Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

[APP] Half-Life running under Quake Engine

OP S1yRuleZ

5th September 2013, 05:07 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Matera, ITALY
Thanks Meter: 12
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Hello everybody,

I just bought a Surface RT and seeing all these apps under development after successful jailbreak I missed the good old Gordon Freeman,
and here we go...

Screenshot:


NOTE: You MUST have the full game paks files to run HalfLife, the demo will NOT work.
Download at the end of this post.

1. Put Pak0, Pak1, Pak2 .PAK files in ID1 folder
2. Start the game from "Run Half-Life.bat"

The game is glitchy and sometimes you will be stuck or some
bad scripts will not open the doors so you must use noclip.
Any help or suggestion about how to improve this release will be well accepted.

Commands:

W,A,S,D walk
F use
LMOUSE fire
SPACE jump
N noclip
P console
0 change weapon

Half-Life for ARM WindowsRT is based on WinQuake ARM version coded by bfosterjr and I also want to thank Sisah for the converted maps and models.


I hope this makes someone happy

DOWNLOAD
Last edited by S1yRuleZ; 5th September 2013 at 07:21 PM. Reason: added link
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to S1yRuleZ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th September 2013, 06:37 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Thessaloniki
Thanks Meter: 198
 
997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1yRuleZ

Hello everybody,

I just bought a Surface RT and seeing all these apps under development after successful jailbreak I missed the good old Gordon Freeman,
and here we go...

Screenshot:


Download at the end of this post.

1. Put Pak0, Pak1, Pak2 .PAK files in ID1 folder
2. Start the game from "Run Half-Life.bat"

The game is glitchy and sometimes you will be stuck or some
bad scripts will not open the doors so you must use noclip.
Any help or suggestion about how to improve this release will be well accepted.

Commands:

W,A,S,D walk
F use
LMOUSE fire
SPACE jump
N noclip
P console
0 change weapon

Half-Life for ARM WindowsRT is based on WinQuake ARM version coded by bfosterjr and I also want to thank Sisah for the converted maps and models.


I hope this makes someone happy


sit and wait until the upload finishes

*ahem*piracy*ahem*

Sent from my GT-I9505 using xda app-developers app
5th September 2013, 07:18 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Matera, ITALY
Thanks Meter: 12
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemoryController

*ahem*piracy*ahem*

Sent from my GT-I9505 using xda app-developers app

The .zip I uploaded does not include original paks file, I'm going to clarify, thanks for noticing this.
5th September 2013, 10:02 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 324
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemoryController

*ahem*piracy*ahem*

Sent from my GT-I9505 using xda app-developers app

*ahem*Linking to an open source binary with credit given and licenses included.

He didn't include the original Half Life 1 data files. Only a .bat script capable of launching them. You provide the supposedly pirated content yourself....
6th September 2013, 05:38 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Thessaloniki
Thanks Meter: 198
 
997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

*ahem*Linking to an open source binary with credit given and licenses included.

He didn't include the original Half Life 1 data files. Only a .bat script capable of launching them. You provide the supposedly pirated content yourself....

Oh well I assumed he did include it based on the OP. Sorry OP, will enjoy it thanks!!

Sent from my GT-I9505 using xda app-developers app
20th September 2013, 12:52 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Cant seem to get this running, I bought HL through steam and theres no pak files in the game folder.
Luckily I could get a hold of the Pak file in the original version. Ive put it in the ID1 folder but when I run the bat I get this error:



Does anybody have a clue on how to fix this?

Note: Many thanks for porting this to WinRT!
20th September 2013, 02:17 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 324
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BZyno

Cant seem to get this running, I bought HL through steam and theres no pak files in the game folder.
Luckily I could get a hold of the Pak file in the original version. Ive put it in the ID1 folder but when I run the bat I get this error:



Does anybody have a clue on how to fix this?

Note: Many thanks for porting this to WinRT!

What do you mean by the pack file, there should be 3 or 4. Also, no discredit against the OP but he didn't port it, the Quake engine was ported by someone else, he did however give you a nice set of instructions and a batch file in order for you to play the Half life content in it (half life originally used a modded quake 1 engine)
The Following User Says Thank You to SixSixSevenSeven For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2013, 07:48 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1yRuleZ

Hello everybody,

I just bought a Surface RT and seeing all these apps under development after successful jailbreak I missed the good old Gordon Freeman,
and here we go...

Screenshot:


NOTE: You MUST have the full game paks files to run HalfLife, the demo will NOT work.
Download at the end of this post.

1. Put Pak0, Pak1, Pak2 .PAK files in ID1 folder
2. Start the game from "Run Half-Life.bat"

The game is glitchy and sometimes you will be stuck or some
bad scripts will not open the doors so you must use noclip.
Any help or suggestion about how to improve this release will be well accepted.

Commands:

W,A,S,D walk
F use
LMOUSE fire
SPACE jump
N noclip
P console
0 change weapon

Half-Life for ARM WindowsRT is based on WinQuake ARM version coded by bfosterjr and I also want to thank Sisah for the converted maps and models.


I hope this makes someone happy



The link doesn't seem to work anymore.. anyone post the zap?
21st September 2013, 01:40 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 324
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rydroid

The link doesn't seem to work anymore.. anyone post the zap?

Download works fine. It is a .zip with a .exe and some other stuff in it.
21st September 2013, 03:00 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven

Download works fine. It is a .zip with a .exe and some other stuff in it.

Ok this morning think it was a prob my end.
Last edited by rydroid; 21st September 2013 at 03:05 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Windows RT Development and Hacking by ThreadRank