FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

To owners: Tiny functions I wonder about

347 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
By Bonzo, Senior Member on 15th September 2005, 01:57 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Ok.. I NEEED this device!
But before I spend a heap of money on it, I'd like to know a few things;

When in vibration mode; is there any difference in the vibration of SMS or Ringing?
Does BT handsfrees work well with the device?
Can you use "Universal TV remote" programs?
Does it support WPA on WLAN?
How is the signal compared to a standard SE/Nokia/Motorola phone?
 
 
15th September 2005, 02:27 PM |#2  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag DK
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:

How is the signal compared to a standard SE/Nokia/Motorola phone

dont have any answers but signal could be
both
2G (gsm) signal
2ĹG (edge) signal
3g (utms) signal
15th September 2005, 02:30 PM |#3  
Bonzo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hell
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
My bad
Sorry, I was referring to reception quality.
I feel that my Himalaya is worse than a "normal" phone..
15th September 2005, 02:57 PM |#4  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag DK
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
and so were I

and i feel it likely that it could very well depend on what type of network you were on
gsm, edge or utms
15th September 2005, 02:57 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
When in vibration mode; is there any difference in the vibration of SMS or Ringing?
SMS is a short buzz where as ringing is several long buzzes.

Does BT handsfrees work well with the device?
It seems to. No problems with my BT800 although it still doesn't push the phonebook entry name to the headset, just the number. Can't believe that HTC still haven't fixed this.

Can you use "Universal TV remote" programs?
Don't see any reason why not. I haven't tried but it supports consumer IR just like the BA

Does it support WPA on WLAN?
Not sure. I don't think so. Someone else will have to answe this

How is the signal compared to a standard SE/Nokia/Motorola phone?
Seems to be as good as my SE Z1010 and my SPV C500. No complaints from me anyway
15th September 2005, 04:46 PM |#6  
Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
It does support WPA with a Pre-Shared Key. I simply turned on Wi-Fi, the Jasjar found my AP, prompted me for my key - I entered it and was connected. All of this happened in less than 30 seconds! Wi-Fi seems to be significantly improved compared to the BlueAngel I was using before.
15th September 2005, 04:50 PM |#7  
Bonzo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hell
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rilot

SMS is a short buzz where as ringing is several long buzzes.

YES!!!

The Himalaya just has a looooooong buzz for any "Beep" or what ever sound the device would usually make..

As for BT handsfree; the Himalaya running WM5 was usable..
Couldn't initiate calls with the HF, but accepting was possible.
Quality and stability was allso ok.
With WM2003SE, it was LOUSY!
So if you can use the BT8080, it's probably just fine..

The IR on the Himalaya was non-standard, but the BA was ok..

Now I only have one problem:
I WANT THE DEVICE EVEN MORE!!!

But they won't arrive in Norway untill medio December.. :cry:
Dangaard (supplier) has "Unconfirmed 20.12.2005"
29th September 2005, 09:03 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Infrared
I installed a couple of universal remotes, some are better than others. Regardless, the signal to the tv/vcr/xbox is perfect, not like the other imates Iíve had.
29th September 2005, 11:17 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Enschede
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Re: Infrared
Quote:
Originally Posted by firebutice

I installed a couple of universal remotes, some are better than others. Regardless, the signal to the tv/vcr/xbox is perfect, not like the other imates Iíve had.

What's the range that you get on average? I haven't seen any indications that it really supports 'consumer Infrared', instead of modulating a CIR signal onto a FIR bearer...
29th September 2005, 12:02 PM |#10  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag DK
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
"The IR on the Himalaya was non-standard, but the BA was ok.. "

but noviiremote worked just fine on himalaya
29th September 2005, 12:05 PM |#11  
Bonzo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hell
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudegar

"The IR on the Himalaya was non-standard, but the BA was ok.. "

but noviiremote worked just fine on himalaya

?!?!?!
Why didn't any one inform me of this?
I tried SEVEN different IR applications on my Himalaya..
NONE worked!

Oh well.. The Himalaya doesn't have the best range anyway, right?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes