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th September 2013, 07:05 AM   |  #25  
firered365's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 160
 
727 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by inyourface09

Good news first, djrbliss (creator of Motochopper) has added loki support for the f3. Should work on all variants seeing as the aboot should be the same.

Sorry for my ignorance, but what is Loki and will it affect the phone?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4
7th September 2013, 07:51 PM   |  #26  
inyourface09's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 556
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Smile
Loki is a security bypass created by djrbliss, when you "edit" a recovery or boot image before flashing it, it changes the header to overwrite the "security" that checks if the image is stock or not. and this allows for an insecure boot. So that even with a locked bootloader we can still flash a recovery that will work.
The only issue is that we need to track down a flag that is written to the partitions once you enter recovery to stop the factory reset that takes place.

In the stock recovery you can enter it without having a factory reset, but with the cwm one that i flashed once you enter recovery it sets the flag. Then once you reboot to system it wipes data and cache automatically. This is the same problem that the LG Motion has.

https://github.com/djrbliss/loki
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to inyourface09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th September 2013, 08:07 PM   |  #27  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by inyourface09

Good news first, djrbliss (creator of Motochopper) has added loki support for the f3. Should work on all variants seeing as the aboot should be the same.
Bad news even with a "loki'd" recovery you still get a factory reset when entering recovery (no matter what).

We are at the same place as the LG Motion, we are tracking down the flag that causes this. Once we do everything will be good. Just finding this flag that it sets to the partitions could take some time.

Also please be sure to thank djrbliss for adding support I personally cant thank him enough.
Once we do "find" this said flag we should be able to modify the recovery to overwrite it to stop the resets.

Yowza! Great work, guys! Can't tell you how glad I am to hear this. Experimenting is a lot more stressful now that I'm outside the return window .
8th September 2013, 01:27 AM   |  #28  
firered365's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 160
 
727 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by inyourface09

Loki is a security bypass created by djrbliss, when you "edit" a recovery or boot image before flashing it, it changes the header to overwrite the "security" that checks if the image is stock or not. and this allows for an insecure boot. So that even with a locked bootloader we can still flash a recovery that will work.
The only issue is that we need to track down a flag that is written to the partitions once you enter recovery to stop the factory reset that takes place.

In the stock recovery you can enter it without having a factory reset, but with the cwm one that i flashed once you enter recovery it sets the flag. Then once you reboot to system it wipes data and cache automatically. This is the same problem that the LG Motion has.

https://github.com/djrbliss/loki

I read the github file and I see that you have to "extract" (or something like adb pull) the file and put in the .lok file. Even after this, it will still trigger the flag still, right? Did y'all dump at the kernel files?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4
Last edited by firered365; 8th September 2013 at 01:31 AM.
9th September 2013, 02:43 AM   |  #29  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by inyourface09

Loki is a security bypass created by djrbliss, when you "edit" a recovery or boot image before flashing it, it changes the header to overwrite the "security" that checks if the image is stock or not. and this allows for an insecure boot. So that even with a locked bootloader we can still flash a recovery that will work.
The only issue is that we need to track down a flag that is written to the partitions once you enter recovery to stop the factory reset that takes place.

In the stock recovery you can enter it without having a factory reset, but with the cwm one that i flashed once you enter recovery it sets the flag. Then once you reboot to system it wipes data and cache automatically. This is the same problem that the LG Motion has.

https://github.com/djrbliss/loki

A couple questions—(1) will I need to make any tweaks for the T-Mobile F3 (P659BK); and (2) does the factory reset restore the stock recovery, or the replacement recovery sans data? If the latter, then I'm all in this evening; nothing I can't put back myself .
14th September 2013, 03:21 AM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by habitforming

I used Motochopper, worked like a charm. make sure you have the LG Optimus f3 drivers on your computer.(found on LG website)

First off, I pledge $25 to anybody who posts step by step instructions for installing a working custom recovery on this device. Thanks to everybody working on this.

For those in the process of rooting, I wasted a little time looking for the drivers and for a motochopper link verified to work on this device. To help others out here is exactly what I did.
  • Googled "LG Mobile Support Tool" and downloaded it from softpedia. The file is suspiciously labled B2CAppSetup.exe but it turned out to be the correct software needed to install the LG drivers.
  • Googled "motochopper" and used the first link (Galaxy S4) for both the download and instructions http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=40747604.
  • The first run of motochopper installed SU, but failed to achieve root. A second attempt did the trick!
To anybody considering this device, I was pleasantly surprised. The stock rom and launcher are really good and responsive. It has a big battery and a small screen so the battery life is fantastic! The lack of memory is an issue, but I have not found it to be a problem. I have 30 apps installed with room for at least 10 more.
Cheers,

The Following User Says Thank You to theskeemer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes