View Poll Results: Witch do you prefer?
XBMC in native linux 403 82.41%
XBMC in android 86 17.59%
Voters: 489. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROM][Linux/Kodi] EmbER for Amlogic based Tv-Box's {08/24/2014}

24th August 2013, 04:54 AM   |  #1  
croniccorey's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,249
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More


Thread is WIP


EmbER is coming!!!


If you like it please click thanks on this post and give it a rating
Thanks to all users


Flash at your own risk!!!
We claim absolutely no responsibility if you make your device a paperweight, READ everything and know what you are doing before you start.


Info

Embedded Entertainment Rom (EmbER) is small Linux distribution for the sole purpose of running the widely known Kodi Media Center as a OS on TV boxs using Amlogic chipsets and eventually others.

Support will be limited and handled over XDA forums.

If you would like to help out or know a fix let us know, Any fixes we make or find will be shared back to other developers on git



Flashing

- Unplug devices power.

- Place the MX_LINUX_vX.XX-XXXX-Update.zip on the root of your usb drive or sdcard and plug it in to the device.

- Using a toothpick or something similer (non-conductive) push and hold the reset button and plug in the devices power
(Release the reset button once your in recovery).
(The reset button is located inside the 3.55mm jack labled A/V, this may differ on your device)

- Select "Install update from EXT"

- If your using a usb drive select "Install from udisk", else if your using a sdcard select "Install from sdcard"

- Select the MX_LINUX_vX.XX-XXXX-Update.zip and wait while it installs

- Once install is complete select "Reboot system now"

- Enjoy!

(G18REF/MX2REF) NOTE: If your 2nd boot splash is not displayed properly do the following

- Flash build v0.03

- Allow full boot

- Repeat upgrade procedure with newest version



Bugs

- TVHeadend client does not work 100% (Testing)
- Broadcom WIFI adapters don't work (Testing)
- CVBS video output don't work (Testing)
- STVMX: LED lights on box my not work properly (WIP)
- STVMC/XIOSM3: 1080 output is not displayed properly (WIP)



Credits
XBMC@Github for xbmc source
Buildroot.org for buildroot source
Pivosgroup@Github for AML fixs
Stane1983@Github for help and fixs along the way
J1nx@Github for his work on AML devices
WJB@Github for his work on MX devices
CodeSnake@Github for his work on M6 devices
Amlogic for access to there sources
XDA for hosting these fourms
AndroidFileHost, DevHost, and Goo.im for free premium file hosting



EmbER-Dev Team
CronicCorey | Josh.5




Bitbucket | Github | Gitlab | Gitorious
Last edited by croniccorey; 20th March 2015 at 07:44 AM.
The Following 97 Users Say Thank You to croniccorey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2013, 04:55 AM   |  #2  
croniccorey's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,249
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Builds
EmbER version scheme
vX.X.X-aX = alpha
vX.X.X-bX = beta
vX.X.X-rcX = release canidate
vX.X.X = release


EmbER Links

Coming soon...

All MX Linux downloads
Link 1 | Link 2

Last edited by croniccorey; 20th March 2015 at 07:43 AM.
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to croniccorey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2013, 04:55 AM   |  #3  
croniccorey's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,249
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Test Build's
Nothing yet....
Last edited by croniccorey; 7th February 2015 at 11:20 PM.
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to croniccorey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2013, 10:32 PM   |  #4  
croniccorey's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,249
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Other info
Other Info


Changelog

Code:
Initial release v1.0.0-a1 {WIP}

Devices known to work

- Generic Droid-Tv MX (G18REF)

- Gbox Midnight MX2 (MX2REF)

- ATV333/400/520/1200 (no brodcom wifi) (STVMX)

- Wepower MX (WIP)

TODO: ATV106, ATV102, MX5 and more


ssh/putty logon info
logon: root
password: letmein
..
Last edited by croniccorey; 7th February 2015 at 11:20 PM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to croniccorey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2013, 11:02 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Corey, thank you so much for sharing your developments!

Some questions:
-Have you been able to test audio out through SPDIF?
-Is internet streaming working for you?
-Is there a work-around for changing the network settings?
-Will a DHCP ethernet connection set itself up properly?
25th August 2013, 11:44 PM   |  #6  
croniccorey's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,249
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooling2

Corey, thank you so much for sharing your developments!

Some questions:
-Have you been able to test audio out through SPDIF?
-Is internet streaming working for you?
-Is there a work-around for changing the network settings?
-Will a DHCP ethernet connection set itself up properly?

your welcome,

- no spdif untested but hdmi passthrough works fine
- yes i stream 480p/720p/1080p without issues
- that bug is unconfirmed as of now
- yes dhcp works

cheers
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to croniccorey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2013, 02:22 AM   |  #7  
shivup's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Great.. remote works fine ?? All buttons with xbmc ?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 2
26th August 2013, 04:35 AM   |  #8  
croniccorey's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,249
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivup

Great.. remote works fine ?? All buttons with xbmc ?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 2

yes remote works fine if its like the one pictured in the OP
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to croniccorey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2013, 04:40 AM   |  #9  
shivup's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by croniccorey

yes remote works fine if its like the one pictured in the OP

Yeah I am planning to buy exact same box..
Thanks for your feedback and work keep it up..

Already have atv1200.. hope we have xbmc linux for it soon..

Thanks

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shivup For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2013, 05:40 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
there is one problem. Fading 720 video and 1080, helps to rewind, but after a while the video freezes again, and the sound keeps going.

The Following User Says Thank You to kostya4000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
aml8726-mx, amlogic, hw decoding, linux, xbmc
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes