5,595,000 Members 38,944 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

To owners: Tiny functions I wonder about

Tip us?
 
Bonzo
Old
#1  
Bonzo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 346
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hell
Default To owners: Tiny functions I wonder about

Ok.. I NEEED this device!
But before I spend a heap of money on it, I'd like to know a few things;

When in vibration mode; is there any difference in the vibration of SMS or Ringing?
Does BT handsfrees work well with the device?
Can you use "Universal TV remote" programs?
Does it support WPA on WLAN?
How is the signal compared to a standard SE/Nokia/Motorola phone?
10 out of 7 people don't see the logical error in this signature:
"I wish I could be naive... ...and right!" -Me
 
Rudegar
Old
#2  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 12,499
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DK
Quote:
How is the signal compared to a standard SE/Nokia/Motorola phone
dont have any answers but signal could be
both
2G (gsm) signal
2ĹG (edge) signal
3g (utms) signal
hhhmm ok i may be a jerk but i'm a jedi jerk like my father was before me
BTW "I can't use a skeleton arm with that"
 
Bonzo
Old
#3  
Bonzo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 346
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hell
Default My bad

Sorry, I was referring to reception quality.
I feel that my Himalaya is worse than a "normal" phone..
10 out of 7 people don't see the logical error in this signature:
"I wish I could be naive... ...and right!" -Me
 
Rudegar
Old
#4  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 12,499
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DK
and so were I

and i feel it likely that it could very well depend on what type of network you were on
gsm, edge or utms
hhhmm ok i may be a jerk but i'm a jedi jerk like my father was before me
BTW "I can't use a skeleton arm with that"
 
rilot
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 314
Join Date: Sep 2005
When in vibration mode; is there any difference in the vibration of SMS or Ringing?
SMS is a short buzz where as ringing is several long buzzes.

Does BT handsfrees work well with the device?
It seems to. No problems with my BT800 although it still doesn't push the phonebook entry name to the headset, just the number. Can't believe that HTC still haven't fixed this.

Can you use "Universal TV remote" programs?
Don't see any reason why not. I haven't tried but it supports consumer IR just like the BA

Does it support WPA on WLAN?
Not sure. I don't think so. Someone else will have to answe this

How is the signal compared to a standard SE/Nokia/Motorola phone?
Seems to be as good as my SE Z1010 and my SPV C500. No complaints from me anyway
Surface RT, Note 2
iPad3, iPhone 4S
 
whydidnt
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minnesota
It does support WPA with a Pre-Shared Key. I simply turned on Wi-Fi, the Jasjar found my AP, prompted me for my key - I entered it and was connected. All of this happened in less than 30 seconds! Wi-Fi seems to be significantly improved compared to the BlueAngel I was using before.
 
Bonzo
Old
#7  
Bonzo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 346
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hell
Quote:
Originally Posted by rilot
SMS is a short buzz where as ringing is several long buzzes.
YES!!!

The Himalaya just has a looooooong buzz for any "Beep" or what ever sound the device would usually make..

As for BT handsfree; the Himalaya running WM5 was usable..
Couldn't initiate calls with the HF, but accepting was possible.
Quality and stability was allso ok.
With WM2003SE, it was LOUSY!
So if you can use the BT8080, it's probably just fine..

The IR on the Himalaya was non-standard, but the BA was ok..

Now I only have one problem:
I WANT THE DEVICE EVEN MORE!!!

But they won't arrive in Norway untill medio December.. :cry:
Dangaard (supplier) has "Unconfirmed 20.12.2005"
10 out of 7 people don't see the logical error in this signature:
"I wish I could be naive... ...and right!" -Me
 
firebutice
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default Infrared

I installed a couple of universal remotes, some are better than others. Regardless, the signal to the tv/vcr/xbox is perfect, not like the other imates Iíve had.
 
stamppot
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 103
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Enschede
Default Re: Infrared

Quote:
Originally Posted by firebutice
I installed a couple of universal remotes, some are better than others. Regardless, the signal to the tv/vcr/xbox is perfect, not like the other imates Iíve had.
What's the range that you get on average? I haven't seen any indications that it really supports 'consumer Infrared', instead of modulating a CIR signal onto a FIR bearer...
 
Rudegar
Old
#10  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 12,499
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DK
"The IR on the Himalaya was non-standard, but the BA was ok.. "

but noviiremote worked just fine on himalaya
hhhmm ok i may be a jerk but i'm a jedi jerk like my father was before me
BTW "I can't use a skeleton arm with that"

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more