Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more

How to Unlock and Root a Nexus Device – XDA TV

It is official–Google has released the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 9. The Nexus family … more
Post Reply

mda pro english rom upgrade

OP motin

19th September 2005, 08:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
as any one already found a way to change german to english on mda pro sold in germany t-mobile
19th September 2005, 10:17 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Europe, Earth, Universe
Thanks Meter: 6
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
i'm also extremely interested into this topic.

i'll have the MDA Pro in about a week and want to try alt least 2 things:
1. english rom upgrade
2. switch the Z key with the Y key.

Thanks for the interest !
19th September 2005, 03:52 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Holland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
i have my german mda pro since today.

Problem is the warrenty sticker is in front of a screw.

So i dont know if we can switch eh Y and Z
19th September 2005, 04:16 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Europe, Earth, Universe
Thanks Meter: 6
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
i was hoping that it will be something like a pc keyboard ... that we can remove only the keys and not the entire keyboard.

mine arrives in a week ... so i still have to wait

do you like the german version or waiting to upgrade to english one ?
19th September 2005, 06:06 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Holland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
i am happy with it,

i will only start working on it till my xda 2 is sold.

in the mean time ill try to make it english and look at the keyboard
19th September 2005, 06:17 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
To remap the keyboard, use this: http://ae.inc.ru/aekmap_t.html

Takes a while to learn how it works, but works like a charm.
You will have to create your own keymap file.
22nd September 2005, 11:20 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Holland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
I was succesfull to change the keyboard from QWERTZ to QWERTY

I wont recommend it, cause the size of Y and Z are a bit different.

The Z is ok and u wont notice, but the Y has 0,5 mm difference on the sides.

U can get used to it very fast though. And u dont really notice it.

This all without voiding warrenty stickers..

Now i need a english rom to enable QWERTZ ->QWERTY
22nd September 2005, 12:02 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Europe, Earth, Universe
Thanks Meter: 6
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
excellent news ... can you give some detailed step by step

thanks
28th September 2005, 11:03 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Holland
Thanks Meter: 1
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
I also changed in the german rom the keyboard from qwertz to qwerty

by editing the registery

hardkeyboard show qwerty now, the on screen keyboard is still qwertz

but i dont use that one so much.

now for a english rom update...
28th September 2005, 02:53 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2003
maybe you can try using one of these keybord skins
http://www.buzzdev.net/index.php?opt...id=24&Itemid=1

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes